We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sleepless in apalach!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Apalachicola River Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Apalachicola B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 4, 2006

We stayed at this hotel for one night, and we will never return.

Our room was loud because of the bar, and we could also hear people engaging in intercourse in the next room.

I also thought it was not very clean, not to mention overpriced.

  • Stayed: December 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank lemonlee5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (324)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

311 - 317 of 324 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Missouri
111
Reviewed September 5, 2005

My husband and I just returned from Apalachicola/St. George Island. We stayed Friday night at the River Inn. The exterior was not what I expected. It looked like an old wharf building that was refabed for lodging! The rooms were large and the bedding was attractive. The bathroom was not clean and the bathroom door was splintered across the top! The view was wonderful overlooking the river. All was okay until about 6 pm when the bar started rocking. Our room also overlooked the outdoor balcony for the bar! Needless to say, the noise was a bit difficult to overcome! If ever needing a place to stay in Apalach again, we will more likely look into the Consulate Suites, Gibson or the Coombs. This was nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Havana Florida
16
Reviewed August 13, 2005

we stayed at the river inn Augusr 12 thru August 14 2005.if your looking for charm not ritz carlton then this is it.the rooms are large for a small hotel and they are well kept.very clean,and the staff is very friendly and helpful.watching the shrimp boats leave and return with their catch was neat for people who are landlubbers like myself.the food of coarse was wonderful and very fresh.there was still some storm damage visible but that did not break the spirit of the people of Appalachicola.they are very friendly and the town is loaded with old world charm.we plan on returning as soon and often as possible.you should look into it yourself you won't be sorry you did.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
210
Reviewed June 28, 2005

Just spent 4 wonderful days in Appalach at the River Inn. Not impressive from the outside, but room was a wonderful surprise. Plenty of room, great view (one of only 2 places to stay with any sort of view at all). Great private balcony out over the Appalachicola River - great for a cigar and some adult beverages of your choice (rooms themselves are nonsmoking). Relaxing just to sit back and watch the birds and river traffic - check out the Osprey nest on top of the river range marker (need field glasses). Rooms were clean, bed very comfortable, and people friendly. Be sure to try Caroline's for breakfast - try the oyster omelet. Our first trip to Appalach, but we will definitely be back and plan to return to River Inn. Appalach is not a place for kids, no rides/slides, beach is about a 1/2 hour drive - try north end of Cape San Blas. Appalach is laid back and unpretensive. Roll up the side walks at sunset. REALLY quiet on Sunday. But if you want a place to kick back and recharge this is IT.

10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Hillsborough, NC
116
Reviewed July 28, 2004

Considering the ambience of the town, we found the Apalachicola River Inn to be delightful. Our room was not the Ritz, but it was clean and spacious, plenty of room for two adults with two 25 pound dogs. Considering the age of the hotel, we felt that they had done a good job keeping the feel of its "working man's town" culture. The balcony, looking directly out over the river, was made for great photos ops and just enjoying the view. The lounge and restaurant were both very good with very friendly wait staff. It was a bit pricey, but it has that great "million dollar view"...... We stayed an extra night!

  • Stayed: April 2004, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank Jceanr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: prendre une chambre au rez-de-chaussée avec vue sur l'eau
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean-Claude P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Apalachicola
0.1 mi away
Gibson Inn
Gibson Inn
#2 of 5 in Apalachicola
398 reviews
0.5 mi away
Water Street Hotel & Marina
Water Street Hotel & Marina
#3 of 5 in Apalachicola
404 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Apalach Inn
Best Western Apalach Inn
#1 of 5 in Apalachicola
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
St George Inn
St George Inn
#1 of 2 in St. George Island
196 reviews
8.4 mi away
Buccaneer Inn
Buccaneer Inn
#2 of 2 in St. George Island
230 reviews
18.5 mi away
Mainstay Suites
Mainstay Suites
#2 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apalachicola River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apalachicola River Inn

Address: 123 Water St, Apalachicola, FL 32320-1736
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Apalachicola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Apalachicola
Price Range: $128 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Apalachicola River Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Apalachicola River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apalachicola River Hotel Apalachicola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing