We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$269
$253
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rancho Inn(Apalachicola)(Great Value!)
$140
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Buccaneer Inn(St. George Island)
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
St George Inn(St. George Island)
$259
$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mainstay Suites(Port Saint Joe)(Great Value!)
$159
$139
MainStaySuites
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Port Inn(Port Saint Joe)(Great Value!)
$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Apalach Inn(Apalachicola)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gibson Inn(Apalachicola)
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,241)
Filter reviews
1,241 results
Traveler rating
737
285
115
66
38
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
737
285
115
66
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscookiesquichebreakfast was deliciousmain buildingwine and cheeseold mansionb bsbed and breakfastin towna wonderful stayfrench toastforgotten coastgeorge islandoysterseach morningsmall townshops and restaurants
Filter
Updating list...
1,192 - 1,197 of 1,241 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2006

We only stayed for one night but quickly wished we could stay for longer. We were delighted with our first impressions of Coombs House Inn and our bedrooms (7 and 9). All beautifully furnished with antiques. Before taking our suitcases upstairs the four of us had tea/coffee and carrot cake on our own joint private balcony.
After a superb meal at a restaurant within walking distance we returned to our balcony for coffee.
Our bed was so comfortable we were asleep in seconds. I could have stayed there all morning but breakfast was too good to miss.
An earlier reviewer said it was noisy but although we had two windows over-looking the main road I did not find traffic noise a problem.
We will definitely return again.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Silbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2006

Coombs House Inn is very nice historic building but most, if not all, of the rooms face directly onto Hwy-98 which makes them quite noisy. We found it so noisy that we moved out and the staff graciously refunded us. Perhaps on a weeknight it might not have been so bad. The property is beautifully kept and we have always been well treated there... but the road noise seems to be getting worse and worse.

Stayed: March 2006
1  Thank Ducatista-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2005

I almost hate to let everyone in on this wonderful secret part of Florida! :-) The Coombs House is a delightful inn, located in the beautifully restored historic district of this once cotton, now oyster and fishing, town, tucked away on the "forgotten coast" near the panhandle. The inn is period perfect (without being stuffy or twee), with antiques galore. My room, the former "lady's parlor") was comfortable (great bed) and spacious. Breakfast was tasty and filling and the staff was helpful and personable. You can easliy daytrip to St. George's Island, Alligator Point, Port St. Joe or even further. This is a wonderful place for a getaway---see it now, because the area is rapidly being discovered!

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kittygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2005

Who knew you could find such a wonderful spot tucked away in the Florida panhandle?!

We spent a weekend here for a friend's wedding and wished we'd had more time to spend at the Inn. It's in a gorgeous old mansion that has been lovingly restored. We got to hear the entire story over brunch Sunday morning - a real treat if you like history! And speaking of brunch - this was one of the better bed and breakfast meals I've had, with a range of choices all freshly made. Their quiche was excellent, but they also had fruit, cereal, yogurt and pastries.

Each room has a different style, but all looked lovely. Our bed was among the most comfortable I have ever slept in. Eahc room has its own bath - not always true at an old B&B - and ours was a neat old claw foot version. The whole place was full of wonderful character.

The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. They provide free beach chairs, umbrellas and even bikes to ride around town. They were helpful, but not overbearing at all.

I'm not sure we'll ever be back in Apalachicola, but I know where we'll stay if we do go.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank swelch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2004

Perfect combination of privacy and attention from staff. Beautiful rooms with great mattresses on antique beds, front porch for watching the world go by. They offered free beach equipment for our excursions and all the helpful advice we needed. Weak coffee, but otherwise delicious breakfasts and a comfy central room stocked with coffee, juice, cookies, and afternoon wine and cheese.

5  Thank EllenDelller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews