We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful surroundings with typical beach-type food”

City Pier Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 23 Restaurants in Anna Maria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
54 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful surroundings with typical beach-type food”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

If you are looking for clam chowder, fish & chips, burgers, etc., then this may be your place. The City Pier Restaurant is down a long pier overlooking the gorgeous blue waters of the Gulf Coast. Watch people fish off the pier while eating lunch or dinner. The restaurant does sway a small bit, so if you are sensitive to that, this may not be the place for you. Overall, a good place to try. I prefer going there for lunch vs. dinner. Kids menu too!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Monika G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

869 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    285
    343
    162
    42
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Not what we expected”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Drove down from clearwater and decided to visit Anna Maria Island for a view and headed north to the city pier. Well fancy, a restaurant at the end of the pier...sounds and looks great, lets try!

It was late April 2012 and was unusually cold for this time of year but great as there had been no humidity. Nightly Lows of 42 c near Orlando. It was almost sunset so we found a table and thought it a little bit dingy of a place but hey it was different and we were out over the lovely gulf water.

Next thing I say to my wife did you notice this place is movin back and forth. And sure as eggs R eggs it was like we were on a raft. Anyhow, thank goodness I don't suffer from sea sickness!

Next came the waitress who apart from not being friendly I got the impression once she knew we were british she didn't want to know.

Do British not tip as good as you American's? Well that is the feelin I got and from then on it went down hill.

The table next to us, a couple of Americans, she was laughing and joking and being very pleasant to them but when she brought our food it was just thrown at us and we had to move it around the table so we all got what we'd ordered not what she'd thrown at us.

Needless to say we didn't tip her not because we R british but because of the bad service.

I only tip good service otherwise sooner or later bad service will be the norm and still be expected to tip.

Very disappointing.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diezeltruck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
672 reviews
326 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 371 helpful votes
“It's fine”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

To be honest, we were at the wrong place; we thought we were at the Rod & Reel which is on a nearby pier. Someone had recommended the grouper sandwich which we got at the City Pier. It's o.k.; the fish was good but it's just served on a big cold bun with lettuce, tomato, and 2 thin slices of dill pickle. There is also tartar sauce. The food is ok but nothing to write home about. The ambience is good; great views. (By the way, once we got to the Rod & Reel, it's grouper sandwich was no better or no worse than City Pier's.)

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hola4876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lunch on the water”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

The City Pier is an excellent spot if you are in the mood for coconut shrimp, Talapia sandwiches, or just a great City Pier burger!! Excellent service, nice quant bar area on the water I recommend a light jacket or sweater especially in the evening.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmes Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“AMI City Pier”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

The historic pier is a must to visit on the island. As you walk down the planked pier, fisherman are bringing in all kinds of local fish creatures. The restaurant at the end is a typical local bar food menu for lunch and dinner, nice place for breakfast too. The ambience is spectacular on the bay. Happy Hours until 6:00 often include live solo music on the outdoor side. Nice sunset views too.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank a l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Pier Restaurant also viewed

Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
 
Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
 

Been to City Pier Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing