We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worth a wait”
Review of Rod & Reel Pier

Rod & Reel Pier
Ranked #6 of 23 Restaurants in Anna Maria
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Takeout
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“worth a wait”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Went and was told 45 min wait which was cool. but got seated in 10 minutes.
Wondrful server from Jersey, Lisa. you go girl!
Had Ahi Tuna Dinner and crab cake appetizer. VERY good.in every way.
One of our favorite spots to eat/enjoy view/meet people.
45 min from St Pete.
check it out!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,902 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    842
    663
    255
    83
    59
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Awesome Food”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

The mahi sandwich was fresh and tasted delicious. The view is awesome also. Lots of activity with people fishing, swimming and tying up their boats to the pier.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank kakkarnold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Don't overlook this place!”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Not far from the Anna Maria City Pier, the Rod & Reel is a little more rustic and serves a very good breakfast. Overall good quality food, service and pricing.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank JimMc67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hanover, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Treat”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

The location at the end of a pier is fantastic! Got here around 7:30pm to find a 1 1/2 hour wait for our party of seven. Ugh! No problem. We simply ordered our meals from the tiny bar on the first floor and ate outside on the pier while taking in the sunset. Oh, an occasional dolphin swam by, too. People are allowed to fish off of the pier, adding to the personality of the place. Great laid back kind of place. We enjoyed crab cake sandwiches and grilled shrimp platters. Pitchers of beer were $6.95.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank bakm64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“No Frills ... Just Really Good Food with an Awesome View!”
Reviewed August 2, 2014

This is not the place to go for a fancy meal; it feels like a diner on pilings. However, if you want great food while sitting at the end of a pier with a wonderful view - this is the spot. I had the special of the day, a mahi mahi sandwich, and it was so delicious and so fresh that I could not ruin it by eating the bun. It was a huge slab of fresh mahi, and I just tossed the bun and used a knife and fork on the huge mahi filet. The waitress recommended having it slightly blackened and finished with garlic sauce ($1 extra) .... OMG, it was so good. The coleslaw was the best I have ever eaten. Highly recommend this place! Can't wait to go back.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dore Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rod & Reel Pier also viewed

Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
 
Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
 
Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
 

Been to Rod & Reel Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing