We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return to Apalachicola”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Coombs House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Coombs House Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Apalachicola B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Marianna, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Return to Apalachicola”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2012

We celebrated our anniversary several years ago at another B&B in Apalachicola and this far surpassed it! The town has grown and there is more shopping and eateries. I loved this location (convient walk to amenities and much quieter), the amenties and cleanliness. Staff was ever so friendly and the decor is excellent for the period of the home!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,085 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    647
    252
    101
    58
    27
See reviews for
98
757
39
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Falmouth, Maine, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2012

Great old home with easy access to everything. Yellow bikes were fun and free. Well appointed, but needs maintenance in the broken tile and grout department and seamstress area. As usual with older homes, access to outlets involved a bit of crawling around, moving furniture. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfort, Illinois
Level Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

A great place fo a weakend get away. They supplied chairs for the beach and an umbrella if we needed it. Very comfortible. I realy enjoyed my morning walks to the river and afternoon
checking out the shops. Bikes were also provided. The owner was very informative and nice.
Felt like home

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tony s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe GA
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

This was a wonderful B & B experience. The house is lovely, filled with antiques and beautifully decorated. We loved the small town with everything within walking distance. It goes without saying that Apalachicola has the absolute best oysters in the world and we indulged every day. The Coombs House staff were friendly, cheerful and accommodating. Breakfast was delicious and the afternoon cookies were an outstanding delight. We felt very pampered during our stay and look forward to the next time.

Room Tip: Choose rooms that are on the side of the house away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
130 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

There are a lot of nice B & Bs here and we looked at the reviews and choose Coombs. it is better than expected. charming, beautiful, and great staff. We got in and used their free bikes to ride to the water and see the town. They had free wine from six to seven and then we went to dinner at the Owl Cafe. There is free hot breakfastt tomorrow. The rooms had wood floors, antique furniture and very well maintained. We will stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Astoria room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Voyles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

There are many options at the Coombs House Inn, from high ceiling elegant bedrooms in the main house, to wonderful suites in the outer buildings, they all share a great character and are very nicely appointed without being stuffy or over the top. Breakfast is served in the main house dining room and is a full home cooked meal. My wife and i loved our stay there and will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Though the inside rooms are grand, we enjoyed the additional space and privacy of the smaller buildi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael2687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

My family loved our visit at the Coombs House Inn! Everyone was very gracious and friendly. The breakfast was great, and the inn was decorated beautifully. The only problem we had was that on the last night of our stay, the air conditioning appeared to have stopped working. We called the number on the phone several times and noone answered. Even with the fan running, it was very warm, making it difficult to sleep. We did, however, enjoy our stay, and wish we were still there!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peacock817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Apalachicola
0.2 mi away
Gibson Inn
Gibson Inn
#2 of 5 in Apalachicola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.4 mi away
Water Street Hotel & Marina
Water Street Hotel & Marina
#3 of 5 in Apalachicola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Apalach Inn
BEST WESTERN Apalach Inn
#1 of 5 in Apalachicola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
St George Inn
St George Inn
#2 of 2 in St. George Island
3.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
19.9 mi away
Port Inn
Port Inn
#1 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
18.2 mi away
Mainstay Suites
Mainstay Suites
#2 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coombs House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coombs House Inn

Property: Coombs House Inn
Address: 80 6th St, Apalachicola, FL 32320-1750
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Apalachicola
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Apalachicola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coombs House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury boutique Inn near the beach. The Coombs House Inn is a luxurious Florida Bed and Breakfast consisting of three elegant Historic Victorian Mansions located between Pensacola and Tampa on the unspoiled Gulf Coast known as "Florida's Forgotten Coast." For 20 years our visitors have returned to our relaxing, romantic accommodations for a quiet alternative to typical Florida hotels. Less than 2 hours from Panama City Beach and Tallahassee, the historic, picturesque seaside village of Apalachicola is adjacent to the pristine white beaches of St. George Island, and near Cape San Blas, Mexico Beach and WindMark Beach in Port St. Joe. Walk or bike to nearby boutique shops, museums, art galleries, and waterfront cafe's serving fresh local seafood and famous Apalachicola oysters served 28 different ways. Tour our 4-star guest suites furnished with European antiques, original oil paintings and oriental carpets on gleaming hardwood floors. All 23 rooms have private baths (7 with romantic whirlpool massage spas), complementary hi-speed internet, in-room Starbucks coffee and flat screen cable TVs. Several 2 to 3 room suites are available, some with kitchenettes and private verandas, perfect for family vacations, bridal wedding parties, girl's getaways and pets. From complementary gourmet breakfasts to afternoon teas and evening wine tastings, view our complete list of amenities and learn more about our unique area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Coombs House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coombs House Hotel Apalachicola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing