We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as it gets!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Apalachicola River Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Apalachicola B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We couldn't have found a nicer place to stay. Old boarding style building with all rooms being on the river with decks and chairs. If you are looking for new. Don..'t stay here but if you are looking for the B&B plus, this is the place. Clean, cute, comfortable, first class service, a + location. Watch the sunrise from your room and deck. Watch the fishing boats come and go. The food is excellent and wonderful choices. Had shrimp and grits with eggs for breakfast but so many more choices. Had a late night dinner with key lime pie and an awesome view. I want to stay here again.

Room Tip: The rooms on the first floor offer a deck with chairs and no obstructed view. The rooms on the secon...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (319)
There are newer reviews for Apalachicola River Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 319 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2013

I guess our first clue should have been the separate registration building that doubled as a liquor store. But we shrugged it off as just being a sleepy little fishing village and the owners in need of making a buck any way they could. The first night was enjoyable with the exception of a few patrons with heavy feet going down the wood walkway outside our door. Friday night, however, brought out every local yocal that could hold liquor to the bar at the other end of our walk. It was, afterall, karaoke night....SERIOUSLY?!!! What made it worse was the overflow of patrons out on the walk hollering at each other so they could be heard over the "music". We called the desk and after discovering the festivities would be continuing until midnight we told them we would be leaving and would appreciate a refund. Her response.."Well, you gotta do, what you gotta do." Imagine our disposition when we had packed the car and went to turn in our keys and her reply was "Sorry, we don't do refunds" to which I responded "we paid $130 to be able to sleep!" She flippantly quipped, "What do you expect when you come to a bar?" Really??!!!!! I can assure you, there was nothing in their advertisement to that regard. To be honest, we were not expecting a full refund, but to not even get an apology was incredible. My husband and I enjoy traveling the roads and staying in nice accomodations, but we have never been so misled. The only thing this hotel has to offer is the view (we stayed in room 17 on the second floor) and the breakfast at Caroline's which was delicious and substantial. Yes, we did leave that night, and No, we will never go back or recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Choose a room furthest from the bar, if you must stay here.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Pcola77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Really quaint place to stay. Room was spacious and really nice. Great view for sunrise and sunset. We left something behind that was really important. They kept it and when we called they were nice enough to ship us our item. Really good team!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

The previous reviews were spot on--this is "old" Florida complete with "old" Florida charm! Great porches over the water, in fact, the entire Inn juts out over the water. Clean rooms with recent remodeling.

We stayed in the rooms furthest from the bar on site and could very clearly hear the karaoke from the bar one night. Not much of a problem for us, but I could see where some might find it inconvenient.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hdvk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We saw the reviews and scheduled our stay accordingly. As we drive up, we weren't sure. The building is rustic and aged. However, the rooms were clean and confortable. We looked out of our hotel room, right on (and over) the river, like cruising in a riverboat. The adjacent resturants (Boss Oyster and Carolines) were great, a great breakfast and seafood for dinner. Boss has killer blue crab cakes!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lloyd W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We came over to the Inn after a few nights at the Gibson Inn. The Gibson was full and we wanted to stay another night. The reservations lady was very helpful and the rooms were nice, ours was on the river and had a great view. The only downside was the restaurant, literally some of the worst service I have ever seen. 2 couples they sat before us left because they had been waiting at least 15 minutes and no one had said anything to them. We got lucky and got service and our order in before the people who were already seated when we arrived. Overall it was the worst organized restaurant I have EVER seen, several tables had no silverware, salt, pepper or sugar and our waitress took at least 10 minutes to bring any sugar after we ordered coffee. We watched several groups come in, wait for at least 5 minutes at the hostess stand, and walk out without anyone saying a word to them. We joked that the restaurant could use that guy on Food Network who fixes restaurants. It became almost comical and we started using a stopwatch to time how long people would sit there before they left.

Room Tip: Get a riverside room, if you choose to eat the complimentary breakfast, bring patience and a sense o...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jess h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We live within 3 hours distance, so hubby and I made a quick one night getaway. Have stayed in Apalach before - so we decided to choose a different locale (River Inn) and sooooooo glad we did!
Stayed on 2nd floor and enjoyed the River views, and sunset was spectacular. Accommodations were adequate, bed slept well, but walls are a little thin. Enjoyed a laugh or two over neighbors amorous vocals! ha, ha. Anyway, enjoyed dinner at BOSS and breakfast at Caroline's was just superb! Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blondchick1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Apalachicola
0.1 mi away
Gibson Inn
Gibson Inn
#2 of 5 in Apalachicola
383 reviews
0.5 mi away
Water Street Hotel & Marina
Water Street Hotel & Marina
#3 of 5 in Apalachicola
392 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Apalach Inn
Best Western Apalach Inn
#1 of 5 in Apalachicola
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
St George Inn
St George Inn
#1 of 2 in St. George Island
191 reviews
18.5 mi away
Mainstay Suites
Mainstay Suites
#2 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
277 reviews
20.2 mi away
Port Inn
Port Inn
#1 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apalachicola River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apalachicola River Inn

Address: 123 Water St, Apalachicola, FL 32320-1736
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Apalachicola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Apalachicola
Price Range: $139 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Apalachicola River Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Apalachicola River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apalachicola River Hotel Apalachicola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing