We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Apalachicola
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Apalachicola River Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Apalachicola B&B and Inns
Tallahassee, FL
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Place”
Reviewed August 6, 2006

The place is definitely rustic looking from the outside, but the rooms are attractive and clean. You have an excellent view of the river from the balcony. Good restaurants within walking distance. Altogether a pleasant experience and we would go back.

  • Liked — Attractive room, nice view.
  • Disliked — Place was a little expensive.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnR34231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    116
    44
    19
    17
See reviews for
40
213
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2006

We stayed at this hotel for one night, and we will never return.

Our room was loud because of the bar, and we could also hear people engaging in intercourse in the next room.

I also thought it was not very clean, not to mention overpriced.

  • Stayed December 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank lemonlee5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 5, 2005

My husband and I just returned from Apalachicola/St. George Island. We stayed Friday night at the River Inn. The exterior was not what I expected. It looked like an old wharf building that was refabed for lodging! The rooms were large and the bedding was attractive. The bathroom was not clean and the bathroom door was splintered across the top! The view was wonderful overlooking the river. All was okay until about 6 pm when the bar started rocking. Our room also overlooked the outdoor balcony for the bar! Needless to say, the noise was a bit difficult to overcome! If ever needing a place to stay in Apalach again, we will more likely look into the Consulate Suites, Gibson or the Coombs. This was nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 13, 2005

we stayed at the river inn Augusr 12 thru August 14 2005.if your looking for charm not ritz carlton then this is it.the rooms are large for a small hotel and they are well kept.very clean,and the staff is very friendly and helpful.watching the shrimp boats leave and return with their catch was neat for people who are landlubbers like myself.the food of coarse was wonderful and very fresh.there was still some storm damage visible but that did not break the spirit of the people of Appalachicola.they are very friendly and the town is loaded with old world charm.we plan on returning as soon and often as possible.you should look into it yourself you won't be sorry you did.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 28, 2005

Just spent 4 wonderful days in Appalach at the River Inn. Not impressive from the outside, but room was a wonderful surprise. Plenty of room, great view (one of only 2 places to stay with any sort of view at all). Great private balcony out over the Appalachicola River - great for a cigar and some adult beverages of your choice (rooms themselves are nonsmoking). Relaxing just to sit back and watch the birds and river traffic - check out the Osprey nest on top of the river range marker (need field glasses). Rooms were clean, bed very comfortable, and people friendly. Be sure to try Caroline's for breakfast - try the oyster omelet. Our first trip to Appalach, but we will definitely be back and plan to return to River Inn. Appalach is not a place for kids, no rides/slides, beach is about a 1/2 hour drive - try north end of Cape San Blas. Appalach is laid back and unpretensive. Roll up the side walks at sunset. REALLY quiet on Sunday. But if you want a place to kick back and recharge this is IT.

Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 28, 2004

Considering the ambience of the town, we found the Apalachicola River Inn to be delightful. Our room was not the Ritz, but it was clean and spacious, plenty of room for two adults with two 25 pound dogs. Considering the age of the hotel, we felt that they had done a good job keeping the feel of its "working man's town" culture. The balcony, looking directly out over the river, was made for great photos ops and just enjoying the view. The lounge and restaurant were both very good with very friendly wait staff. It was a bit pricey, but it has that great "million dollar view"...... We stayed an extra night!

  • Stayed April 2004, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Apalachicola
0.1 mi away
Gibson Inn
Gibson Inn
#2 of 5 in Apalachicola
370 reviews
0.5 mi away
Water Street Hotel & Marina
Water Street Hotel & Marina
#3 of 5 in Apalachicola
382 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Apalach Inn
Best Western Apalach Inn
#1 of 5 in Apalachicola
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
St George Inn
St George Inn
#1 of 2 in St. George Island
187 reviews
18.5 mi away
Mainstay Suites
Mainstay Suites
#2 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
266 reviews
20.2 mi away
Port Inn
Port Inn
#1 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apalachicola River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apalachicola River Inn

Property: Apalachicola River Inn
Address: 123 Water St, Apalachicola, FL 32320-1736
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Apalachicola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Apalachicola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Apalachicola River Hotel Apalachicola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing