We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We read the reviews and decided to make up our own minds”
Review of Rancho Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rancho Inn
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Apalachicola
Reviewed October 15, 2011

glad that we did, arrived early eve after a long drive. The owner checked us in after insisting we looked at the room, which was huge, king size bed and very clean. We ate a reasonably priced meal at the Red Roof cafe next door and got our supplies from the petrol station opposite. Then spent an enjoyable evening at the pool with some of the friendly locals. The pool is small but very clean and lovely and warm for this cold English lady! We had a good nights sleep even though the motel is on the main road, traffic was very light. Thanks to owner for making us welcome and we will be back if we are that area again

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hazelnut01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 147 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2011

We didn't get in until after midnight and they got us checked in fast, it was wonderful. They were the best priced hotel in the area and it was an amazing stay. The pool was clean and they even had pool toys which made our kids time spent a ton of fun. The rooms were clean and the people were so friendly and personable. If you have to stay in this charming little town, I highly recommend the Rancho who wants true hospitality. May God Bless these people

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsheal22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

Unfortunately we only ended up here on the last night of our vacation because someone told us NOT to stay here. It reminded me of small town motels from past. It looked a lot better on inside so don't judge from outside. It was clean & quiet. I stayed here with 3 dogs & 2 kids & got up at 4:00 to walk dogs. Beautiful area with nice spots to walk & a gas station/convenience store right across the street. Just wished I would not have listened to the lady that told me not to stay there. We will definitely be back. It was so peaceful. They must not allow trashy people there because we stayed other cheaper motels in Panama city & there were drunks, & other losers. Enjoy the beach!!!!!! I'm back in Kansas City wishing I was there at The Rancho!!!!!

Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
Thank oldwoman741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2011

we enjoyed our stay; had a nice room: king bed, jacuzzi tub. All clean, all tidy (and I am a housekeeper and checked corners). Nice pool. Much better inside than the outside led us to believe!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lauriegal0810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2011

We stayed at The Rancho Inn for 2 months. The rooms were cleaned daily and the owner and employees were very friendly. Hope to go visit the friends we made.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beaumont_TexasDoddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2011

Even with its mixed reviews here, we thought we've give this place a try as we headed to FL to avoid the snow and ice in Georgia. The price was high, but lower than the surrounding brand name motels and lots lower than the B&Bs Unfortunately, the motel is run down, with a stained and cracked sink, poorly lit (40W CFL bulbs in the fixtures), and indifferently cleaned, and on our second day, not cleaned or made up at all. Apalachicola is fun, and the food is wonderful, but pony up a few extra dollars for a room to really enjoy your visit. Best word for the Rancho Inn? Depressing.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Growlser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2010

My husband and I had reservations to stay at this motel on our recent visit to Apalachicola. When we pulled into the parking lot, we were very disappointed. (I didn't read any reviews before we went). I went to the office to ask to see a room and the office was closed. There was a note on the door to call a cell phone. I reached the woman owner who told me she was unloading a truck and would be there directly. I took that opportunity to try to look into a room, but the windows were so dirty I could hardly see anything. The actual structure of the hotel is stucco and pieces had fallen off and were badly patched and as were continued to wait we could see other signs of mildew and other decay. When the owner finally arrived we cancelled our reservation (which she rudely accepted) and we headed down the road to the Best Western. It is possible that we have done this motel a dis-service, but I do believe that the exterior does give a significant idea on how well the interior is also maintained.

Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
2  Thank dilberta55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Apalachicola
0.2 mi away
Best Western Apalach Inn
Best Western Apalach Inn
#1 of 5 in Apalachicola
607 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gibson Inn
Gibson Inn
#2 of 5 in Apalachicola
393 reviews
1.1 mi away
Water Street Hotel & Marina
Water Street Hotel & Marina
#3 of 5 in Apalachicola
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Mainstay Suites
Mainstay Suites
#2 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
282 reviews
8.8 mi away
St George Inn
St George Inn
#1 of 2 in St. George Island
196 reviews
8.7 mi away
Buccaneer Inn
Buccaneer Inn
#2 of 2 in St. George Island
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rancho Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Inn

Address: 240 US Highway 98, Apalachicola, FL 32320-1872
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Apalachicola
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Apalachicola
Price Range: $84 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rancho Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Management! Hotel under remodeling. Rancho Inn is a recently-renovated hotel located in the historical coastal town of Apalachicola Joe on Florida's forgotten Gulf Coast, less than 30 minutes from Port St. Joe and, Mexico Beach and 20 minutes form St. George Island. The Rancho Inn sits just 2 miles form Apalachicola downtown with public boat launching facilities, and close to marinas offering fishing charters and waterfront dining. We pride ourselves in cleanliness and good old fashioned friendliness. You will enjoy the home like feel we try to impart to all our guests. We try to make you feel like you are truly guests in our home. We the owners do live here on the premises. When you are talking to us on the phone, in the office or on the property you have a 99% chance that you are speaking to an owner. We care what you think of us and our establishment and want you to enjoy the time you spend in our city. If there is anything we can do to make your trip and your stay more pleasurable, Please don't hesitate to ask. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Rancho Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rancho Hotel Apalachicola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing