We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Florida State Parks !!!!!”

John Gorrie State Museum
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A one room museum.
Indian Harbour Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
360 reviews
100 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Florida State Parks !!!!!”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Small but just what we wanted. Very informative. I mean for $2, how can you go wrong !! The Ranger was very nice with lots of local knowledge.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    40
    12
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Soddy Daisy, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Been there, did that, bought the t-shirt”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We went to this attraction for one reason: to pay respect to the person that made air conditioning a reality. Yes, it is small and won't take more than 30 minutes to go through. But aside from telling the origin of manufactured ice (which is a God-send), it also tells about the hardships endured by early manufacturers of the area. Keep in mind that what we consider to be "tropical paradise" used to be a petri dish of tropical diseases. The park and memorial set up to Dr. Gorrie is very lovely and peaceful as well.
And, yes, I bought the t-shirt!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“GOOSEBUMPS!”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

This museum has more than information about Dr. John Gorrie and it is very interesting and worthwhile to visit. We would definitely like it if this museum were able to acquire one of the original refrigeration items invented by Dr. Gorrie from the Smithsonian. The monument to Dr. Gorrie and the monument presented by the Masons is quite a tribute. This is a worthwhile stop, especially for $2. each!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank skylady158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort walton Beach, FL
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Worth about a ten minute stop”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

There's not much there but we enjoyed seeing the museum. It's very small and not worth more than a few minutes but for $2 a person, we felt like it was a worthwhile stop.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Disneyprofmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Interesting history of the area”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I never knew the history of manufactured ice, quite interesting to learn of the need it filled. Now I understand when they say AC had ruined the beaches.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mr B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John Gorrie State Museum also viewed

Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
 
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to John Gorrie State Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing