We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a hidden gem!”
Review of Coombs House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Coombs House Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Apalachicola B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“What a hidden gem!”
Reviewed June 1, 2012

We were passing through Apalachicola and decided to stay at the Coombs House based on other trip advisor reviews. We were a little iffy as we had never stayed in a B&B but what a great place to stay. It was truly a beautiful place and the staff was top notch. We stayed in the Heron room #7 which was cozy.This was our first and definitely not our last visit to the Coombs House.

I highly recommend this place based on location, service and charm.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jazzykin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    671
    263
    104
    63
    32
See reviews for
103
795
39
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Annandale, NJ
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

My husband and I stayed traveled to Apalachicola over Memorial Day weekend. The Inn is beautiful - very well kept and nicely decorated inside. We stayed in the Heron room on the second floor. It was a big room, very clean, very comfortable bed, decent size shower stall. The breakfasts are fantastic and the staff is very attentive. The use of beach towels towels, beach chairs, and beach umbrellas is a great perk. St George Island is a short 15 minute away and is well worth visiting. The inn is withing walking distance to all the good restaurants -- Owl Cafe and Boss' Oysters are not to be missed! I would absolutely stay here again when traveling to this area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PatriciaT917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Beautiful hotel with three properties; we stayed in above the carriage house in the Hemmingway suite and so had lots of privacy. Arrived in time for afternoon wine and cheese reception and had a delightful time visiting with other guests. Charming town. B and B is two blocks from town center with shops and restaurants. Staff was friendly and professional. Definitely recommend this place. Just a short drive away from St. George Island and some great kayaking in St. Joseph Bay. Place was clean and everything worked---lights, air conditioning, refrigerator, jacuzzi tub.

Room Tip: Hemmingway room is by itself above the carriage house. Villa rooms are in a house away from main pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rhoda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012

My sister and I spent one night at the Coombs House and that was one too many! We stayed in the Dupont Room, which has no control over temperature of the room. My sister was freezing, they came in and closed the kitchen vent and half of the bedroom (the other half was broken) and I ended up stuffing paper towels into the broken half. The room had alot of light that came from street lights and alot of traffic noise. The refrigerator freezer area was in dire need of defrosting and you couldn't fit anything in it if you tried. The ice trays were empty. The bathroom door wouldn't shut completely and the toliet seat was loose. There was a live bug in the bathtub! The windows had blinds that were not wide enough and you could see into the bathroom from the outside. The veranda had a nice view of the parking lot. Can't comment on breakfast cause we didn't eat there, we couldn't wait to get out of there. Not sure how they think this is worth $173.00 a night, but your crazy if you spend that to stay there!

Room Tip: Don't stay there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank genealogytraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Coombs House Inn, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Our historic mansions are centrally air conditioned, we keep the temperature set at a comfortable 74 degrees. Each room has ceiling fans and operable windows to accommodate individual needs. Most guests like the Dupont's sunny windows. Maintenance is ongoing, we have addressed these issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navarre, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 22, 2012

We have now stayed at the Coombs House Inn twice and will be back as often as we can. Walk through the front door of this beautiful old house and you have stepped back through time into a Victorian wonderland. The rooms are charming, well appointed, and comfortable. The service is prompt and so knowledgeable- you have a question, they have the answer. Unlike many other Bed and Breakfast places we have stayed the breakfast is substantial and keeps you going till lunch time. Dinning and sightseeing are all within walking distance of the inn. We have nothing but fond memories of our visits to Apalachicola!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
Reviewed May 22, 2012

I wanted to travel along the coast with my dog and doing so is not an easy chore when it comes to overnights. Fortunately, I found the Coombs House. What an amazing stay!! The staff was great and the room, wow! The bed was more comfortable than mine at home! The room was incredibly clean! In the morning, I expected just a basic breakfast, but to my surprise (even with a gluten intolerance), that was the best breakfast I'd had in a long time! The coffee was superb, and, I'm very picky about my coffee. Everyone was super nice to my "furry child", "Whiskers", and even told us to come back. I am so thankful they welcomed my pet and let her stay in the room with me, otherwise I would not have been able to enjoy the coast as I much as I would have liked. I had forgotten how hospitable Floridians are, especially in that area. My only complaint was that my visit was too short. I will definitely stay again, next time at least for two nights.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, choose a room that is not located right on Highway 98.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treasure Island, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Charming place to stay close to everything in Apalachicola. Friendly staff. Free bikes. Close to many great restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oahudrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Apalachicola
0.2 mi away
Gibson Inn
Gibson Inn
#2 of 5 in Apalachicola
370 reviews
0.4 mi away
Water Street Hotel & Marina
Water Street Hotel & Marina
#3 of 5 in Apalachicola
383 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Apalach Inn
Best Western Apalach Inn
#1 of 5 in Apalachicola
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
St George Inn
St George Inn
#1 of 2 in St. George Island
187 reviews
18.2 mi away
Mainstay Suites
Mainstay Suites
#2 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
266 reviews
19.9 mi away
Port Inn
Port Inn
#1 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coombs House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coombs House Inn

Property: Coombs House Inn
Address: 80 6th St, Apalachicola, FL 32320-1750
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Apalachicola
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Apalachicola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coombs House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury boutique Inn near the beach. The Coombs House Inn is a luxurious Florida Bed and Breakfast consisting of three elegant Historic Victorian Mansions located between Pensacola and Tampa on the unspoiled Gulf Coast known as "Florida's Forgotten Coast." For 20 years our visitors have returned to our relaxing, romantic accommodations for a quiet alternative to typical Florida hotels. Less than 2 hours from Panama City Beach and Tallahassee, the historic, picturesque seaside village of Apalachicola is adjacent to the pristine white beaches of St. George Island, and near Cape San Blas, Mexico Beach and WindMark Beach in Port St. Joe. Walk or bike to nearby boutique shops, museums, art galleries, and waterfront cafe's serving fresh local seafood and famous Apalachicola oysters served 28 different ways. Tour our 4-star guest suites furnished with European antiques, original oil paintings and oriental carpets on gleaming hardwood floors. All 23 rooms have private baths (7 with romantic whirlpool massage spas), complementary hi-speed internet, in-room Starbucks coffee and flat screen cable TVs. Several 2 to 3 room suites are available, some with kitchenettes and private verandas, perfect for family vacations, bridal wedding parties, girl's getaways and pets. From complementary gourmet breakfasts to afternoon teas and evening wine tastings, view our complete list of amenities and learn more about our unique area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Coombs House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coombs House Hotel Apalachicola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing