We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Evening at the Coombs”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Coombs House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Coombs House Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Apalachicola B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
santa rosa beach florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely Evening at the Coombs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2010

I enjoyed our stay, however, the washcloth was "soured" and the place needed dusting. Everything else was nice and we enjoyed the time we spent there.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pamcole4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,084 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    646
    252
    101
    58
    27
See reviews for
98
756
39
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2010

We wanted a different kind of honeymoon - most brits lie on a beach for 2 weeks. We found Apalachicola by accident on google and the Coombs Inn followed naturally. As Brits, bed and breakfast is something we are more familiar with.

It was exactly as we expected - southern charm and relaxation. The welcome was warm from Estella, with fresh baked cookies and coffee - the staff went out of their way as they knew it was our honeymoon. The room (heaven 11) was beautiful and we enjoyed champagne and chocolates in our room. Estella ensured we had a reservation for dinner (we didn't need one but way take risks?) and gave us a quick guide to the town.

The town is old school charm - a bit like wandering into an old tv program for us. The Inn supplied beach towels, a parasol and lounger which we took to St Georges island. We never set foot outside without a local passing the time of day with us - we felt very welcome. The other staff in the house were pleasant and helpful too - nothing was a problem.

I can't imagine how some of the reviewers stayed in the same in as us!! We'd certainly go back.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madsaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2010

I have been handicapped (wheelchair and walker) due to an automobile injury since Oct 2009. I found the accomodations for the handicapped sufficient and comfortable. Room entry was via a long ramp that would provide little verticle resistance to a chair or walker. The room is small and requires advance reservations. Shower stall is a standup stall with rails all around. Toilet was a special needs height with rails. Access to the dining room for breakfast was also via a long ramp with a slow verticle.

The best part of my stay was the people. I left a message with the Inn Keeper's number (asking the password for internet connectivity). Through a miscommunication, the Inn Keeper personally came to my room to insure my safety. One of the hose keepers volunteered to take me, via golf cart, back and forth to the dining room (the handicapped quarters and the main dining room are in two separate buildings). The Inn Keeper also insured that I had a table set for me that I could access in the dining room.

I have been going to the Coombs House since 2005 and I have always found their facilities and service to be wonderful. Everyone is always friendly and the house is beautful. J. Day, Montgomery, AL

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlday1256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2010

From the cheap plastic plants that greet you to the room that won't be thoroughly cleaned to the staff that won't respond well when you have a problem (that was of their doing, not mine), this place was a disappointment, and especially because we opted for the first-class rooms. The breakfasts were disappointing: day old, thawed coffeecake; day old fruit. Skimpy portions, milk instead of cream for your coffee. The lack of thorough room preparation was disappointing (and we reserved well in advance): dirty coffee pot, no coffee, someone else's medicine left in a drawer, no one swept under the bed, stain on the couch, multiple roach traps left out (and this was a pet-friendly room), no bathrobes, conditioner, etc. The landscaping is cheap and the staff response was minimal throughout our three-day stay; far less than eager. I had a major mess when one of our pets got his paw stuck in one of those roach traps. Have you ever tried to get a super-glue sticky mess like that off of a dog's paw? The staff response to this and other situations was minimalist. There are other places that will treat you better all the way around. This was our second visit but I'm not planning another.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wjmcf755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Walton Beach, FL
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2010

Our daughter made reservations at the Coombs House Inn for our special 40th anniversary. She made a point to tell them that this trip was a gift for this special anniversary. She even sent a card to us at the Inn so we would have it upon arrival. Not once did any staff member mention our anniversary and left the card lying on the desk for two days. On the second day, we saw the card still there and we took it ourselves. The innkeepers were not personable at all. When we were looking around in the common areas, we were questioned as to what we wanted and were made to feel like we were intruding. The accommodations were lovely and the breakfasts were adequate. We like to stay at B & B's for the personal touch, and Coombs House Inn paled in comparison to other B & B's we have stayed at.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoisandAllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newnan, Georgia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2010

This was our first visit to the area. Coombs Inn was so lovely. The Inn Keeper Deb was so pleasant. We loved our breakfast both mornings. We really enjoyed the wine and snacks in the evening. All of the guests and Deb would sit and talk about their day or plans. We absolutely fell in love with the town! We go on a trip every year for our anniversary and usually stay in B&B's. This by far was the friendliest! We loved that we had bicycles available to us. They were in great condition and we used them a couple of hours each day we were there. What a great way to see this beautiful town! Apalachicola is so close to St. George Island that we went one night for dinner and drinks and then back the next day for the beach and lighthouse. We look forward to going back soon!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna30263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2010

We had a decent room that was clean and quiet, however the attendents at the Inn were not personable. We have stayed in other bed and breakfast inns which always included a large filling breakfast. We were quite disappointed when we awoke saturday morning to find what appeared to us as a continental breakfast you would have received at a Hampton or Holiday Inn. The breakfast had one kind of cereral, one flavor of yogurt, dry blueberry muffins and an apple casserole that was given once you had been seated. Overall the room was nice and we enoyed the old house feel however will not return.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RCD8516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Apalachicola
0.2 mi away
Gibson Inn
Gibson Inn
#2 of 5 in Apalachicola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.4 mi away
Water Street Hotel & Marina
Water Street Hotel & Marina
#3 of 5 in Apalachicola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Apalach Inn
BEST WESTERN Apalach Inn
#1 of 5 in Apalachicola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
St George Inn
St George Inn
#2 of 2 in St. George Island
3.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
19.9 mi away
Port Inn
Port Inn
#1 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
18.2 mi away
Mainstay Suites
Mainstay Suites
#2 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coombs House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coombs House Inn

Property: Coombs House Inn
Address: 80 6th St, Apalachicola, FL 32320-1750
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Apalachicola
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Apalachicola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coombs House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury boutique Inn near the beach. The Coombs House Inn is a luxurious Florida Bed and Breakfast consisting of three elegant Historic Victorian Mansions located between Pensacola and Tampa on the unspoiled Gulf Coast known as "Florida's Forgotten Coast." For 20 years our visitors have returned to our relaxing, romantic accommodations for a quiet alternative to typical Florida hotels. Less than 2 hours from Panama City Beach and Tallahassee, the historic, picturesque seaside village of Apalachicola is adjacent to the pristine white beaches of St. George Island, and near Cape San Blas, Mexico Beach and WindMark Beach in Port St. Joe. Walk or bike to nearby boutique shops, museums, art galleries, and waterfront cafe's serving fresh local seafood and famous Apalachicola oysters served 28 different ways. Tour our 4-star guest suites furnished with European antiques, original oil paintings and oriental carpets on gleaming hardwood floors. All 23 rooms have private baths (7 with romantic whirlpool massage spas), complementary hi-speed internet, in-room Starbucks coffee and flat screen cable TVs. Several 2 to 3 room suites are available, some with kitchenettes and private verandas, perfect for family vacations, bridal wedding parties, girl's getaways and pets. From complementary gourmet breakfasts to afternoon teas and evening wine tastings, view our complete list of amenities and learn more about our unique area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Coombs House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coombs House Hotel Apalachicola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing