We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally....Outstanding”

Sign of The Mermaid
Ranked #13 of 23 Restaurants in Anna Maria
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Bradenton, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Totally....Outstanding”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

This restaurant was highly recommended from a friend.Went "out on a limb" and took my girlfriend on a "mystery date" here. Silly me,I didn't realize that reservations were a real good idea.We arrived without a reservation but Kelly (double kudos to her) told us she would be able to fit us in but it would be 30-40 minutes.Well worth the wait......totally.The atmosphere is awesome.The food is outstanding and Wednesday our server was very friendly and helpful.I would choose this restaurant over the Sandbar even though it's not on the gulf side.I highly recommend this place.Just remember to make reservation,,,at least in season.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    391
    165
    77
    54
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Island time”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Went to Sign of the Mermaid again today. This place has become one of our favorite spots to dine for brunch. Love the breakfast specials...however my favorite is their quiche. Quite yummy, came with a side of a fruit salad and cucumber and onion salad. It was all great. Hubby got the 3.95 breakfast special they have 3 choices at that bargain busting price. Fast food prices but quaint, quiet and relaxing island time place.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Theresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
52 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Food is outstanding, wait staff somewhat indifferent”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

This food is outstanding. We shared the 3 crab cakes appetizer which was very moist and tasty. A nice touch was the warm homemade bread with wonderful olive oil on the bottom of the bread plate.
I had the seafood pasta and took home 1/2 of the generous portion and had a great dinner the next night. My wife's stuffed shrimp was "to die for". Ditto on enough leftovers for dinner the next night.
Dave, the waiter vacillated between attentive to indifferent, quite unusual?
We will definately be going back soon.
Will try the Grouper bundle appetizer next time which we have heard is also excellent.

Wheaton, IL

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank madref
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmes Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A disappointment”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Waiter was not friendly or helpful. We decided to share a meal and the waiter did not take the initiative to split the salad or main course - left it for us to do ourselves. At the prices and previous experiences at this restaurant, we were totally shocked. They have forgotten how to deliver customer service. The "specialty" meal of grouper pan seared with crabmeat - this was a total disappointment. The chef failed. We have been frequenting this restaurant for 5 years and we have never had this kind of experience. We cannot recommend the restaurant and longer

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank June M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmes Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Old charm, great brunch!”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Sign of the Mermaid is located in city of Anna Maria in a charming old cottage house. The dining is divided up into many rooms, which gives a certain cozy charm to the ambience. The decor is funky and unorganized which gives a fun character to the rooms.
The service is somewhat slow and disjointed, however it was a very busy day with lots of customers (6 in our party). The servers were friendly and informed fairly well of their menu items.
The omelet brunch was good, quantity was apparent (large), quality was good with comfort food flavors. Had to walk a mile afterwards to work off the big meal for sure !
The value was as expected for a large brunch, which could probably be shared by some bird eaters.

Yes, we will go again to try it for dinner next trip, with a new dinner report next.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank a l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sign of The Mermaid also viewed

Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
 
Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island
 
Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island
 

Been to Sign of The Mermaid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing