We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This restaurant is unique!”

Up the Creek Raw Bar
Ranked #4 of 37 Restaurants in Apalachicola
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Takeout
Madison, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“This restaurant is unique!”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

I am a frequent visitor to Apalachicola and this is a "must have" on my list of dining experiences when in town. The restaurant is newer than any of the other raw bars, clean, bright and a beautiful location on Scipio Creek with a nice viewing deck of the wildlife. Enjoy the best grouper sandwich in town! The black bean/avocado salsa is amazing! The home made key lime pie is the best you will find in Florida! The chef (Brett) has some very creative and tasty dishes, the crab cakes, the gator nuggets, the conch cakes, even a wonderful burrito! I am confident anything on the menu is going to be great! The staff is over the top in service and professionalism!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    655
    420
    119
    27
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tampa.Fl
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fabulous Shrimp”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights at the Gibson Inn and had dinner at Boss Oysters the first night and here the last two nights. HUGE fresh shrimp steamed to perfection. On the 2nd floor but does have elevator access. Very casual- order from printed menu then the personable servers bring it to your table and it is all good! Inside or outside areas to dine with a great view of the Apalachicola river and the surrounding area. Fried grouper sandwich was thick and fried just right but the main attraction for our party of 4 was the steamed shrimp. Fried shrimp was done very good with a light coating. Had the usual side items-sweet potatoe fries, fries, chips etc with a very small side salad bar.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank flSandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
110 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nice People but Just OK”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We had the gumbo which was pretty bad. They do give you a very large portion and the seafood seemed fresh but it had no flavor. We put in horseradish, hot sauce and salt and it improved the flavor. We also had the steamed oyster combo which was microwaved. I had never had microwaved oysters and believe it or not, they were not bad. Much better than the gumbo. Very reasonable and the owner/workers could not be nicer.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelAddict6987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aydlett, North Carolina
Level Contributor
64 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“just okay”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

View is wonderful - but the food was just average. Ordered fried grouper and fried shrimp and they were both okay - but really - nothing to write home about. The self service part was fine - but I always wonder why there's a tip jar when you check out if you're serving yourself.... View was the best part of this experience.....

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Darlene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best meal we had in Apalachicola”
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Ate here twice during our week at St George Island. The oysters were much larger than others we were served. The view is beautiful and the food delicious!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gloria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Up the Creek Raw Bar also viewed

Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
 
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Up the Creek Raw Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing