We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tour Guide was one of the best ever”

The Raney House Museum
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tour Guide was one of the best ever”
Reviewed January 16, 2012

Tour at the Raney House was excellent. Don, tour guide was one of the best I have ever had.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank BobnGailThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    25
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
FLEMING ISLAND
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A trip back in time.”
Reviewed December 31, 2011

What a find? If it wasn't for tripadvisor, we would have missed this. Our tour guide was extremely knowledgeable. He made you feel that he was part of the Raney family.

Helpful?
1 Thank JOHN T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“what an experience!!”
Reviewed October 12, 2011

This was a fun return back in time, the tour guide was so very friendly and so knowledgeable and loved sharring the histopry of the old house he made us feel like we actually knew them buy the time he was done!!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank calthea52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, SC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Really nice!!”
Reviewed May 30, 2011

This place is GREAT. It's hard to belive it still stands. If you like old houses and history don't miss this one (we had a great docent) but the house tells the story ( columns out front are each a tree!!) Some don't like the Confederate stuff here ; but its a a side story. . I own a summer house in Maine and expect to tip my cap to the Yank Stature in each town I drive through there.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank CatcherAiken_SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
313 reviews
169 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“The Rebel Connection”
Reviewed April 7, 2011

We got to the house just before closing so we did not have much time and did not want to keep the docent from dinner. We chose to quickly walk through the two floors by ourselves. The biggest surprise was the amount of memorabilia devoted to the Confederacy. There was a neat story that you will want to ask about.

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank grrprr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Raney House Museum also viewed

Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
 
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to The Raney House Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing