We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Like Family Florida Vacation from the 70's” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunrise Garden Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sunrise Garden Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Anna Maria
Certificate of Excellence
Eastern Mountains
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not Like Family Florida Vacation from the 70's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

My wife and I stayed here in mid May. We loved it. It blew away my images/memories of Florida on family vacations driving to the big attractions. It was our first trip to Anna Maria Island and we found ourselves making plans to return. The Sunrise Garden is in a good location; an easy walk to the pier or the beach. It's also close to the market and dining. The Sunrise Garden is very walkable. Our visit was during off season, but I could imagine walkability being a big factor in peak season when driving might be a little congested. Anna Maria is a lush and relaxing place with a great beach. It might be little sleepy for those looking to party if that's what you're in to. I wouldn't necessarily consider it a foodies' destination either. We ate fine, but I'm not going to be raving to my friends that they need to visit for the dining.

The Sunrise Garden was clean, comfortable, quiet, and friendly.

Room Tip: We stayed in apartment #6. I've seen some people complain that it's not really a pool side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cranky_Old_Man_2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    583
    111
    14
    8
    1
See reviews for
237
308
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

No doubt an asset to the island that has so many by the week rentals. Everything is here or within walking distance. I was able to do laundry, cook all if of our meals with locally purchased food (red snapper is a must). And out bed was more comfortable than at home. We will be back time and tell again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stvsgrl23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Very clean pool and rooms with everything you could need!
Great location to gulf and bay side!
Friendly staff and very helpful to first time visits!

I would recommend them to anyone looking for a get away or a family vacation! Defiantly will return!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

We stayed here in April for 7 nights in Apt 7.

We love Anna Maria Island and like to stay at the north end as it has the pier and beautiful beaches nearby and some very good restaurants. There is also the Trolley service to take you further afield if you need to.

The Sunrise Garden Resort is in a great location which is why we chose it for our stay this time. Our apartment had one bedroom, a kitchen, living area and bathroom. The living area also had a sofa bed. Overall we were happy with our stay there and we absolutely loved the fact that you could walk to the beach in less than a minute and the Ice Cream Shop 'Two Scoops'.

In terms of the apartment and its facilities they were fine. We would have preferred a two bedroom apartment but this wasn't available for our stay as the sofa bed was adequate but was a pain to put away for the day to make enough room for us all. As previous reviewers have said the air conditioning and fridge do make quite a noise so if you are a light sleeper then maybe you would suffer. In this apartment there are also no curtains only blinds which again means light is let in early in the morning.

The resort doesn't offer a maid service which if I'm honest is the one thing that I would have preferred to have and would pay a little extra for. (Perhaps this is an extra service the owners could think of offering?) I like the fact on holiday rooms are cleaned and sheets changed regularly and here you are left to do this yourself - though there are plenty of fresh towels and clean bed linen for you to use. I think the apartments suffer from this in a way as they look a little tired and could do with a little TLC in some areas.

The patio area outside the apartment is lovely. Grounds are very well kept and pool area great - though water was a little cold when we were there despite it saying pool was heated.

Overall we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SnoopyBella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

What a great spot, close to the beach, walking distance to some fab restaurants and the pool area is awesome. It feels so tropical, great sitting area with beautiful landscaping. The room was very private which is nice when you are trying to have a beach getaway. It was very well maintained with all of the basic amenities you need in the kitchenette. Would totally recommend staying here! Thanks to all the staff at Sunrise for such a great visit!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emily c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

We fell in love with Anna Maria Island because of the beaches, laid back feeling and clean city. Now we have a new reason to LOVE Anna Maria island. The Sunrise Garden Resort is one block from the pier, restaurants and mains street but the quiet street it is located on helped us unwind and relax. We went to 5 different beach areas within a short distance. Clean grounds, pool, and rooms. We will be back!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauramiller18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We just had another terrific time at the Sunrise Garden Resort! We just spent Easter weekend there and again the service was excellent as was the value. With close proximity to the center if Anna Maria Island this hotel has a beautiful pool, is pet friendly and just blocks from the Anna Maria pier and the great beaches off the west side of the island as well. This was probably our 6th or 7th stay at SGR and it never disappoints! We always come back!!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anna Maria
3.6 mi away
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
#2 of 15 in Holmes Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 841 reviews
1.5 mi away
An Island Getaway at Palm Tree Villas
4.5 mi away
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
#3 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Tradewinds Beach Resort
Tradewinds Beach Resort
#4 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 352 reviews
0.8 mi away
Haleys Motel and Resort
Haleys Motel and Resort
#5 of 15 in Holmes Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 263 reviews
5.0 mi away
BridgeWalk a Landmark Resort
BridgeWalk a Landmark Resort
#2 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Garden Resort

Property: Sunrise Garden Resort
Address: 512 Spring St, Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island, FL 34216
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Anna Maria Island > Anna Maria
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Anna Maria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrise Garden Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Sunrise Garden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Garden Hotel Anna Maria
Sunrise Garden Resort Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing