We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Southern coziness and charm”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Coombs House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Coombs House Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Apalachicola B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newport, Rhode Island
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Southern coziness and charm”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Apalachicola and the Coobs House Inn was the highlight of my 8 day Florida work trip. I absolutely loved this inn! The room was adorable with a door to the veranda. Breakfast, tea time, and wine/cheese in the evening were all amazing. I would definitely stay here again if I go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Natasha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,084 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    646
    252
    101
    58
    27
See reviews for
98
756
39
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

I absolutely loved the room we were in (biltmore room). Having the privacy was amazing & loved the great service we got!! Couldn't have stayed at a better place any where. We will defiantly be back in the future. The only thing we didn't like is that some of the restaurants had very rude & disrespectful staff members.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank akoerner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Coombs House Inn was by far the best B & B we have ever visited. It was well preserved and appointed. We would have been delighted to stay in any of the lovely rooms. The inn was within walking distance of the harbor, shopping, art galleries, live theatre and great food. The
service we received was uncomparable to any we've ever received. Estella was fabulous!

Room Tip: Save some time in the evening to spend on the verandas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marilyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suwannee, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Quaint. What else is there to say. The villa was very beautiful. The place is full of antiques. Each room has it's own charm and the ones I toured, I would enjoy any of them.
Breakfast was good, service and the people were all smiling and helpful. The room was very clean

Room Tip: If you want to be a little away from everyone choose the Villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sonja R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

The Coombs House Inn is a nice B & B located in the heart of Apalachicola. We stayed there for a few days since it was so close to St. George Island. The Inn is located within walking distance of downtown and the historic sites. There is a bit of traffic noise since the home is on the main road, but traffic dies down in the evenings.

Upon arrival, the room smelled nice and looked clean, only saw a few cobwebs and dust. Might need to do a deep cleaning soon. Beds/ pillows are a little lumpy, might want to bring your own pillow next time. The rooms share temperature controls so we had one evening where it was very warm, making it difficult to sleep. Thank goodness we had a ceiling fan.

The staff is very friendly and professional. We were greeted with a warm welcome on our arrival from Estella. She was very helpful in suggesting restaurants, things to do, etc. She makes you feel right at home!

I would say the only negative was the breakfast both mornings—very disappointing. The bacon is pre-cooked/ microwaved and both egg dishes were dry and not very good. They do offer Starbuck’s coffee and a variety of teas plus muffins, cereals, etc.

Places to eat and visit—Up the Creek Restaurant (great oysters), Café con Leche (great coffee and pastries), Green Door (cute shop) and of course visit St. George Island. The beach is just beautiful!

We truly enjoyed our stay, and look forward to going back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Princess35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Coombs House Inn is nestled away in historic Old Town Apalach near the river. I have never felt so at home away from home. Talk about service, Estella made us feel like we were visiting grandma's house. Home made french toast for breakfast--delicious. Very pet friendly, even our dog Thai didn't want to leave. Thanks for the escape from the hustle of the city. We can't wait to come back and stay longer.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamesbydesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

This was my first time in Apalachicola, Fl. My husband and I stayed 3 nights in the Coombs master suite. The room was beauitiful and very comfortable. The staff was very helpful with suggesting things to do and making reservations. Each morning the prepared breakfast was delightful, as well as, afternoon cookies, and wine in the evening. We would definetely recommend Coombs Inn and come to stay again. We enjoyed a sunset cruise into Apalachicola Bay from the Marine Museum. It was only $20/ person and very worth while.

Room Tip: Breakfast, cookies, and wine are served in the main house. If you don't want to walk a 1/2 bloc...
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank tsanch22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Apalachicola
0.2 mi away
Gibson Inn
Gibson Inn
#2 of 5 in Apalachicola
347 reviews
0.4 mi away
Water Street Hotel & Marina
Water Street Hotel & Marina
#3 of 5 in Apalachicola
371 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Apalach Inn
BEST WESTERN Apalach Inn
#1 of 5 in Apalachicola
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
St George Inn
St George Inn
#2 of 2 in St. George Island
178 reviews
19.9 mi away
Port Inn
Port Inn
#1 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
258 reviews
18.2 mi away
Mainstay Suites
Mainstay Suites
#2 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coombs House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coombs House Inn

Property: Coombs House Inn
Address: 80 6th St, Apalachicola, FL 32320-1750
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Apalachicola
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Apalachicola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coombs House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury boutique Inn near the beach. The Coombs House Inn is a luxurious Florida Bed and Breakfast consisting of three elegant Historic Victorian Mansions located between Pensacola and Tampa on the unspoiled Gulf Coast known as "Florida's Forgotten Coast." For 20 years our visitors have returned to our relaxing, romantic accommodations for a quiet alternative to typical Florida hotels. Less than 2 hours from Panama City Beach and Tallahassee, the historic, picturesque seaside village of Apalachicola is adjacent to the pristine white beaches of St. George Island, and near Cape San Blas, Mexico Beach and WindMark Beach in Port St. Joe. Walk or bike to nearby boutique shops, museums, art galleries, and waterfront cafe's serving fresh local seafood and famous Apalachicola oysters served 28 different ways. Tour our 4-star guest suites furnished with European antiques, original oil paintings and oriental carpets on gleaming hardwood floors. All 23 rooms have private baths (7 with romantic whirlpool massage spas), complementary hi-speed internet, in-room Starbucks coffee and flat screen cable TVs. Several 2 to 3 room suites are available, some with kitchenettes and private verandas, perfect for family vacations, bridal wedding parties, girl's getaways and pets. From complementary gourmet breakfasts to afternoon teas and evening wine tastings, view our complete list of amenities and learn more about our unique area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Coombs House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coombs House Hotel Apalachicola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing