We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVED, LOVED, LOVED it here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunrise Garden Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sunrise Garden Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Anna Maria
Certificate of Excellence
Welcome, Maryland
Level Contributor
156 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“LOVED, LOVED, LOVED it here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Sunrise Garden in November, 2012. We LOVED it here so much! We only had one night and hated to leave. We are already planning our next trip and have shared this place with friends and family. It is PERFECT in every way. We spent 2 weeks in Florida traveling the coast and on a short cruise, this was our favorite place. Anna Maria is quiet and perfectly safe to walk the streets in the evening, several great restaurants. Spence is so helpful with any questions you may have, and great to chat with. The resort is like home away from home. Our bed was so comfortable, has a nice living area with a tv, and the kitchen has everything you could possibly need. When we were sitting in our patio area we felt like we were in the Garden of Eden. Beautiful landscaping and private, so relaxing. The pool area is just so beautiful, you will want to spend your whole day there lying on a chaise. WISH we could have stayed longer. This place is a GEM!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LorrifromWelcome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    583
    111
    14
    8
    1
See reviews for
237
308
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

From the time I first called and talked to Spence about my husband and I staying a week at his resort, I knew we were going to have a great place to stay. He is a great and caring guy. Not only is Anna Maria Island amazing, but Sunrise Garden Resort is so quiet and peaceful. The pool was heated and was very clean with beautiful plants and palm trees surrounding it. The room was great with a nice kitchen, bath, living room and bedroom. Loved that we could cook as little or as much as we wanted on our trip. The location was fantastic and is within short walking distances to The City Pier, shops, places to eat, the beach and to several of the trolley stops if you want to go a little further exploring. Loved the free trolley and the $1.25 trolley to Longboat Key, to downtown Sarasota and to Siesta Beach.

It was unfortunate that I came down with strep throat while we were there and had to go to the urgent care. We were going to have to take 2 different trolley rides or ride our rented bikes to get to the urgent care and Spence suggested us taking his truck instead. That showed us that he trusted us and that he also wanted the best for us. Next year we will bring our children with us and show them what a great place Anna Maria Island and Sunrise Garden Resort is.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer555-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dronninglund, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This place is really good for R&R. Spence, the owner, is a nice guy, so welcoming and eager to make sure you have the best stay possible.

The units are well equipped and decor is fine (exept for the couch that litteraly hurts your eyes, but that soon becomes part of the charm!). Our unit had a brand new matress wich was very comfortable.
The garden is cozy with little pathways, lots of plants and a bbq area, and the heated pool is really nice.

Be aware that this is the quiet end of the island, NOT much happening here! This is exacly why we came, though, so that suited us just fine. Off season the whole island is very quiet anyway.

The drawback for us was a very unstable wifi, and we usually use the internet a lot. Also, the pump for the pool makes a constant noise. You get used to it, but as the pool guy turned it off for a few minutes we realized how quiet it would've been without it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsGram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Spence went out of his way to squeeze us into an arrangement (thanks Spence!) since we had turned up without a reservation - and we were not disappointed. The apartments are well-equipped and the place is kept clean and tidy. Rooms are quiet, everything works just fine and there is a nice reclusive quality to the site - the pool area in particular is a gem, offering a chance to watch the stars at night while relaxing in warm water - not to be missed. Location is easy walking distance to restaurants, shops, bars and piers - this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Novindcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Very cute, private rooms, each secluded within it's own alcove of greenery. Lovely. The ocean and bay are within walking distance. The rooms are spacious and delightful. Spence is a very nice manager and he was eager to accommodate our needs. We didn't have a chance to try the heated pool, but it looked very inviting, with beautiful landscaping surrounding it. I don't think you are going to do better for the price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I came across this place last year when I had to find a place to rest after a wedding. Even though I only stayed the night, I was so impressed with how incredibly accommodating Spence was, I knew I would be back. I came back this October & was greeted like an old friend. There had been remodeling and new landscaping since my last stay, which made the place even more charming. It does not feel like a hotel. More like staying in a good friend's guest house. I've stayed in 3 completely different rooms and enjoyed them all. I had such a nice time in October that I came back a month later and stayed the week of Thanksgiving. The owner is very friendly and really is true to his word when it comes to "if you need something just ask". You have your privacy, a beautiful sunrise/sunset...pretty much anything you'd need is in walking distance. The quality and price can't be beat. Truly my favorite place that I have ever stayed anywhere. My only complaint is that I had to leave. I can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank OrangeEyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I would like give more stars for this place. The owners are very professionals, very friendly, the place is very organized and clean. The location is wonderful and the price is very fair. Just one thing made I and my husband had insomnia and back pain in the morning: THE MATTRESS. Ohhh very poor quality. I always said you do not need a fancy hotel, but if it has a good mattress and can provide for you a good night of sleep you feel like in home. I can't wait to go home.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tgembly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jsromine, Owner at Sunrise Garden Resort, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
It is always great to hear that a guest appreciated the cleanliness of the rooms and the customer service we offer at the Sunrise Garden. We will always go out of our way to make sure a guest is pleased with their stay with us. And because of this, it is painful to hear that this guest did not have a comfortable stay with us and, for that, I am truly sorry. I only wish that this particular guest had mentioned this issue with me after the two or three times I asked her how her stay was going as this would have given me the opportunity to make it right.
When my wife and I took over the Sunrise Garden in 2011, we were faced with the task of trying to figure out the quality of each mattress. Some we changed out immediately while some we kept due to them being in good shape. Since that time, we have listened to our guests as they are always the best way to gauge if any changes need to be made. Thru this review, we have heard this guest and the mattress has been changed out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anna Maria
3.6 mi away
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
#2 of 15 in Holmes Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 841 reviews
1.5 mi away
An Island Getaway at Palm Tree Villas
4.5 mi away
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
#3 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Tradewinds Beach Resort
Tradewinds Beach Resort
#4 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 352 reviews
0.8 mi away
Haleys Motel and Resort
Haleys Motel and Resort
#6 of 15 in Holmes Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 263 reviews
5.0 mi away
BridgeWalk a Landmark Resort
BridgeWalk a Landmark Resort
#2 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Garden Resort

Property: Sunrise Garden Resort
Address: 512 Spring St, Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island, FL 34216
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Anna Maria Island > Anna Maria
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Anna Maria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrise Garden Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Sunrise Garden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Garden Hotel Anna Maria
Sunrise Garden Resort Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing