We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT VACATION!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunrise Garden Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Anna Maria
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“GREAT VACATION!!!”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

It was so perfect I still can't believe it! Think about the perfect vacation with your family. We had it! The resort was clean and comfortable, close to nice restaurants, and the Pier. Nice pool and very very very quiet. If you are looking for a party vacation I wouldn't suggest it but if you want to relax and be merry with your family is the PERFECT spot.

I was worried about a couple of grills right by my bedroom on the property but at night is so quiet you don't even hear a fly flying :)

Cathryn was so helpful, if you needed anything at any time you just left a VM and she would call you back or text you in a heartbeat. Guest service 10! Thank you for being part of my memories forEVER!

Room Tip: I would choose a high floor just because I prefer not to have kids walking on top of my head but ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lawifey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    671
    126
    18
    9
    2
See reviews for
276
359
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Quitman, ga
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Three sisters recently returned from Anna Maria Island and we stayed 3 nights at the Sunrise Garden Resort...our room was great, loved all the plants around, and loved the pool....also we were close to several good restaurants in walking distance as well as lots of shopping....we three Georgia sisters would recommend Sunrise Gardens to anyone wanting a wonderful vacation....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Betty E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

My family made our second trip down to Anna Maria Island this summer. We drove 10 hours (one way) with two small children because we LOVE this place! Sunrise Garden Resort has charm, convenience, affordable rates, comfortable accommodations and is a perfect place for families with small children! We spent most of our time poolside! My son had so much fun swimming in the pool, it is a memory that will last a lifetime! :) We loved that our room was so close to the pool as well as the beach, restaurants, and shops. Sunrise Garden Resort staff go above and beyond to make sure their guests have an enjoyable stay! This place has become our favorite get-away spot! We are already looking forward to our next time at this amazing place!

Room Tip: All the rooms are in a good location! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

My family and I recently spent 4 days in AMI at the Sunrise Garden Resort. We were not familiar with the area but saw the great reviews on TripAdvisor and thought it must be good. When we arrived we were a little concerned because of the look of the place but the young lady who checked us in was very pleasant and gave us an overview of the island and recommendations for restaurants, etc. When we arrived at our room, we were very disappointed. We booked a room for a family of 4 but what we got was a one bedroom unit with a pull-out sleeper sofa...the springs on which you could actually see when you folded out the bed...outrageously uncomfortable. There was sand everywhere...on the floor, on the couch...and the room was very dusty. The main burner on the stove did not work and there were no oven mits available to pull trays from the oven. Also, be aware that this is not a "hotel". This is a "do-it-yourself" resort, which means you make your own beds, wash your own dishes, etc. which is actually fine with me but others may be disappointed by this. The bathroom area was nice with a large shower area but the rest of the rooms (2) were very old and tired. In fact, my daughter said the couch looked like something from "The Golden Girls" show and I had to agree...green and pink jungle scene with lots of birds. The location, although not on the beach, was actually quite good...just down the street from a nice beach area with a pier and nice restaurants. I also enjoyed listening to the bells from the church on the street behind us. All-in-all we enjoyed our time in AMI but we will definitely not be returning to the Sunrise Garden Resort.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room #7...would not recommend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TCHarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jsromine, Owner at Sunrise Garden Resort, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for choosing Sunrise Garden Resort during your recent trip to Anna Maria. I am sorry to hear our property was not what you had hoped for. We do our best to describe our rooms exactly as they are on our website and to each telephone and email inquiry we receive. We like to think that the reason we normally have happy guests is because we strive to make it where our guests have no surprise! It appears you booked on Expedia where it describes that the rooms are one bedroom with a sleeper sofa in the living room along with showing pictures of each room. We do have one, 2-bedroom unit on property, it is available for rent directly through us. Our staff is always available either in-person or by phone to assist our guests in any way. Our goal is to always make our guests stay as comfortable as possible. If we had know of the issue in #7, we would had done all we could to provide a more comfortable mattress to you for your guests using the sleeper sofa. As a person who has slept on many sleeper sofas in the past, I know that it can be tough to find a comfortable one. Housekeepers and maintenance are on property daily and we truly would have been happy to come in and repair the burner and dust your room and re-mop the floors. We are a small, local owned and operated business and we are here to help always, because we want every guest to leave wanting to come back. There is nothing we can not fix or make better, and we would have done everything we could to make your stay all you hoped for if only we knew while you were here of the issues you had. We do hope you give us another try in the future, possibly in our two bedroom unit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed only one night and really enjoyed our time. The people there were very welcoming and I would highly recommend this location. The best restaurant in the islands in a short walk away, and both sides of the island are a short bike ride away.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UniversalOrlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Cove Springs, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

I suggest this place to EVERYONE who is looking for a Great place to stay with reasonable prices. As i said I have stayed here the past 2 summers my family LOVES this resort. Has a GREAT pool, patio, grill for BQQ, and the owners are very nice people and helpful around the island. Have very clean rooms. It is located near the beach, so we brought our bicycles to ride around and to the beach. If you cant bring bikes there is a place to rent bikes. Go get a newspaper while you are there so you will know when you can go on the sandbars. Sunrise Gardens offers FREE wifi for the guests, you can find the password in the paper they give you when you sign in. ( It was great to have it since my daughter uses the wifi for her Ipod, and keeps her busy.) Hope this is helpful for you, and decide to make a stay a Sunrise Gardens!

Room Tip: The Rooms without a room on top of it is bigger than the Two story rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexanderia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

5th or 6th time staying here. Second time with dogs. Once again the rooms were spotless. Bedding was clean. Bathroom was clean. Toilet stopped working one day we were there but they quickly called maintance and it was fixed in 20 minutes. Even though it rained 85% of our vacation we still had a good time thanks to being able to cook and watch movies on the flat screen tv. The kitchen is stocked with every pot/pan/dish/soap/silverware/etc etc. The warm pool was nice to dip into during the couple of hours when it stopped raining. The girl at the front desk was really nice and got us extra towels and toilet paper when we asked her. We were so happy we got to bring our dogs and were happy to pay the pet fee in order to do so. This keeps the dogs from having anxiety at a kennel and saves the cost of a boarding fee. Once again this is my favorite and only place I will stay on Anna Maria Island. Keep up the great work guys! (Saw yall on house hunters the other night too! :) )

Room Tip: All the rooms are great here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Whitney R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anna Maria
3.5 mi away
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
#2 of 16 in Holmes Beach
957 reviews
1.5 mi away
An Island Getaway at Palm Tree Villas
4.5 mi away
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
#3 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Anna Maria Island Dream Inn
Anna Maria Island Dream Inn
#12 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
162 reviews
0.8 mi away
Haleys Motel and Resort
Haleys Motel and Resort
#6 of 16 in Holmes Beach
286 reviews
5.0 mi away
BridgeWalk a Landmark Resort
BridgeWalk a Landmark Resort
#2 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Garden Resort

Property: Sunrise Garden Resort
Address: 512 Spring St, Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island, FL 34216
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Anna Maria Island > Anna Maria
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Anna Maria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrise Garden Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Sunrise Garden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Garden Hotel Anna Maria
Sunrise Garden Resort Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing