We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second review...first was deleted” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apalachicola River Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Apalachicola
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Apalachicola River Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Apalachicola B&B and Inns
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Second review...first was deleted”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

Room was not too clean, zero desk service in evening when there was a problem with drunks yelling on their pier well after midnight, garage sale furniture, funky rug, ceiling cracked and funky in bathroom, no screens on window, torn screens and peeling paint throughout the place. It needs some serious attention. For almost $400. for two nights, we were expecting a nicer room. Staff was nice and attached bistro was great for breakfast. View was nice. Funds need to be reinvested.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the lounge area because of bar and music noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank surfcityred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oystr, Owner at Apalachicola River Inn, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Our furniture is purchased from Pier 1 with whom we have had a commercial buyer's designation for 15 years. Please see the review above yours posted on the same date "Pure serenity". Please see the reviewer's photo submission of the upstairs room they stayed in. GARAGE SALE furnishing? What garage sale? Instead of responding to the rest of the review I rest my case Caroline owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    116
    42
    15
    16
See reviews for
40
207
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
127 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

We spent a short weekend for our anniversary. While the weather was rotten, the room and location of the inn was perfect. We had the Rose Suite - which is large open room, big screened porch and windows all around (end unit - and the most quiet also). The view over river was gorgeous. We just had a bad weather weekend with storms and tornado watches, etc The two restaurants on site were very good and we enjoyed the staff at Carolines - very nice and helpful. The Inn is rustic looking, but has all the amenities needed. Town is walkable for everytihng. Looking forward to another visit with good weather so we can really enjoy ourselves. Inn staff was also very nice - even a bottle of champagne in the room for our anniversary! We will certainly stay here again! The bed was so comfy also!! One negative for us - we do not smoke and dont like it. The upstairs bar, while it doesnt allow smoking the entry area where bands play does. So you have to walk through smoke or nasty smoke smell to get to upstairs bar. We chose to go to Boss Oyster and other bars vs deal with the location bar. Another plus is the location and town are very dog friendly!

Room Tip: If you like more quiet area, choose rooms away from upstairs bar (has live music). Ask for room clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsDiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, AL
Level Contributor
72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

We booked an upstairs King room for two nights Feb 28 and March 1, 2014 at the Apalachicola River Inn for a wedding in the area. We were very pleased and would love to go back to stay for a longer visit.
My husband and I found the room decor to be fine, if a bit quirky... The room had a wonderful private screened deck with very nice seating - which we really enjoyed, the river view from our deck was delightful and at night the room was nicely dark for sleeping plus the bed was comfortable for us both. The bar area was hopping at night but some ear plugs took care of that for us and we were able to drift off to sleep with no problem. Truly a thumbs up all the way around with our mini-vacation here. In fact - in a quick surprise decision (all because we enjoyed our stay here so well) we extended it for another night.
Oh - I must not neglect to mention the breakfast offerings each morning that were simply wonderful! We each tried something new all three days. It was so good that on the third day we drove over to St. George Island to pick up our daughter and a friend to eat breakfast with us. They were both very impressed. I will say this was a "wow" factor - a real plus for our stay.
The March 2nd extension required us to move rooms to a downstairs queen bedroom that day. The bathroom downstairs was even more spacious that the upstairs room, which was nice for all my stuff. This colorful room was right at water level and we had the pleasure of seeing dolphins swim by right in front of us. Overall the room and outside area was fine and it was priced well. I must note that the bed was a bit squeaky and uncomfortable plus light streamed into the room at night.

Room Tip: Try the upstairs rooms - on the left side away from ice machine and bar as they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Reedmore13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oystr, Owner at Apalachicola River Inn, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thanks for your kind review,"poetic". "Vintage charm with a great location". Thanks for staying with us. Thanks for getting it. "Vintage charm with a great location." Can we thank you enough. Caroline Maddren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross, North Dakota
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

Stayed at the Apalachicola Inn 3 years ago and just loved it, and decided to travel back to it and really enjoyed it again. The rooms are beautiful, clean and spacious. The front desk staff is friendly and helpful. The views from the rooms are amazing, and they have screened decks that we could sit outside and enjoy the scenery. A free breakfast is provided in Caroline's Restaurant and it was fabulous.

Room Tip: All rooms have wonderful views. This is a wonderful place to stay!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lorac1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oystr, Owner at Apalachicola River Inn, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thanks for your kind review. WOW you stayed here 3 years ago and "just loved it." That is truly a high compliment. This is what you said on Tripadvisor. You gave us another chance and we did not fail you. We just love our property a mom and pop. It is a one of a kind and we are celebrating our 24th year celebrating it. WE get up in the morning and drive from home to the Inn get our coffee at Caroline's and walk on the dock look all that is going on this another beautiful maoring in AWE. Thanks again. Come see our rooms. We are the only riverfront property on the Apalachicola River. We are steps from shopping Come see our rooms Caroline Maddren owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheboygan Falls, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

After we crossed the John Gorrie Bridge, we came immediately into Apalachicola. I had marked the Apalachicola River Inn on TripAdvisor that morning. It was dog friendly and looked interesting so I suggested we swing by and check it out, even though I thought we may want to get further along.

We made an excellent decision, staying at the Apalachicola River Inn, and took a room on the second floor, overlooking the channel for the night. The front desk manager was beyond nice and we got some full on Southern hospitality as we checked in.

Breakfast in the morning was included. The lemon pancakes were amazing and we even spotted a dolphin as we sat in the screened, seating area on the channel and ate. Magical!

Room Tip: The second floor rooms have a screened balcony overlooking the channel. It was fun to watch the boat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oystr, Owner at Apalachicola River Inn, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
EyeSpyNation, WE are honored that you stayed with us. The Apalachicola River Inn is a one of a kind property on the Apalachicola River. We are the only riverfront property in the historic district and the only one that ever will be. Step out of your room and you are at the shops. We are honored to offer you a delicious home cooked breakfast for each guest each day of your stay including a glass of fresh squeezed orange juice. Our rooms are not cookie cutter, and we do not obsess over crosiant vs hard boiled egg vs waffle vs minute maid. If you stay with us you will get a one of a kind nature's setting. We will cook your breakfast to order for each guest,see our guest menu on our website. WE do not serve you a non loving breakfast because we believe we want you to see what this old Florida is all about. Come see our rooms REBEL Against the ordinary a breakfast cooked to order on the river. WE are happy here Caroline and Larry owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenandoah Valley, VA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

In the end, the wonderful included full breakfasts at the Inn's Caroline's restaurant, trumped the drawbacks. Their website says recently remodeled, etc., but the TripAdvisor reviews are so useful. So adjust your expectations and you might enjoy your stay more.
We had a 2nd story room with the porch overlooking the river. We liked that feature and thst you could open the french doors , but you heard the bridge traffic constantly. The porch, though, was especially nice when we had a rainy day and we sat out and watched the weather. The room was spacious but tired. The bathroom and linen were fresh with lots of towels and pillows but a soft mattress. There was no clock, hairdryer or coffee-maker. And although the website says wifi, as of now, it is not in-room wifi, but available at a little desk in an entry hallway near the front desk. Staff said they were exploring getting in-room wifi. The room had somewhat damp river smell, but it was not actually damp

Taking a reviewer's advice, I asked for a room away from the bar on the 2nd floor. Good thing, as we could hear the music until midnight on Fri & Sat. The location was great-historic Apalachicola right outside the door, a few blocks this way or that. The included breakfast was most excellent, with your choice from a menu including omelette with oysters, shrimp and eggs, french toast, all-american etc, including fresh orange juice and coffee.
We loved Apalachicola and may return there, maybe not to the River Inn but definitely to Caroline's.

































As others have said, the rooms are spacious but tired. Linens and bath clean.




Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Altered_E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shanghai
Level Contributor
529 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

We stayed here a couple of nights and chose here mainly for the view of the river which you certainly get but the porch screens although doubtless needed also make the view blurry and the rockers leave you at eye height with the wooden supports. The porches also get no sun at all which in the heat of summer is probably great but in February it would have been nice!
The room we had was fairly tired and the furniture old to say the least of it, however the bed was both clean and comfortable and the bathroom new and spotlessly clean. It can be noisy at night though with people who have been to the bar belonging to the property, also the walls between rooms are thin, we heard far too much of the love life next door!
However despite the drawbacks this is a great stay if you are happy with quirky which we are. The situation is very convenient and the staff we met were very helpful.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank toniShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Apalachicola
0.5 mi away
Water Street Hotel & Marina
Water Street Hotel & Marina
#3 of 5 in Apalachicola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gibson Inn
Gibson Inn
#2 of 5 in Apalachicola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Apalach Inn
BEST WESTERN Apalach Inn
#1 of 5 in Apalachicola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
St George Inn
St George Inn
#1 of 2 in St. George Island
3.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
20.2 mi away
Port Inn
Port Inn
#1 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
18.5 mi away
Mainstay Suites
Mainstay Suites
#2 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apalachicola River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apalachicola River Inn

Property: Apalachicola River Inn
Address: 123 Water St, Apalachicola, FL 32320-1736
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Apalachicola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Apalachicola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Apalachicola River Hotel Apalachicola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing