We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food”

Up the Creek Raw Bar
Ranked #4 of 37 Restaurants in Apalachicola
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Takeout
Racine, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
74 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We have been to Apalachicola many times but this was the first time my family and I ate here and all of us loved it. Great food at a great price and the view is hard to beat too.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    656
    420
    119
    27
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Eastpoint, Florida
Level Contributor
119 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Another great meal at Up a Creek”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We visit Apalachicola frequently and never miss the opportunity to dine at Up a Creek. I notice a few reviewers complaining about how you order and get your condiments, but I think that's part of the atmosphere and the food never disappoints. So, if I have to get up to get a slice of lemon, I'm fine with that. This place has always been a great experience with great food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dockdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disorganized layout for ordering and sitting detract from the great food.”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Not a family friendly restaurant, since there are only 2 tables that will accommodate high chairs.
The food was delicious but the method of ordering your food, and getting partial service is disorganized. If the servers just met you at the table and took your order, it would make things smoother for both them and customers. They bring you alcoholic drinks but you get your own soda or water. They bring you food, but you get the other table items. It didn't flow as well as common restaurant patterns do.
A major problem we had, was for most of our meal, we were surrounded by customers waiting for food or to order food. There wasn't enough space to accommodate the rushes when groups would order. So many folks about inhibit the staff's movement and slow operations.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Walter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not what I remembered!”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

This place has changed. I use to love eating here at least once on our trip down from Tallahassee. Oysters were not salty at all. Once the waitress brought our dinner, some of it was over cooked, and cold. We would have told our waitress but she never came back.
So we just ate little and paid. I might give them another try next time.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank babysbabys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Incredible Oysters!”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We kept hearing about the amazing oysters in this town, so we had to try. It did NOT disappoint at all. We ordered some raw as well as some with yummy toppings. All of them were some of the best oysters I've ever had. Also, loved the fact the restaurants was dog friendly.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank gogm123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Up the Creek Raw Bar also viewed

Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
 
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Up the Creek Raw Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing