We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sunrise Garden Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Anna Maria
Certificate of Excellence
Ocala, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic!”
Reviewed May 11, 2011

Our visit to this resort was absolutely fantastic. Our room and the service we received exceeded our expectations. The staff was super friendly and very helpful. The grounds are beautifully landscaped and quiet - perfect for a relaxing getaway. The location couldn't be better, beautiful beaches only two blocks away. Sunrise Garden Resort is now our official place to stay when visiting Anna Maria Island!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brydigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    656
    123
    18
    9
    2
See reviews for
269
351
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2011

We loved our stay at this Old Florida-type resort! Friendly staff, clean, and quiet. Walking distance to the City Pier and eating places on the island. We cooked on the poolside grill so there was no reason to leave "the compound" . As a Florida resident, this was a great inexpensive relaxing weekend getaway. Having visited the island on several ocassions (for weddings) we didn't feel the need to explore on this trip, and aside from walking to the pier and attending a local car/art show, enjoyed staying on property.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbakerpi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Arlington, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 2, 2011

The Sunrise Garden Resort is the place to go if you are looking for a quiet & relaxing getaway! I was delighted with the charm & feel of the Resort. The location was perfect as we were able to walk to the beach, great little shops, & restaurants! I loved how private our room was as we stayed on the back of the property. It was low key and allowed us to really unwind. The pool was perfect for late afternoon swims after we shopped or went to the beach. We plan on returning as soon as our schedule permits and I highly recommend to anyone who is looking for that perfect vacation getaway!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JDavis06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerville, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2011

This could not have been a better place to vacation with my friends. We were thrilled to see each room had it's own kitchen, so we could enjoy more time together on location (rather than running out for every meal).
The pool was a welcome place to relax even if you needed to stay out of the sun - there were gorgeous gardens and tiki huts surrounding it, so you could choose to sit in the sub or shade (which is good, because I was burnt at the beach the first day there!)
The location absolutely could not be beat - we were able to walk to two sides of the island's beaches, restaurants, coffee shops, boutiques and specialty groceries.
I could not stop talking about my accommodations before I arrived (based solely on pictures) and absolutely was not let down when I arrived (I still am talking about it!)
Thank you to Sunrise Gardens for the wonderful girls weekend...I am most certain we will be back multiple times!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank N2SPIKIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 25, 2011

This is a great little resort tucked away on Anna Maria Island. The owners are very nice and accomodating. The room was spacious with a fully stocked kitchen (pots, pans, utensils,etc). It also had its own private patio. We loved the landscaping and the pool area. This is a great getaway for a family or for a quiet night with friends.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lyndsyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quitman, Georgia, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2011

Our family usually goes to Panama City Beach when we go to "the beach." This time we decided on Anna Maria Island. The atmosphere was totally different. It seemed very family friendly, and folks were genuinely nice. We went during spring break, but didn't feel crowded at all.
Sunset Garden Resort is located at the tip of the island. We ate breakfast and lunch on the bay side, went to the beach on the gulf side, and viewed the most beautiful sunset from the tip of the island. The best part about it was that we walked everywhere!
SGR was very nice. We were in a garden room with our own private patio. The pool was beautiful, and not far away. We didn't stay in our room much, but when we were there, we had everything that we needed. The staff was very friendly and eager to help.
If you decide to stay here, make sure that you visit Two Scoops Ice Cream Parlor. Yum! Also, if you have bikes, it is very bike friendly. We wished we had a couple. If you don't have them, you can rent them right around the corner though!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank djrenfroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quitman, Georgia, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2011

When researching where to go for our 10-year anniversary, my wife and I decided to give Anna Maria Island a try. Usually I just stick with the Panhandle, but had heard good reviews of Anna Maria. Well, Anna Maria Island feels like a well-kept secret when compared to other Florida beaches and the Sunrise Garden Resort is there to help you enjoy it. The resort is conveniently located within walking distance from the bay and the Gulf. Actually once we parked, we didn't have to move our vehicle again. With the tropical landscaping, the inviting pool, and the modern suites, you know you are in for a pleasant experience. The suites, although connected, feel separate as each one seems privately tucked away. Our suite felt brand new and very spacious with all the amenities you need to just stay in. However, there are plenty of excellent restaurants and beach activities in walking distance.
The owners, Spence and his wife Jessie, were excellent hosts. As we were new to Anna Maria, Spence graciously gave us tips on the best places to go. Spence was actually so hospitable that he felt like an old friend.
I am not familiar with the previous management at Sunrise Garden Resort, but I can wholeheartedly say that the current management is doing a superb job. I highly recommend not only Anna Maria Island for a nice getaway, but make sure you stay here for the full experience.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jared777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anna Maria
3.6 mi away
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
#2 of 15 in Holmes Beach
912 reviews
1.5 mi away
An Island Getaway at Palm Tree Villas
3.8 mi away
Anna Maria Island Dream Inn
Anna Maria Island Dream Inn
#11 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
#3 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
625 reviews
0.8 mi away
Haleys Motel and Resort
Haleys Motel and Resort
#5 of 15 in Holmes Beach
278 reviews
5.0 mi away
BridgeWalk a Landmark Resort
BridgeWalk a Landmark Resort
#1 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Garden Resort

Property: Sunrise Garden Resort
Address: 512 Spring St, Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island, FL 34216
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Anna Maria Island > Anna Maria
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Anna Maria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrise Garden Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Sunrise Garden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Garden Hotel Anna Maria
Sunrise Garden Resort Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing