We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Beautiful island resort !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunrise Garden Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sunrise Garden Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Anna Maria
Certificate of Excellence
Bloomington, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful island resort !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

This was the most wonderful place to stay! ! It is gorgeous & you feel so secluded anywhere on the property. There is a beautiful pool - the largest on the island. Cookout/grill/picnic area. Each room/bungalow has it's own private patio w/ table & chairs as well. Only a block or two from the beach on one side & a few blocks to the beach on the other side. Gorgeous area all around the resort. You can walk to anywhere you might need or want to go on that end of the island. They have the most gracious staff that can help w/ any needs or questions. Loved our time @ Sunrise Garden & fully intend to go back. Have been telling all our friends about this hidden treasure!

Room Tip: Have all sorts & sizes of rooms to suit your needs !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KSWhite57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    629
    121
    15
    9
    1
See reviews for
256
337
18
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lakeland, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

My girlfriend and I enjoyed our one night stay there in April of this past year.. Friendly staff and a great private room to make you feel like you were actually part of the island.. I would highly recommend this to anyone who is looking for a pleasant stay on AMI.. The pool was also a nice size and the surrounding trees made the view spectacular..

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

I have stayed at Sunrise a few times now and am never disappointed. From the staff to the location and amenities, all are top notch. The pool area and the rooms are always clean. My family and I love staying here any time we need a some beach time! Sunrise is a great place to unwind and relax.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachTime741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

I stayed here early June with 2 adults and 2 children in unit 14.

Pros: Reservations were smooth and all the staff are super friendly and helpful. I loved Anna Maria island, walking distance to many places and honestly the beach was much nicer at the end of Spring street than Holmes or Bradenton so a great location. Loved eating at the Sandbar. It seemed to be the more quiet end of the island and loved it. Appreciated the clean pool and toys to share. Was always quiet and with other respectful guests. Barbeques and tables to share. I felt it was safe and a family environment location.

Cons: Our unit didn't work well for us. The unit had mostly carpet instead of tile (I thought it would be tile after looking at the website pics, but not all the units do). The carpet was gross and old, our feet turned black after walking on it for a few minutes. The sofa bed was older and not comfortable even for my 4 year old. Each night I had him fall asleep in our bed and then I transferred him to sleep on the floor with a few towels or try to put him back into the sofa. I felt horrible guilty, but not many other options at that point. The other issue is that there is a porch light right outside the living room window so it is very hard to sleep because you can't block out the light, the mini blinds don't block well. It looks like the sun is rising all night long. Not an issue in the bedroom, but is in the living room/sofa area.

I would definitely visit again if it were just the 2 of us or if there was another unit without the light issue. I did mention the light and issues with sleep for our kiddos, hoping they could turn off the light, but they couldn't.

Jenn

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JenniferFolsom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLand, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

First off, our unit, #3, was very clean and the staff was friendly. Some of the amenities such as laundry, computer, and wifi are not found in other hotels or inns. However, our unit was advertised as the smallest unit. Size wise it was ok, but height wise it was not good. My wife hit her head 6 times on the very low roof line. The photos on line also show a full kitchen which turned out to be a coffee pot, microwave, and small refrigerator tucked under the eaves which became a headbanger when used. The bathroom without a/c also had low headroom. We are 5'8 and 6' and saw our chins in the mirror. The outside porch also needed a cleaning. I agree with the reviewer that upgrades are needed to this property, and not the kind a gardener can do.
Our 2 night stay ended up to be a disappointing one night stay. While other units may be nicer and larger, and I'm sure they are, this unit should be advertised with a height restriction, 5 feet and under.

Room Tip: Don't get #3
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelered222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jsromine, Manager at Sunrise Garden Resort, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
We appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us. Unfortunately we were unaware that you were disappointed with your room while you were here on property. If we had known we would have done everything in our power to come up with a solution, possibly moving you to another room. We are always available to our guests via our on site office or telephone and are happy to help in any way at all times. When we advertise our units and explain them to guests we do everything we can to make sure our guests know what they are getting. In the description sent via confirmation email to guests who have reserved this unit, it describes the room as "The Crows Nest Studio #3 is our smallest unit, located on the 2nd floor with an A frame ceiling. In this open floor plan studio you will find a queen size bed, standard sofa (not a sleeper sofa), mini refrigerator, toaster, microwave and coffee pot as well as an outdoor patio with table and two chairs. The Crows Nest is perfect for one to two guests". Regarding the photo, I apologize for any confusion this may have caused. In no way would we ever try to mislead someone into thinking a room had a kitchen when it does not. In the 4 years of having our website this is the first time we have heard someone stating they felt misled as we do everything possible to try to make sure this would never happen. We do have many guests who love the Crows Nest so much they will not come unless that specific unit is available. I have personally asked one of them before why this is so and she stated they love the charm along with it being one of the lowest priced units in Anna Maria. We do hope you give Sunrise Garden another try in the future, poolside and garden units have standard height ceilings which would suit you well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

I have stayed at this Resort 4 times now. It is always clean and well kept. The pool is very nice with the trees and plants around, you get the feeling of being in a very secure, secluded place. But you are actually within walking distance of many restaurants and attractions on the island.
Each unit has it's own secluded patio right outside of the front door, and even Gas Grills to cook on. Pretty much has it all!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PFN-Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

Booked last minute and stayed in room #6. Room was very clean and roomy for the price. Staff was super friendly and most helpful. Resort located within walking distance to pier, restaurants and shopping. Great Experience

Room Tip: #6 Was located rather close to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Billie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anna Maria
3.6 mi away
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
#2 of 15 in Holmes Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
1.5 mi away
An Island Getaway at Palm Tree Villas
4.5 mi away
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
#3 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Anna Maria Island Dream Inn
Anna Maria Island Dream Inn
#11 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.8 mi away
Haleys Motel and Resort
Haleys Motel and Resort
#5 of 15 in Holmes Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
5.0 mi away
BridgeWalk a Landmark Resort
BridgeWalk a Landmark Resort
#1 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Garden Resort

Property: Sunrise Garden Resort
Address: 512 Spring St, Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island, FL 34216
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Anna Maria Island > Anna Maria
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Anna Maria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrise Garden Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Sunrise Garden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Garden Hotel Anna Maria
Sunrise Garden Resort Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing