We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a detour”
Review of Coombs House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Coombs House Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Apalachicola B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 1, 2014

The Coombs House Inn is an absolute gem, with an interesting history that reflects Apalachicola's grand past. We stayed in the Dupont suite, which was perfect. The staff constantly went out of their way to make us feel at home, and we truly enjoyed our stay. I would actually make a major detour to stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FAP_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,173)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

559 - 565 of 1,173 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Quintessential b n b experience. Clean, authentic and delicious breakfast! Sleep was peaceful. I loved waking in quiet Coombs house. Perk: Great water pressure in shower...Rainey Room room 6 recommended! Such a great time! Downtown Dixie Theatre fun too!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Sour71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Wonderful experience. I enjoyed the wine and cheese during the evening and breakfast. It was close to everything. We had a friend performing at the Dixie so was within walking distance. Shopping was unbelievable.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

A small quiant town with charming surroundings, friendly people and comfortable bed and breakfast inn. Visited off season some restaurants, local attractions and shops closed. Lots of time to relax and unwind. Opportunity to getaway from the rush of life.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michchazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

My husband and I have been to many B&B's, but the Coombs House Inn is the best! The house is beautiful and clean, the staff was professional and accommodating. The history of the home adds to it's character and charm. We thoroughly enjoyed Apalachicola with its sweet shops and restraunts, beautiful scenery, & very friendly locals. Coombs House Inn is our new favorite and we're already planning our next visit there!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Amiesue12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

The three of us were desperate for a break from cold icy weather and to attend to property we own there. We had stayed at the Coombs House Inn once before. We arrived and immediately soaked in the warmth of the sun and fell in love with the new Inn Manager, Donna. Her undivided attention to every detail and genuine caring was just incredible! As before, we found the Inn still gorgeous, perfect distance to downtown, nestled in between origional historic Sea Captains mansions of yesteryear. The lovely botanicals surrounding the Inn coupled with adorable sea gulls, fresh sea air and the smell of the Inns delicious coffee always brewing was more than any one could ever hope or dream for. Donna, the new Inn Keeper turned need and hope into an incredible reality for the three of us. We will always stay at the Coombs House Inn.

Room Tip: There are no bad choices for room selection. They are all exceptional.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We needed a room for one night, and by chance stopped at the Coombs House Inn. We were fortunate that there was a room available. The rooms were beautiful, the decor impressive, and the service was excellent. We loved the wine and cheese provided by the Inn, and enjoyed talking with the other guests, all of whom were enjoying their stay here. The breakfast next morning was delicious, and the hostess so helpful. We would definitely encourage others to stay at Coombs Inn and hope to return ! Ginny T.

Room Tip: All the rooms were very beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gtravelersusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Apalachicola
0.2 mi away
Gibson Inn
Gibson Inn
#2 of 5 in Apalachicola
398 reviews
0.4 mi away
Water Street Hotel & Marina
Water Street Hotel & Marina
#3 of 5 in Apalachicola
404 reviews
1 mi away
Best Western Apalach Inn
Best Western Apalach Inn
#1 of 5 in Apalachicola
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
St George Inn
St George Inn
#1 of 2 in St. George Island
196 reviews
18.2 mi away
Mainstay Suites
Mainstay Suites
#2 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
282 reviews
8.6 mi away
Buccaneer Inn
Buccaneer Inn
#2 of 2 in St. George Island
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coombs House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coombs House Inn

Address: 80 6th St, Apalachicola, FL 32320-1750
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Apalachicola
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Apalachicola
Price Range: $90 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coombs House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury boutique Inn near the beach. The Coombs House Inn is a luxurious Florida Bed and Breakfast consisting of three elegant Historic Victorian Mansions located between Pensacola and Tampa on the unspoiled Gulf Coast known as "Florida's Forgotten Coast." For 20 years our visitors have returned to our relaxing, romantic accommodations for a quiet alternative to typical Florida hotels. Less than 2 hours from Panama City Beach and Tallahassee, the historic, picturesque seaside village of Apalachicola is adjacent to the pristine white beaches of St. George Island, and near Cape San Blas, Mexico Beach and WindMark Beach in Port St. Joe. Walk or bike to nearby boutique shops, museums, art galleries, and waterfront cafe's serving fresh local seafood and famous Apalachicola oysters served 28 different ways. Tour our 4-star guest suites furnished with European antiques, original oil paintings and oriental carpets on gleaming hardwood floors. All 23 rooms have private baths (7 with romantic whirlpool massage spas), complementary hi-speed internet, in-room Starbucks coffee and flat screen cable TVs. Several 2 to 3 room suites are available, some with kitchenettes and private verandas, perfect for family vacations, bridal wedding parties, girl's getaways and pets. From complementary gourmet breakfasts to afternoon teas and evening wine tastings, view our complete list of amenities and learn more about our unique area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Coombs House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coombs House Hotel Apalachicola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing