We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Twenty Fifth Anniversary Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Apalachicola River Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Apalachicola B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 20, 2009

My husband and I returned to Apalachicola for our 25th wedding anniversary. We live in central Florida and over the years have explored the Florida panhandle and realized that we are blessed to have unmatched natural beauty within a few hours drive from our home. Apalachicola made a perfect three day getaway. We wanted to hang out together walk the town and its parks go to St. George Island and walk the beach and FISH. We stayed at the Apalachicola River Inn not the first time over the years and definately not the last. This property on the banks of the river has been a work in progress for almost two decades, the current owners have owned it for 19 years. Many of the employees we recognize from our first visit in 1994. The remodling of the rooms has been going on since then ,at least ,and slowly but surely it has evolved, to our amazement, into a one of a kind place. The uniqueness and style of the rooms is owed directly to the brilliance of the owner Caroline Maddren, whom we have known since 1994 and to Bobbie and Art a husband and wife remodeling team par excellence. Take a tour of the rooms on the Apalachicola River Inn website. And now for the fishing. Three of the top fishing guides in the area have their boats at the Inn's marina and I would recommend any one wanting to increase the uniqueness of a visit to Apalach consider a fishing trip in the bay or gulf of Mexico. We went with Dennis this time and caught our limit of trout. Fishing is only part of the picture because the scenery in the bay and river will make you take in a deep breath and say thanks. Larry and Caroline the owners of the Inn are definately guest fisherman friendly and if you stay at their Inn they will have your catch cooked for you supply you with all the sides (great hushpuppies) and complimentary one of a kind house smoked fish dip all free of charge. Service is excellent. The Inn has become a bed and breakfast since completion of remodeling and each guest of the inn recieves a complimentary adult beverage in their scenic roof top Roseate Spoonbill lounge and a cooked to order southern breakfast complimentary for each nights stay Prices are seasonal but reasonable. It don't get better

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kat09Fla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (330)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

305 - 311 of 330 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2009

This place was quiet and very quaint. It truly is relaxing with our balcony looking onto the river. We watched boats come and go. The weather was warm with lots of sunshine which was exactly what we were looking for in Florida. The people here were very nice and did what they could to make us feel at home. Very pleasant indeed. The restaurants were great with mouth watering oysters and a heavenly breakfast for no charge. Such a lovely visit for us. Our friends enjoyed this place as much as we did. Can't wait until next years vacation.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stefanbachsteffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2009

We stumbled upon this "Touch of Paradise". Had a very enjoyable stay. Couldn't seem to leave the place. Everyday we'd have to sign up and stay another day. Total of six days!
They give breakfast to you, not continental, but a hot full meal with fresh squeezed O.J. We also had a free drink each night @ the Spoonbill Lounge.
The room was on the waterfront side of the building. The picture window let us see the beautiful view of the Apalachicola River, various boats and lots of wildlife. There was 5 or 6
pillows of the bed. The room was clean and comfortable. The also have two restaurants on the property. "BOSS OYSTER" or "Caroline's River Dining".
I would recommend this treasure to anyone traveling.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank babWashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2009

We stayed at the Apalachicola River Inn last night after viewing a web site of what looked like a beautiful B&B. It was a great disappointment and a waste of $100. The exterior was more shabby than rustic. The view of the river was the best part. Our room had fake wood panel walls and a ceiling fan we never figured out how to turn off. There were no hangars in the closet and not enough pillows. When we couldn't reach the front desk on the phone, one of us walked down and the office was locked up tight at 9:00 PM. The bathroom looked reasonably nice and was clean, but the toilet ran. When we got into bed we discovered that the mattress sloped to the middle. Oh, and did I mention the two uncomfortable chairs and torn and dirty carpet? We received two chits for drinks, but the bar was too smoky to linger long. Breakfast was passable, but my home fries were cool and the coffee weak.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank hancockdem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oystr, Owner at Apalachicola River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2009

My wife, Caroline and I have owned the Apalachicola River Inn for nineteen years. For that entire time we have employed a wonderful husband and wife team for master carpentry and remodeling our piece of this wonderful town. Our rooms are not dirty!! Our reception desk is and always has been open until 10 p.m. Many of our guests do not realize when travelling from the west that the time changes from central to eastern. All of these problems and concerns could have been addressed before 10 p.m.. These are difficult times and we know that travellers to Apalachicola have some outstanding choices for accomadations. We are one of those great options.Our web site is an exact representation of our inn. Do enjoy this towns oysters and come stay with us. Proudly, Caroline and Larry Maddren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2008

When you pull up to this hotel you will be wondering if you made the right decision,the front is tin sheathing and looks like a rusty warehouse.But as soon as you step into the lobby you will be amazed at the lovely surroundings.The rooms are to say the least luxourious and the view overlooking the river from the private decks are great.French doors open to the deck where you can see the boats coming and going and the pelicans diving for food.
The town is very walkable and quite unique with very friendly people.
I f sea food is you thing do not miss the Boss Oyster the oysters are as fresh and tasty as can be and served in every way imaginable.
Carolines retuarant on site is very nice ,the breakfast included with the room is very good and subsatntial.Dinner at Carolines was also very good.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank willis4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2008

On a recent road trip my partner found a place called "Apalachicola" on the map, it sounded nice so we went there. Well, we have been to the states many times on road trips usually looking for the typical "Flipper Florida Keys" type experience,but without much luck (including key west and a dozen keys inbetween!) When we arrived there we realized that this was it.The town was charming,full of junk/antique shops ,general stores and nice restaurants. Enough to keep the average tourist occupied but not enough to spoil the local atmosphere. After driving around the town we pulled up at the Riverside Inn.I must admit that it did look like a tin warehouse building that had been made into a hotel.However i asked the lovely lady on the desk( Anna i think) if i could have a look at a few rooms.When i went around to the front where the rooms were i was gobsmacked.The view was just to die for.I had the keys for room 4 and went in.Now dont get me wrong this is by no stretch of the imagination 5*,but it felt very homely,have i mentioned the view! The bathroom was newly renovated ,spotless and tastfully done.The beds were very comfy with decent quality linens and everything seemed very clean.I was sold and we stayed for two nights,wish it could have been more.Its a great place to kick back and chill,watch the wild life and enjoy great food from both the onsight restaurants i really can not rate this place high enough.GREAT!
p.s. As other posts have stated there is no beach so i dont think its the place for kids.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank puma1.716v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2007

Food and service was top notch. The local Boss Oyster had amazing oyster and seafood dishes. Rooms were clean and and comfortable. This is a great place to unplug from the world for a while. Very laid back and relaxing. Been there a few times and never disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank flguy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Apalachicola
0.1 mi away
Gibson Inn
Gibson Inn
#2 of 5 in Apalachicola
413 reviews
0.5 mi away
Water Street Hotel & Marina
Water Street Hotel & Marina
#3 of 5 in Apalachicola
417 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Apalach Inn
Best Western Apalach Inn
#1 of 5 in Apalachicola
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
St George Inn
St George Inn
#1 of 2 in St. George Island
198 reviews
8.4 mi away
Buccaneer Inn
Buccaneer Inn
#2 of 2 in St. George Island
231 reviews
20.2 mi away
Port Inn
Port Inn
#1 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apalachicola River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apalachicola River Inn

Address: 123 Water St, Apalachicola, FL 32320-1736
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Apalachicola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Apalachicola
Price Range: $139 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Apalachicola River Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
want to change the designation of the Apalachicola River Inn from a bed and breakfast to an Inn which serves breakfast in our adjoining Caroline's Dining on the River ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Apalachicola River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apalachicola River Hotel Apalachicola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing