We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the best choice in town”
Review of Coombs House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Coombs House Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Apalachicola B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lake City, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
472 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
“Probably the best choice in town”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

This was our second stay at The Coombs. It is a very pretty old Inn, that does need some deep cleaning and updating. It bills itself as a luxurious B&B, we did not find it to be so. We were greeted warmly upon arrival by the new inn keeper. He offered to help us with our bags, which we declined. I was surprised when he then just pointed up the stairs toward our room, instead of showing us up and showing us how things work. I stayed downstairs while my husband went and got our bags and only then, did I over hear the innkeeper tell some others how to operate the TV remotes and the internet code. Speaking of the internet, it is pretty much non-existent, if you could connect, it would be okay for a few minutes, then so slow, you couldn't do anything. Perhaps with everyone have mobile devices these days, they need to upgrade their system. The TV in the room was a very small one and when you sat in bed to watch (which was pretty much the only option), the post on the bed would block half of the screen. The sheets were pretty pilled and need replacing. The old, dusty silk flower arrangements in the hallways and room need to be cleaned of thrown out. The bed was comfortable, but I am glad I travel with earplugs because the room noise it pretty loud and our room did not even face the busy road. The breakfast was nice, but nothing outstanding. The servings were pretty small. The homemade hot dishes were good, but it just seemed like they were trying to get by with "good enough". The fruit was the frozen fruit you sometimes get in some hotels, with a few fresh berries thrown in. The homemade muffins were good, but they had the same "everything" bagels each morning. I personally don't care for those at breakfast and would prefer a plain or wheat bagel, or perhaps some toast. There was no toaster to toast the bagels either. I also felt that for a "luxurious" Inn they could have had some tea of better quality. They seem to be trying to scrimp and cut corners. While there was a large selection of tea bags, when steeped, they had very little flavor. The inn keepers were very friendly and helpful and the bikes you can borrow and ride around the town are a nice touch. After looking at other options in Apalach, I do think this is the best choice, I just think they need to update and spruce up a bit.

Room Tip: Bring earplugs and try to get a room that isn't on the busy first floor and faces away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travlingal51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    671
    263
    105
    63
    32
See reviews for
103
796
39
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We decided to take a day trip to the historic area and wanted to stay close by. After some research decided on the Coombs B&B and what a great decision. The house and property were just as described with no surprises. The innkeepers were absolutely delightful. The extras and the breakfast delicious. And we did enjoy the town too! We stayed in the Coombs room and loved it. Roomy, airy with all the natural light you could ask for.Without a doubt will stay there again when able.

Room Tip: Main house is a great place to meet and greet new folks
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 19, 2013

This is our second stay at the Coombs House and we can say this place is tops. We stayed on Valentines Day and had a small romantic wedding with two of our close friends. The area is very small and everyone is very friendly. Should you need a quiet get away this fits the bill. The accomodations are beautiful and the breakfast is fantastic. Give them a try you will not be disappointed. Scott and Tamela went out of their way to make our stay wonderful!

Room Tip: Both houses we stayed in were quiet and beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KyleP295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We booked the Biltmore Room and we could not have been happier. The friendly staff were always going out of their way to make sure that you had a wonderful stay. The whole place was so tastefully decorated, and comfortable. The breakfasts were fantastic. The coolest thing was our room had a guest book journal that had some wonderful recommendations and stories about the previous guests. We are looking forward to our next trip.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flowery Branch, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This was a very neat B&B with lots of unique history. Had a good feel and managers were great. I have not stayed at many B&B's but this seemed to be the best so far. There was a jacuzzi in room but maybe hot water heater was not quite big enough to fill it up hot enough but ...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
1 review
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This was our first visit to the area. The very best thing about our stay at the Coombs house was the innkeepers,Scott and Tamela. Scotts hot entree for breakfast was something we looked forward to daily. We loved the social times and talking with the other guest. I was excited each day to get back from our travels and tell Tamela where we had been.

On the less positive side, the Inn needs some deep cleaning, polishing and updating. It just looks tired. The step in shower in our room was poorly constructed and very small. It needs a complete overhaul and you will definitely run out of hot water. One of the continous gas hot water systems would be great. The noise overhead was to be expected and we liked being on the ground floor of the mansion.
I was surprised by some of the Asia inspired decorating. This did not seem period appropriate

The temperature in the common areas was very comfortable but inside the room at night was more difficult. The first night was extremely hot and we couldn't raise the windows. The other nights were very cold.
One suggestion we have is a open deck exciting from the dining room towards the front of the house. This would be wonderful to have breakfast on in nice weather. Even have the wine and cheese here with someone playing guitar in the warm months.
We did have a wonderful time and look forward to returning and see Scott and Tamela again.

Room Tip: I really liked being in the mansion for the conveinence of access to breakfast, coffee, wine etc. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We went for two nights at Valentine's Day and would definitely return. Very personal and caring service, gorgeous woodwork and furnishings, wonderful breakfast. Bikes (included) are a big plus to tour the historic town. Tamela and Scott were so welcoming and available to help advise us for day trips, dining. The verandas are inviting. Coffee maker in the room is convenient-- even though they serve coffee and breakfast downstairs. The historic building with all its detail is such a break from the usual hotel accommodations. It was perfect for our 25th Valentines together!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stout-Hearted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Apalachicola
0.2 mi away
Gibson Inn
Gibson Inn
#2 of 5 in Apalachicola
371 reviews
0.4 mi away
Water Street Hotel & Marina
Water Street Hotel & Marina
#3 of 5 in Apalachicola
383 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Apalach Inn
Best Western Apalach Inn
#1 of 5 in Apalachicola
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
St George Inn
St George Inn
#1 of 2 in St. George Island
187 reviews
18.2 mi away
Mainstay Suites
Mainstay Suites
#2 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
268 reviews
19.9 mi away
Port Inn
Port Inn
#1 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coombs House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coombs House Inn

Property: Coombs House Inn
Address: 80 6th St, Apalachicola, FL 32320-1750
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Apalachicola
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Apalachicola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coombs House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury boutique Inn near the beach. The Coombs House Inn is a luxurious Florida Bed and Breakfast consisting of three elegant Historic Victorian Mansions located between Pensacola and Tampa on the unspoiled Gulf Coast known as "Florida's Forgotten Coast." For 20 years our visitors have returned to our relaxing, romantic accommodations for a quiet alternative to typical Florida hotels. Less than 2 hours from Panama City Beach and Tallahassee, the historic, picturesque seaside village of Apalachicola is adjacent to the pristine white beaches of St. George Island, and near Cape San Blas, Mexico Beach and WindMark Beach in Port St. Joe. Walk or bike to nearby boutique shops, museums, art galleries, and waterfront cafe's serving fresh local seafood and famous Apalachicola oysters served 28 different ways. Tour our 4-star guest suites furnished with European antiques, original oil paintings and oriental carpets on gleaming hardwood floors. All 23 rooms have private baths (7 with romantic whirlpool massage spas), complementary hi-speed internet, in-room Starbucks coffee and flat screen cable TVs. Several 2 to 3 room suites are available, some with kitchenettes and private verandas, perfect for family vacations, bridal wedding parties, girl's getaways and pets. From complementary gourmet breakfasts to afternoon teas and evening wine tastings, view our complete list of amenities and learn more about our unique area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Coombs House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coombs House Hotel Apalachicola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing