We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”
Review of Coombs House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Coombs House Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Apalachicola B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We had a great visit here to Coombs Bed and Breakfast. The staff, breakfast, room, and location were all great. The lady who checked us in was very knowledgeable about the history of the B&B, the city, and the best places in town to eat.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsamythomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,153)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

562 - 568 of 1,153 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2013

We were in town for Running for the Bay Half Marathon and received nothing but excellent service. We were able to check in early, received a late check out (so we could shower after the run) and they even provided access to breakfast early so we could chow before the run. Everyone was very accommodating and made our stay seamless. Would absolutely recommend to others.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LittleAngry1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Lovely room. Nicely decorated. The night we were there a really nice young woman checked us in. She was really helpful and knew a lot about the area. We were there for the marathon and she was very accommodating to our schedule and vegetarian diet.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happymoontrails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We arrived in town about an hour before checking in. After walking around the downtown and driving around the town, our impression of the town was that it was "tired", proud of what it once was. Then, we drove to the B&B and were very pleasantly surprised to find a well-kept property, with friendly staff, clean room, and surprisingly for B&Bs in old houses, a quiet room! We had everything we needed and the breakfast was wonderful. Highly recommend this B&B.

Room Tip: Stay upstairs in the main house. We had the Coombs Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bikehog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

The Coombs House Inn is beautiful, quiet and the service is impeccable. We stayed at the villas which had a wonderful wrap around porch. We spent a lot of time in the rocking chairs, enjoying the cooler weather and reading our books.

Room Tip: The Honeymoon Suite is PERFECT!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lennyhamster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

My wife and I honeymooned here. The Inn is restored quite nicely, and well maintained. The staff were most friendly, courteous, and had great dinner recommendations. I am sure Estelle will be missed. This is a perfect place for one or two nights. You can see the whole town in a day, the surrounding area in another day.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Coombs room. If you like quiet, this is not it. It is right above the dining room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful, historic inn with friendly staff. The breakfast was delicious and the menu each morning was different.

The first morning, I forgot about the time zone change and came in for breakfast after the 10 am cut off time. I was still served with a smile.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Apalachicola
0.2 mi away
Gibson Inn
Gibson Inn
#2 of 5 in Apalachicola
387 reviews
0.4 mi away
Water Street Hotel & Marina
Water Street Hotel & Marina
#3 of 5 in Apalachicola
396 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Apalach Inn
Best Western Apalach Inn
#1 of 5 in Apalachicola
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
St George Inn
St George Inn
#1 of 2 in St. George Island
192 reviews
18.2 mi away
Mainstay Suites
Mainstay Suites
#2 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
279 reviews
19.9 mi away
Port Inn
Port Inn
#1 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coombs House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coombs House Inn

Address: 80 6th St, Apalachicola, FL 32320-1750
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Apalachicola
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Apalachicola
Price Range: $90 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coombs House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury boutique Inn near the beach. The Coombs House Inn is a luxurious Florida Bed and Breakfast consisting of three elegant Historic Victorian Mansions located between Pensacola and Tampa on the unspoiled Gulf Coast known as "Florida's Forgotten Coast." For 20 years our visitors have returned to our relaxing, romantic accommodations for a quiet alternative to typical Florida hotels. Less than 2 hours from Panama City Beach and Tallahassee, the historic, picturesque seaside village of Apalachicola is adjacent to the pristine white beaches of St. George Island, and near Cape San Blas, Mexico Beach and WindMark Beach in Port St. Joe. Walk or bike to nearby boutique shops, museums, art galleries, and waterfront cafe's serving fresh local seafood and famous Apalachicola oysters served 28 different ways. Tour our 4-star guest suites furnished with European antiques, original oil paintings and oriental carpets on gleaming hardwood floors. All 23 rooms have private baths (7 with romantic whirlpool massage spas), complementary hi-speed internet, in-room Starbucks coffee and flat screen cable TVs. Several 2 to 3 room suites are available, some with kitchenettes and private verandas, perfect for family vacations, bridal wedding parties, girl's getaways and pets. From complementary gourmet breakfasts to afternoon teas and evening wine tastings, view our complete list of amenities and learn more about our unique area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Coombs House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coombs House Hotel Apalachicola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing