We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ira's at the Gibson Inn - CLOSED

Ira's at the Gibson Inn
Price range: $5 - $32
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: We are a beautiful restaurant located in the Gibson Inn which is on the national historical register having been built in 1907.Our cuisine is called New Florida cuisine featuring local fish and the freshest ingredients all prepared creatively by Chef Ira Mittelman.So come on in for a quiet dinner, or a family night out(we have a children's menu. Or if you want to bring your 4 legged friend we have outdoor seating
Alabama
Level Contributor
80 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I hate to say I ate a cheeseburger at a port town but I did and it was fabulous! We had dinner on the porch and watched the people pass by.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank taholman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    10
    11
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Destin, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A must try on the Panhandle”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Without doubt Ira's is one of the best restaurants I ever had the pleasure to enjoy. The staff was warm, courteous and well informed. The wine selection while not extensive was deep and rich with variety. Diner was a delightful explorations of favors, textures and presentation. The Melon soup unique and a must try. The Clams in white wine were an intriguing balance of herbs and a wonderful departure from the norm. As for the grouper, there is nothing to be said but try it. And if you think you have had molten lava cake; buckle your seat belt and enjoy this ride.
Well done, Ira! Keep up the good work and congratulations on a job well done!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Judson B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
66 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Staying at the Gibson Inn, this was a natural place to eat. It turned out to be the best too. The atmosphere was a nice mix of historic charm and new elegance. The service was perfect. The menu was sophisticated and capitalized on local seafood offerings, which is a main reason people visit the town in the first place: off-the-boat-fresh. Oysters in Apalachicola are legendary and I loved the way they served these as appatizers with subtle sauces that were such a nice change from ketchup and horseradish. All in all, superb.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ABPV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not what I exspected”
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Being from Tallahassee and a family of 5 we tried this restaurant for breakfast that is offered only on weekends. They were very busy which is usually a good sign, so we thought. Took 45 min for food, and when we received it, most of it was cold. Price was ok. Service slow.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank babysbabys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Apalachicola”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

After a terrible experience at Papa Joe's (see review) we were paranoid to choose another restaurant in Apalachicola. We've been coming to St. George Island and Apalachicola for five years and had never tried the Gibson Inn. After reading the reviews we decided to give it a try. We are so happy we did! We can't say enough about the excellent service (by Amy) who was attentive, polite and answered all of our questions. The oyster lovers at the table said they were great, our salads were delicious and then it was on to the entrees. We rated all of them as excellent and creative and the portion sizes just right. The grouper with mashed sweet potatoes and vegetables was to die for. Hopefully they will keep that on the menu until we return next year! Both the Shrimp Putanesca and Cioppini got rave reviews. Our two grandchildren got their standard buttered noodles and gave them two thumbs up! We had no problem finishing off the key lime pie with the cashew crust - different and delicious. We're already planning on ordering the tomato appetizer next year - we saw it being served at a nearby table and after reading the reviews, it also looks like a winner. While The Gibson isn't your typical beach type restaurant, it is definitely worth a try. The Inn is old and charming and the lobby has many interesting and historical items to look at especially the guest book which mentions some uninvited guests!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ira's at the Gibson Inn also viewed

Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
 
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing