We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice old house”
Review of Coombs House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Coombs House Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Apalachicola B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
West Columbia, Texas
Level Contributor
139 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Nice old house”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

There are actually 2 historical homes. We checked in one and stayed in the other one. I wouldn't go here for my honeymoon because you can hear everything in the hall. I looked in the room beside us because the door was open and it wasnt rented but it was huge and a huge bathroom. Our bed was squeaky. It was very clean. We had a little corner room upstairs. It was a little high but worth it if you like old houses. The lady who cleans and brings you towels, was very nice and accommodating. Check in was easy. I saw low reviews about people trying to checkin. Thank goodness mine went well and the lady was nice. We left to early to review the breakfast but the lady packed us some fruit and yogurt, which was very thoughtful. It's a perfect location, on the main road. It's a cute little town by the bays and easy access to the island. I would love to go back and stay longer.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adventurermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    662
    259
    104
    62
    29
See reviews for
100
784
39
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bell, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Coombs Inn was a great place to stay. We reserved the smallest, least expensive room and when we arrived we were pleasantly surprised to learn our room was upgraded! The Inn is beautifully decorated and comfortable. A very short walk downtown to shop or eat a one of the fine restaurants. Breakfast was good and they serve Starbucks (even in the rooms)!! We will visit again for sure.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side may be a little cooler in the late afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne, Alabama
Level Contributor
123 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

An easy walk from this Inn to charming unspoiled downtown Apalachicola. We made last minute reservations for the Magnolia room. It is a lovely room with a queen bed and french doors leading to the lobby on the first floor. Very convenient parking right outside the mansion. The Inn is across the street from an historic cemetery. The catholic church is a short walk. The next time I would like to stay in the Azalea Room on the first floor, a king room with a good solid wood door. The French Doors were beautiful and private but they allowed the light from the hall to stream into the room and I like to sleep in the dark. Breakfast was very good as was the coffee and tea and cookies available in the afternoon. This is a top of the line B and B.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pissaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

This B and B was totally delightful! Rooms were so well done and comfortable. The Breakfast was plentiful and good. We found the Jasmine room to be most convenient since we could access it from outside. Would visit again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ata3911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

This was a spur of the moment decision to spend one night as we were driving from Seaside to Jacksonville and we followed Highway 98 to pass through many beaches we had never seen. We went out to Cape San Blas and St. George Island. Our arrival at the inn was charming and friendly. We had chosen the Heron Suite which had a veranda, a four poster bed, and a fireplace. Tea, coffee, and cookies were availbale in the dining room after we took our luggage to our suite. We walked to the town center where we found several very nice shops. There was a wine reception in the evening and we learned some history about the inn. Breakfast the next morning was continental in the dining room and also a hot entree was delivered to the table. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The inn does give a AAA and AARP discount when you check in if you have a membership card. We would stay again and happily recommend the B&B.

Room Tip: Check out the photos of all of the rooms. Each one is very unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank U2andme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed in the Azalea Room on the first floor. The staff were concerned that we might find the room a bit noisy as it was right by the check-in area - but it proved not to be a problem for us. The room was elegantly furnished in keeping with the house and the bed was one of the most comfortable I have slept in. The bathroom was small but everything worked, The breakfast was plentiful and very enjoyable. The Coombs House is located in the historic district and a short walk from the town center where there are a number of good restaurants to choose from. I would definitely recommend the Coombs House.

Room Tip: There are 3 houses next to each other - breakfast is served in the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FloridaGirl2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed at the Inn for 2 nights in August. Our second floor room was very comfortable, and we loved sitting on the veranda. The Inn has a lovely breakfast, and we took full advantage of the yellow bikes to explore the area. Be sure to walk across the street to visit the cemetary where the Coombs are buried. Apalachicola has lots of history,fun shops and the resturants will satisfy anyone wanting to sample all kinds of delicious oysters! Finally, the staff at the Inn make every effort to ensure you have a wonderful and relaxing visit! Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Char M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Apalachicola
0.2 mi away
Gibson Inn
Gibson Inn
#2 of 5 in Apalachicola
366 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Apalach Inn
Best Western Apalach Inn
#1 of 5 in Apalachicola
572 reviews
0.4 mi away
Water Street Hotel & Marina
Water Street Hotel & Marina
#3 of 5 in Apalachicola
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
St George Inn
St George Inn
#1 of 2 in St. George Island
186 reviews
18.2 mi away
Mainstay Suites
Mainstay Suites
#2 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
262 reviews
19.9 mi away
Port Inn
Port Inn
#1 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coombs House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coombs House Inn

Property: Coombs House Inn
Address: 80 6th St, Apalachicola, FL 32320-1750
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Apalachicola
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Apalachicola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coombs House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury boutique Inn near the beach. The Coombs House Inn is a luxurious Florida Bed and Breakfast consisting of three elegant Historic Victorian Mansions located between Pensacola and Tampa on the unspoiled Gulf Coast known as "Florida's Forgotten Coast." For 20 years our visitors have returned to our relaxing, romantic accommodations for a quiet alternative to typical Florida hotels. Less than 2 hours from Panama City Beach and Tallahassee, the historic, picturesque seaside village of Apalachicola is adjacent to the pristine white beaches of St. George Island, and near Cape San Blas, Mexico Beach and WindMark Beach in Port St. Joe. Walk or bike to nearby boutique shops, museums, art galleries, and waterfront cafe's serving fresh local seafood and famous Apalachicola oysters served 28 different ways. Tour our 4-star guest suites furnished with European antiques, original oil paintings and oriental carpets on gleaming hardwood floors. All 23 rooms have private baths (7 with romantic whirlpool massage spas), complementary hi-speed internet, in-room Starbucks coffee and flat screen cable TVs. Several 2 to 3 room suites are available, some with kitchenettes and private verandas, perfect for family vacations, bridal wedding parties, girl's getaways and pets. From complementary gourmet breakfasts to afternoon teas and evening wine tastings, view our complete list of amenities and learn more about our unique area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Coombs House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coombs House Hotel Apalachicola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing