We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has a monopoly on the beach front”
Review of Sandbar Restaurant

Sandbar Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 26 Restaurants in Anna Maria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: The Sandbar Restaurant, located on the north end of Anna Maria Island, has for decades been a favorite for locals. Dine with your toes in the sand and a drink in your hand on our waterfront deck or enjoy our inside dining room. We offer gulf to table, farm to fork, and pasture to plate sustainable menu items. Our menus reflect our commitment to serving our guests the best in local and sustainable seafood, produce, and land fare. The Sandbar is the most popular place on Anna Maria Island for beach weddings and sunset receptions. The award winning venue is perfect for intimate gatherings to elaborate affairs, especially weddings.
Reviewed March 19, 2019

This place has no competition and yet still turns out good food and great cocktails. Does the mayor own it??
Anna Maria desperately needs more places like this

Date of visit: March 2019
1  Thank CameramanGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestS23, General Manager at Sandbar Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Graham,
Thank you for coming in. Just because we are one of the very few beachfront restaurants, we want our customers to come in for great food and drinks and excellent service with the view being the added benefit. I am glad that you enjoyed your visit.
Rich Demarse, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,591)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 63 of 4,592 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2019 via mobile

I've enjoyed this restaurant typically in early Sept.(no wait time). Same great food, choice of indoor or patio dining on the beach. Great place for spectacular views of the sunset!! My experience in late Feb was fine, except prepare yourself for a 1.5 hour wait time. Quite a difference in seasons!! Excellent bar & menu selections with a huge variety of fresh seafood, lots of meal choices. Great gift shop too! Great customer service!

Date of visit: March 2019
1  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestS23, General Manager at Sandbar Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Chris,
Thank you for coming back in to see us. I am sorry for the wait, but during the busy season, it just gets that way, unlike the off-season in September when you can usually just walk in and get seated immediately. I do appreciate that you still enjoyed your visit despite the wait.
Rich Demarse, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2019

The Sand Bar is one of a kind. The water view is spectacular, the food is fabulous, and the service is superb. From salads to seafood the food is the BEST! The service is good and the overall experience is awesome. You won’t be disappointed!

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank seashellkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestS23, General Manager at Sandbar Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for coming in to see us at the Sandbar. I am glad that you had a great meal and enjoyed the beautiful view.
Rich Demarse, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2019

Given it is first come first serve, its hard to know what type of wait you will have. When we were seated, it took some time to get the first service for drinks, water, bread, etc. Once the appetizer cam the food followed fairly quickly.

Portions are good and they have a fusion of southern and seafood. Good local fish choices and prices were reasonable.

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BelikinBeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestS23, General Manager at Sandbar Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for coming in. This time of year, dinner at sunset will incur a bit of a wait, but the rest of the time should be fairly reasonable. I am glad that you enjoyed your meals with us and had a great experience.
Rich Demarse, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2019

Love the atmosphere of the Sandbar. Located directly on the beautiful Anna Maria Beach. You can literally have your toes in the sand while you dine. We were told the wait would be 1 hour to eat outside and we didn't even wait 30 minutes. The food was good. We had really wanted Grouper but they were sold out. The waitress explained about Grouper season and why it was not available.

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestS23, General Manager at Sandbar Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Diane,
Thank you for coming in to see us at the Sandbar. We are sorry that we were out of Grouper on your recent visit, but we don't believe in serving anything but the freshest fish possible. I am glad that you had a great meal with us and I hope to see you soon.
Rich Demarse, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sandbar Restaurant also viewed

Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
 
Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island
Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
 
Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island
Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
 

Been to Sandbar Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing