We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oyster Heaven!”

Up the Creek Raw Bar
Ranked #4 of 37 Restaurants in Apalachicola
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Takeout
Saint James City, Florida
2 reviews
“Oyster Heaven!”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

This hidden jewel of a restaurant is one of the best that I have been to. A real part of old Florida. Service was outstanding and the oysters were served immediately as there were 2 full time shuckers on duty. You'll not find bigger, fresher oysters than here. We've been here twice and will be back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank William F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    656
    420
    119
    27
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Indialantic, Florida
Level Contributor
250 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Freshest oysters ever”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

We drove up from east central Florida, one of our goals being to eat fresh Apalachicola oysters. Four of us ate four dozen raw and three dozen steamed, and they were GREAT! I bet those oysters had not been out of the water for 24 hours. Fresh and really yummy. This is a busy, no frills place on the second floor of a beautiful location overlooking the water. You order at the counter, friendly servers bring your food. You get your own condiments and drinks. Everything was prompt, service attentive to our mess. A great value: seven dozen oysters, three sof drinks, two cups of gumbo, and a child's dinner was 87$ before tip. A great time.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peterthegreatmlkj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Exceeds expectation”
Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

Very simply this place is fantastic! So much so we visited more than once. The food was terrific and the portions plenty to take away. Essentially everything on the menu was tried and proven quite good.
The staff was friendly and incredibly kind to all our kids and the atmosphere was inviting and fun.

We will make this a required stop when nearby. Impossible to see how one could leave unsatisfied.

Helpful?
Thank forester2548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
171 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We've been vacationing in this area for 13 years, and only discovered this hidden gem now, even though it's been open for five years. It is a little off the beaten path, so it could be overlooked. Although this is not "fine dining", it is clean, well-decorated and overlooks the beautiful Apalachicola Bay. It even has outside dining that allows pets! You order at the counter, then the very friendly and attentive waitresses take care of the rest. In our party of six, we ordered the full array of menu items...steamed clams, alligator and white bean gumbo, yellowfin tuna spread, eggplant stack, blackened grouper sandwich, fish fingers, chicken tenders and fried green beans. (No oysters this time but they served them at least six or eight different ways.) And we ALL absolutely loved everything. This place will now be our new favorite go-to restaurant!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Youvegottaread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attica, Indiana
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Hidden treasure”
Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

Just a little off the beaten path and our first visit after coming to the area for 13 years. Our group had a variety of dishes ranging from the yellow fin tuna dip,eggplant stack, steamed clams, grouper sandwich, fried green beans, alligator white bean gumbo, and fried fish basket. ALL were delicious!!! This is truly a rare find- we were all happy with our food! Will definitely put this place on our "not to miss" list!

Helpful?
Thank Joyce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Up the Creek Raw Bar also viewed

Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
 
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
 
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Up the Creek Raw Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing