We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome hosts, wonderful accomodations!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunrise Garden Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Anna Maria
Certificate of Excellence
Lakeland, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Awesome hosts, wonderful accomodations!”
Reviewed August 9, 2011

This resort is the best. Spencer and his family take care of you like you're their long lost friends. Happy hour at the pool every day at 4 (i think) free beers, great company and conversation. The rooms are all recently renovated, new carpets, appliances, flat screen tv's, most rooms have a small kitchen or kitchenette. They even provide silverware, pots, pans etc. The bathrooms and sheets are always spotless. The location is perfect, 1 block from the bay side of the island, maybe 2,3 blocks away from the gulf side. A quick walk or bike ride will get you anywhere you want to be on the island. It is located one street away from Pine St.(the main drag). The best part is the little tiki hut with the grill that anyone can use which is right next to the pool, along with the amazing owners! For me, there is no least favorite part. Sunrise Garden Resort is a must stay for a quick weekend getaway, honeymoon, or week long family VK!

Room Tip: all rooms are great! I've stayed in 4 different ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whitney R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jsromine, Owner at Sunrise Garden Resort, responded to this review, August 10, 2011
Thanks for your review Whitney! We really are thankful that you think highly of the Sunrise Garden and you continue to come back!
Just wanted to make one small point to future guests...we do not do Happy Hour EVERY night, but we do like to make it at least a weekly event. We feel that spending time outside, whether it is sitting in the shade of one of our Tiki huts or relaxing in the pool is THE best way to get to know the guests which is one of our main goals here at the SGR.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    671
    126
    18
    9
    2
See reviews for
276
359
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Our family had the best time at the Sunrise Garden Resort. This was the perfect place for our family to stay. We were greeted by the friendly resort staff, welcomed with fresh flowers in our room, and made to feel "at home". Sunrise Garden Resort is close to everything in AMI- restaurants, quaint shops, the Bay, and a short walk to the Gulf. We just fell in love with the island and the resort. We spent a lot of time enjoying the heated pool. We felt like we were swept away and didn't want to leave. We drove 10 hours with a toddler and we hoped that the trip would be worth it...and it exceeded our expectations! :) We cannot wait to go back to this little piece of heaven! :)

Room Tip: The rooms were clean, had great amenities, and close to the sparkling pool! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarpon Springs, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 8, 2011

The stay there was so wonderful and relaxing. I have already told folks about the Sunrise Garden Resort. I cannot remember a time when I had a more peaceful vacation. Your hospitality makes the atmosphere so friendly and inviting!! I cannot wait to come back.
Great family place and right inbetween the gulf and the bay so you have the best of both worlds. Quiet and great for a family trip. You can even bring your pets. Clean and wonderful. Will never stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vicky o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Our family stayed there for the weekend and it was a blessing to find a place with such friendly owners and excellent service. The rooms were nice and clean and the property was beautifully landscaped. It is the perfect place for a weekend getaway or even a long stay. We had a large group that came over to hang out and the people were very accommodating and catered to our needs. They let us check in early and let us check out late for no extra charge. The pool is very clean and is a nice place to hang out for the day. The rooms are separated by gardens and it gives you a sense of privacy that you don't get at other hotels. The service and friendly atmosphere is the best I have ever experienced.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

My son goes to the Mote Marine Laboratory for summer camp every year and we thought we would give this place a try. What a great decision! The prices were the best on AMI and so were the rooms. Spence and Jessie were wonderful hosts - warm & friendly without being intrusive. They were flexible and really worked with us when we had to change our plans at the last minute.

We stayed in Unit #16, which faces the beautiful tropical pool and was very private, but was also just a few steps to parking (very important when you have a car packed full of fishing and snorkeling gear ~ LOL). The one bedroom apartment was bright and spotless. The A/C was ice cold and the place smelled fresh and clean. Cable TV, DVD player and wi-fi all worked great. We had a queen size bed in the bedroom and a pull-out sofa bed. The bed was very comfortable, and the kitchen was well stocked with dishes & utensils and all new appliances (even a blender - great for margaritas). The bathroom has a full tub and shower, wall mounted hairdryer and courtesy soap, shampoo, etc. The rooms all have beautiful semi-private patios with tables & chairs to relax, and there were hoses are on the patios just outside the doors so it made it easy to wash off our flip-flops, beach gear, etc. Most of the rooms are poolside which is really nice.

From our patio it was just a few steps through the gardens to the pool, which was just as gorgeous as the pictures. Lots of tiki huts are tucked into the pool area and gardens, with plenty of tables, chairs and loungers. We especially enjoyed swimming in the pool at night, it was so private and relaxing. This is a laid back family-friendly place, and my son made several new friends there this week.

The hotel is an easy one block walk to the ice cream shop, restaurants or to the pier. This is on the bayside beach where my son caught lots of crabs and small fish with his casting net and dip net (don't worry, we catch and release, so they'll be waiting for other visitors). The gulfside beach is about 4 blocks away, an easy walk but I usually drive because the car is full of boogie boards, umbrellas, chairs and other beach stuff.

We had a great time and will definitely go back as soon as we can!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, and Publix and CVS are just down the street, so buy groceries to save money...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyFlNurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

This place was amazing, IT was clean and lose to everything including the beaches on both sides of the Island. Lots of places within walking distance. Shopping, eating, bars and of course to the beach, I wold recomend this place to anyone that wants to kick back and take it easy. Staff was very friendly and helpful with the island. Thank You for a wonderful time.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beaches33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

My boyfriend and I felt rather spontaneous-so, we wanted to plan a short trip to Anna Maria Island for the terrific fishing. We arrived a little later than expected, but Dee and Spence were completely friendly and very accommodating in helping us with our mini summer vacation. The resort was very home-y. The room was of perfect setting-not freezing nor too economical. There were plenty towels and toiletries available for us to use. The room was stocked with clean plates&cups, dish detergent, and even a coffee maker. I really wish my boyfriend and I would have taken advantage of preparing our own meals- since Publix wasn't too far of a drive away--- but we opted to eat out every day instead :'(

The resort was in perfect walking distance to the pier, a little ice cream shop, and many eateries. The Sunrise Garden resort was overall, very nice and cozy. The staff was exceptional!! (I cannot emphasize how great the staff here was.) I wish I could have given this resort more stars, but because I've accumulated many bed&breakfasts, resorts, and hotels under my belt- I can only judge accordingly.

The only downfall to my stay was wanting to read one of the books the room provided-but a former guest probably had too much fun swimming with it at the beach :'( .. and maybe the bed could have been just a tad more comfy?

If it weren't for the rather weird locals, I'd definitely be back. There was definitely something eerie about Anna Maria Island that didn't seem to sit too well in my mind :/

Room Tip: Take advantage of the suite's amenities! Cook your own food ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yayani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anna Maria
3.5 mi away
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
#2 of 16 in Holmes Beach
957 reviews
1.5 mi away
An Island Getaway at Palm Tree Villas
4.5 mi away
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
#3 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Anna Maria Island Dream Inn
Anna Maria Island Dream Inn
#12 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
162 reviews
0.8 mi away
Haleys Motel and Resort
Haleys Motel and Resort
#6 of 16 in Holmes Beach
286 reviews
5.0 mi away
BridgeWalk a Landmark Resort
BridgeWalk a Landmark Resort
#2 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Garden Resort

Property: Sunrise Garden Resort
Address: 512 Spring St, Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island, FL 34216
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Anna Maria Island > Anna Maria
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Anna Maria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrise Garden Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sunrise Garden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Garden Hotel Anna Maria
Sunrise Garden Resort Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing