We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Several maintenance issues”
Review of Coombs House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Coombs House Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Apalachicola B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Headland, Alabama
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Several maintenance issues”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Beautiful renovation of main home. Did not visit others. Our visit lasted two nights. First night had issue with broken commode and mysterious water leak in bathroom. The room seemed a little stuffy but too unusual. The second night the room had heated up during the day ( as the windows face the western sky) and it was very warn. Hostess turned thermostat down but we still got no air flow from air ducts. Hostess informed us, all the second floor rooms regulated from on central thermostat in hallway. She did get us a floor fan to use during the night and with the overhead fan made it bearable. Air flow through the duct work is a problem. We stayed in the Raney room. Keep A/C info in mind for second floor. Overall the visit was nice, the staff great.

Room Tip: Second floor has A/c Problem, if on west side of building. West side also has lots of road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreatSeafood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    671
    263
    104
    63
    32
See reviews for
103
795
39
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Our stay at the Coombs House Inn was wonderful. The charming house was a perfect fit for an apalachicola getaway. The inn's bikes are a great way to explore the town. Relaxing retreat with great breakfast and service.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsEmilyRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We arrived late at night and the inn keeper made special arrangements for us to get access to our room. The room itself was great and the bed very comfortable. They have done a great job in the renovation. It appears to be an on going project to maintain the home. However, they are doing the deck expansion and it will be nice to enjoy the quiet side of the Mansion. You should make a point to borrow the bicycles and ride to the waterfront just a couple of blocks away. We enjoyed everything Apalachicola had to offer especially the oysters. We will return again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vistorontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I was in The Jasmine room. It is beautiful & quiet with a comfortable king size bed; linens & draperies lovely & a great sense of privacy; extremely clean. Complimentary wine in early evening; breakfast very good. I would stay there again. Apalachicola is a delightful place to visit. There is a feel of old Florida combined with new & charming stores & restaurants. The Coombs Inn is a beautifully renovated historic home with modern amenities.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tallyann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarmouth Port, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

While traveling with our Cocker Spaniel, Pearl, we stayed two nights at the Coombs House The (relatively) new innkeepers are cordial, and the accommodations very nice. We stayed in 11 Heaven, which has a very comfortable bed, and a commodious bathroom with two sinks, a whirlpool tub, and a separate shower. One small suggestion for improvement: wall mounted shelving for toiletries near the sinks. The only significant flaw was that there is no temperature control in the room, and the windows cannot be opened. There is a ceiling fan, however, which does help somewhat. Other than that, since the inn consists of three old buildings, if you are not traveling with a pet and the noise of people moving around over your heads would bother you, the not-pet-friendly, upstairs rooms should be considered.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank courcierwilkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Had a beautiful room and bathroom. We enjoy sitting outside at home on our deck so we did the same on the veranda. Lots of traffic as it is the main road, but you cannot hear in the room itself. Disappointed in the hot breakfast. Could have been more creative. Staff was helpfully with recommendations. Nice to have bikes and chair for beach available.

Room Tip: ask for room with fridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank advisegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock GA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Lovely old home, but one of the 4 "cottage suites" with kitchen served our purposes perfectly. Very quiet and relaxing. The inn hosts were very gracious and generous. Last weekend in April was sunny and warm, but not yet hot. Enjoyed the several porches. Definitely recommend for couples, romance, girls getaway, and seniors.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelnamegolady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Apalachicola
0.2 mi away
Gibson Inn
Gibson Inn
#2 of 5 in Apalachicola
370 reviews
0.4 mi away
Water Street Hotel & Marina
Water Street Hotel & Marina
#3 of 5 in Apalachicola
383 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Apalach Inn
Best Western Apalach Inn
#1 of 5 in Apalachicola
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
St George Inn
St George Inn
#1 of 2 in St. George Island
187 reviews
18.2 mi away
Mainstay Suites
Mainstay Suites
#2 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
267 reviews
19.9 mi away
Port Inn
Port Inn
#1 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coombs House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coombs House Inn

Property: Coombs House Inn
Address: 80 6th St, Apalachicola, FL 32320-1750
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Apalachicola
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Apalachicola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coombs House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury boutique Inn near the beach. The Coombs House Inn is a luxurious Florida Bed and Breakfast consisting of three elegant Historic Victorian Mansions located between Pensacola and Tampa on the unspoiled Gulf Coast known as "Florida's Forgotten Coast." For 20 years our visitors have returned to our relaxing, romantic accommodations for a quiet alternative to typical Florida hotels. Less than 2 hours from Panama City Beach and Tallahassee, the historic, picturesque seaside village of Apalachicola is adjacent to the pristine white beaches of St. George Island, and near Cape San Blas, Mexico Beach and WindMark Beach in Port St. Joe. Walk or bike to nearby boutique shops, museums, art galleries, and waterfront cafe's serving fresh local seafood and famous Apalachicola oysters served 28 different ways. Tour our 4-star guest suites furnished with European antiques, original oil paintings and oriental carpets on gleaming hardwood floors. All 23 rooms have private baths (7 with romantic whirlpool massage spas), complementary hi-speed internet, in-room Starbucks coffee and flat screen cable TVs. Several 2 to 3 room suites are available, some with kitchenettes and private verandas, perfect for family vacations, bridal wedding parties, girl's getaways and pets. From complementary gourmet breakfasts to afternoon teas and evening wine tastings, view our complete list of amenities and learn more about our unique area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Coombs House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coombs House Hotel Apalachicola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing