We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WE HAD A GREAT TIME”
Review of Coombs House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Coombs House Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Apalachicola B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
rockledge fl.
1 review
“WE HAD A GREAT TIME”
Reviewed October 7, 2009

I stayed at the Coombs inn with my parents and sister..We enjoyed our stay very much. the rooms were very nice and the breakfast was very good .the location was close to everything that we wanted to see.I will be going back again..

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ckaz53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    671
    263
    104
    63
    32
See reviews for
103
795
39
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
1 review
Reviewed October 5, 2009

If you want nothing but R&R then Apalachacola is where you need to go. If you love seafood particularly oysters then it is a must. This is a very sleepy town which made the stay even more perfect. Rooms are decorated very tastefully.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RandRSeeking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipley, FL
1 review
Reviewed September 29, 2009

My handsome son and his incredibly beautiful bride just had their wedding at the Coombs House Inn. The staff treated them and us (immediate families) like we were royalty. Everytime a member of the staff saw me they would ask if there was anything I needed for me personally and for the wedding.

The renovations, remodeling, and modern upgrades on the old Victorian homes are masterful. Which make the accomodations more than luxurious and the amenities too numerous to count. Breakfast every morning was a gournet's delight. The fluffiest, lightest eggs I've ever eaten, fabulous wines, then cookies and milk to boot. My bed was like sleeping on a cloud and they even went out of their way to see that Scruffy (my pomeranian) was comfortable.

If I could find one thing to change or improve it would be the ability to control the thermostat in my room. The VIlla where I stayed does have central heating and air conditioning and it was cool. However, I do usually like my accomodations cooler than most folks.

My birthday is in November and I've already started planning to celebrate it in Apalachicola at the Coombs House Inn!

Maybe I'll see you there,
Linda

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hummingbird1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonaire, GA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 29, 2009

We couldn't have asked for more! Great location, a short, short walk from main street. The historic neighborhood was beautifully preserved. The Coombs Inn itself is gorgeous. While we were there another couple staying there got married on the property. I wish I had known about it for my wedding as the grounds are very well kept. The innkeepers were great. Breakfast the first day was an omelet casserole and the second morning we had french toast. Delicious! The inn also had complementary beach towels, umbrellas, and bicycles, all of which we used. The front porch is the perfect place to sit back and enjoy Florida. The room we stayed in was decroated perfectly and the bed was so comfortable we checked the mattress so we could purchase one for our home. We will be staying here again!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alc9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 28, 2009

This was our first experience in a B&B, and we obviously chose well. The accomodations were beautiful, the staff extremely attentive and informative, the prices reasonable, and local charm was everywhere. The complimentary breakfast was excellent, and recommendations for seafood in town were right on the money. We will happily return to Coombs House Inn, and we will seek other B&Bs in our travels. Hotels and motels cannot compete with this experience.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slowmoverPensacola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2009

I loved the victorian style rooms and the breakfast. It was like going back in time. The Inn keepers were helpful and friendly for the most part, but they did seem to get a little mixed up on our reservations a few times. The rooms were great but could have been a little cleaner (the ants and the whirlpool tub). Overall I would recommend it to friends and I will also come back to stay at the inn in the future.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dolphins04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
1 review
Reviewed September 15, 2009

This was our first time staying in a bed and breakfast. This was a wonderful experience. Love the fact that we were able to book on a special the hotel was running.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluecrab24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Apalachicola
0.2 mi away
Gibson Inn
Gibson Inn
#2 of 5 in Apalachicola
371 reviews
0.4 mi away
Water Street Hotel & Marina
Water Street Hotel & Marina
#3 of 5 in Apalachicola
383 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Apalach Inn
Best Western Apalach Inn
#1 of 5 in Apalachicola
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
St George Inn
St George Inn
#1 of 2 in St. George Island
187 reviews
18.2 mi away
Mainstay Suites
Mainstay Suites
#2 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
266 reviews
19.9 mi away
Port Inn
Port Inn
#1 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coombs House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coombs House Inn

Property: Coombs House Inn
Address: 80 6th St, Apalachicola, FL 32320-1750
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Apalachicola
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Apalachicola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coombs House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury boutique Inn near the beach. The Coombs House Inn is a luxurious Florida Bed and Breakfast consisting of three elegant Historic Victorian Mansions located between Pensacola and Tampa on the unspoiled Gulf Coast known as "Florida's Forgotten Coast." For 20 years our visitors have returned to our relaxing, romantic accommodations for a quiet alternative to typical Florida hotels. Less than 2 hours from Panama City Beach and Tallahassee, the historic, picturesque seaside village of Apalachicola is adjacent to the pristine white beaches of St. George Island, and near Cape San Blas, Mexico Beach and WindMark Beach in Port St. Joe. Walk or bike to nearby boutique shops, museums, art galleries, and waterfront cafe's serving fresh local seafood and famous Apalachicola oysters served 28 different ways. Tour our 4-star guest suites furnished with European antiques, original oil paintings and oriental carpets on gleaming hardwood floors. All 23 rooms have private baths (7 with romantic whirlpool massage spas), complementary hi-speed internet, in-room Starbucks coffee and flat screen cable TVs. Several 2 to 3 room suites are available, some with kitchenettes and private verandas, perfect for family vacations, bridal wedding parties, girl's getaways and pets. From complementary gourmet breakfasts to afternoon teas and evening wine tastings, view our complete list of amenities and learn more about our unique area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Coombs House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coombs House Hotel Apalachicola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing