We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite Apalachicola Restaurant!”

Up the Creek Raw Bar
Ranked #4 of 38 Restaurants in Apalachicola
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Takeout
Newnan, Georgia
1 review
“Favorite Apalachicola Restaurant!”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Don't let the laid back atmosphere fool you. We've come here for years, making this hands down our favorite and most frequented lunch and dinner spot. My favorite is the grilled shrimp, sweet potato fries and of course, the baked oysters are a MUST! You'll love the waterfront screened in porch, which allows your fur babies to accompany you AND the occasional gator floating by just adds to your visit. **Trust me, try this place once and you too will be hooked!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ktoddrealtor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    672
    427
    120
    28
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Midwest
Level 6 Contributor
358 reviews
245 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Come even if you don't eat Oysters!”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We don't care for raw Oysters but that didn't stop us from giving this restaurant a try, and we were glad we did. There's a great view of the river and service is fast and friendly. You order at the counter, are given a number and then you find yourself a table. For starters we both had the lobster bisque and it was delicious. We had grilled conch cakes with a Tupelo honey-lime sauce topped with a coconut mango slaw, and a crab cake that came with fried green tomatoes. The french fries were overly salted so the server had another order made for us that was much more to our liking. Even if you don't like Oysters, the menu is full of other interesting selections. We look forward to coming back again!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Curly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Great place to unwind, drink and eat oysters.”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

This is a laid back restaurant with very good seafood -- the perfect place to unwind on a weekend. Seafood is "squeaky fresh" and served in baskets or trays. We ordered two dozen oysters + fried shrimp. Everything was delicious, particularly the Classic oysters. Screen porch seating overlooks the water front and severs keep drinks coming as needed. All in all, a very positive experience.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Photobug4727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alachua, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Unbelievable Oysters”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

My wife and I spent Valentine's weekend in Apalachicola. When the restaurant we were going to was closed for business we decided to go to Up the Creek Raw Bar and were pleasantly surprised!. The oysters here were the biggest and best we have ever had. The view was beautiful and the staff was friendly. We should have come here first.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alachuagoulds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Came here for the oysters”
Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

We visited this place for a small diner and therefore ordered a dozen of oysters, southern style. It was a good bite in a lively atmosphere.

Helpful?
Thank Maderafija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Up the Creek Raw Bar also viewed

Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
 
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
 
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Up the Creek Raw Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing