We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint, clean, very friendly, and a view”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Apalachicola
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Apalachicola River Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Apalachicola B&B and Inns
Treasure Island, Florida
Level Contributor
208 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Quaint, clean, very friendly, and a view”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

This is our first stay at the River Inn and we loved it. The staff was so friendly and we loved the private balcony over looking the river on the second floor. The ground floor rooms are also on the water and you can fish right out front of your room. We ate at Boss Oyster for dinner and Carolines for breakfast and both were great. We will be back.

Room Tip: Second floor for a private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oahudrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oystr, Owner at Apalachicola River Inn, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thanks for visiting our inn and your kind review. The Apalachicola River Inn is like an old Florida lodge set in the historic district of this former steamboat cotton shipping town. The inn attaches to our restaurant Caroline's Dining on the River. All of the property including the Boss Oyster Restaurant( top 10 oyster bars in US Coastal Living Magazine )next door is on the banks of the Apalachicola River. You will get to know Caroline's as the complimentary cooked to order breakfast that we are famous for is prepared and served at Caroline's. We have an outdoor screened in gazebo built on the old cotton wharf which is perfect for breakfast. Keep an eye on the river lots on things happening. Shrimp boats glide out,seagulls laughing, manatees float by porpoise surface. No noisy traffic to spoil the morning calm. Come see our newly and constantly remodeled rooms. Our rates are currently discounted $20.00 Sun-Thur We are happy here!!! Caroline Maddren owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    116
    43
    17
    17
See reviews for
40
212
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

The Apalachicola River Inn is a quaint place in a historic town. It is not upscale, but it is clean and cute and friendly. But, the reason I would return there is it included the best breakfast my husband and I ever had at a hotel or B and B!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jewmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oystr, Owner at Apalachicola River Inn, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Thank you for your kind response. We want to make your stay provide you with pleasant memories. Mother Nature plays a big part in that endeavor because of our unique riverfront location. If we can start each days stay with us with a memorable relaxing breakfast along the river the thought of your stay gets enhanced. No hard boiled eggs and cook your own waffles here. Many thanks Caroline Maddren owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Very charming and friendly guesthouse. The same can be said of the small village with many cozy cafes and galleries. Fantastic breakfast overlooking the river, would love to return! St. George Island has a beautiful beach and when the temperature is right, I think this is a summer paradise (we saw a dolphin playing in the beach front).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FrkRandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oystr, Owner at Apalachicola River Inn, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thanks for visiting us from Norway and your kind review. I bet that Norway has many quaint fishing villages like Apalachicola. We are very proud of our inn on the Apalachicola River in the waterfront historic district. Walking around Apalachicola from the inn is as simple as stepping out your door. Thanks for honoring us with your visit and hurry back Cordially Caroline Maddren owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
247 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

If you read the book "Man on the Blue Moon" you're in the mood. A struggling community with a rich heritage. Third largest cotton port in it's day. A quaint inn/motor lodge on the wharf. Upstairs room, clean & adequate, comfortable king bed, screened in porch, ample bathroom. Easy check-in & out. Yep, the office doubles as a liquor/cigar store, plus it's the only place you get WiFi, but I sat there comfortably at night and connected. If you're there for the oysters (why wouldn't you be) the included breakfast has an oyster omelette that is in a league of it's own with nice views of the river. Our daily waitress was friendly & helpful. Outside, by the office, you can sit & watch the oysters boats come in, late afternoon, and wash the oysters right in front of you. Enjoyed talking with the fishermen on the history of local oysters and how they preferred them. Homespun & friendly. St George's Beach is a short drive away and well worth it. A wonderful walk on isolated and protected environment. Has bathhouse facilities there. Easy walk to downtown, mix of shops. Spent two nights (beginning of week) laid back in the midst of southern hospitality. Bar/lounge was not active while we were there and the weather was cool.

Room Tip: Upstairs closer to the office is the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank undertaker01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oystr, Owner at Apalachicola River Inn, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. You get it. The wharf dates back to the steam boat cotton trade days Our Inn is in the historic district and is built on the wharf at the end of the old Apalachicola northern railway by land and the steamboat cotton oyster trade on the riverside. Please come see our rooms. WE want to make it attractive for you to visit our inn. WE offer a $20.00 discount Sun-Thur and cooked to order breakfast for each guest each day of your stay every day Oyster omelets etc. fresh squeezed orange juice (don't expect frozen concentrate here) you are in Florida for crying out loud. See our guest menu on our website published on Tripadvisor. Our mission statement for 22 years at the Inn at Caroline's Dining on the River and the Boss Oyster next door fresh squeezed orange juice Always Fresh caught Grouper never frozen (there is a difference). Our fresh catch of the day is, has been, and always will be Apalachicola Bay oysters caught each day by our private oystermen on our boats refrigerated on our boats immediately. A chilled oyster is a happy oyster (they retain their natural liquor instead of continue their pumping process} A happy oyster is a tasty oyster. Our oysters are chilled from bay to belly. We will serve them to you on an iced stainless steel platter. YOUR OYSTER IS OUR WORLD. We are oyster town Proudly Caroline and Larry Maddren Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oneonta, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

stayed three nights; unusually chilly weather (March 2013); sort of old fashioned room with newly renovated bathroom; very comfortable; no internet in rooms; excellent full breakfast included; authentic oyster bar next door; very helpful staff

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bilfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oystr, Owner at Apalachicola River Inn, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Blfish, Thanks for your kind review. We are celebrating 22 years as owners of the inn WE are always working to make it special . The couple who are our dear friends, Art and Bobby Clough, have been with us the entire time and have literally worked on the inn and our restaurants Caroline's, where we serve the guests our famous cooked to order breakfast, and the Boss Oyster, the authentic oyster bar For the 22 years. We are thrilled that so many visitors to Apalach give us a chance. Why not we offer a $20.00 discount Sun-Thur. Come see our rooms. This is a piece of old Florida An authentic Florida motor lodge. Sorry the weather was cold. Larry is a resident of Wellsville New York and we know it was cold in Oneahta. Kindly Caroline Maddren Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We've stopped in here for the night from 2006 thru 2010 when we moved to the FL KEYS. Boss Oyster is A+ INFINITY! The folks at River Inn are top notch all the way! We have included this community in each and every trip South. Where we always sit, is the seats/view from two issues of Southern Living. Watching the little boats come in with their catch of the day is fun while dining out on the deck. There are so many beautiful Pelicans sitting on the pilots. Every view is a postcard!!! Don't miss out if you love oysters theirs are world renowned and taste buttery straight from the shell. Don't bypass this jewel if you enjoy nautical shopping and one of the most wonderful meals of your life!!!!

Room Tip: All are great!!!! Such a precious little town. You MUST go to the shops as they offer the most eccen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Summer-Cheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oystr, Owner at Apalachicola River Inn, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We as owners absolutely adore this place. Sit on our dockside gazebo and enjoy your complimentary cooked to order breakfast on the only inn on the river. Wanda McKinley Southern Living "Florida's Quiet Side" Morning comes gently to Apalachicola. Oyster boats and shrimp boats begin their daily pilgrimages into the seafood-rich bay as the sun rises on the Northwest Florida coast coast. The lights twinkle on in this fishing village,its residents ready for another day in unspoiled paradise. If you ever wondered if such a place still exists,yes, old Florida lives here A lone blinking light directs the downtown traffic. Come and stay awhile in this wonderful, walkable,watery hamlet. Try the pace on for size. Our in is an old Florida motor lodge in the historic district. Our rooms are constantly upgraded. Our complimentary cooked to order breakfast is famous all guests each day. $20.00 discount Sun-Thur. Apalachicola, Land of the friendly people. See our rooms experience old Florida before your eyes Caroline Maddren owner We love this place
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We have stayed here for years. Our most recent stay was in January. This is "Old Florida" at its best. We love the rooms on the 1st level. They are spacious with a nice sitting area and have large baths plus you have a nice sitting area just outside the room, The view is just wonderful. You are right on the water where you can watch the oyster boats unload your next meal! The included breakfast is gourmet. Try the oyster omelet. There are two restaurants right on the premises and they are both very good. You can walk all over town to all the cute shops without driving. We are looking forward to our next visit. If you don't like oysters, they have every other type of seafood plus beef, chicken etc. I really think you should give it a try!!!!

Room Tip: We have stayed in many of the rooms and have always been pleased. We want to try the cottage next vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JCarolineFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Apalachicola
0.5 mi away
Water Street Hotel & Marina
Water Street Hotel & Marina
#3 of 5 in Apalachicola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gibson Inn
Gibson Inn
#2 of 5 in Apalachicola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Apalach Inn
Best Western Apalach Inn
#1 of 5 in Apalachicola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
St George Inn
St George Inn
#2 of 2 in St. George Island
3.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
20.2 mi away
Port Inn
Port Inn
#1 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
18.5 mi away
Mainstay Suites
Mainstay Suites
#2 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apalachicola River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apalachicola River Inn

Property: Apalachicola River Inn
Address: 123 Water St, Apalachicola, FL 32320-1736
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Apalachicola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Apalachicola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Apalachicola River Hotel Apalachicola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing