We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”
Review of Sandbar Restaurant

Sandbar Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 23 Restaurants in Anna Maria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $30
Cuisines: Bar, American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Sandbar Restaurant, located on the north end of Anna Maria Island, has for decades been a favorite for locals. Dine with your toes in the sand and a drink in your hand on our waterfront deck or enjoy our inside dining room. We offer gulf to table, farm to fork, and pasture to plate sustainable menu items. Our menus reflect our commitment to serving our guests the best in local and sustainable seafood, produce, and land fare. The Sandbar is the most popular place on Anna Maria Island for beach weddings and sunset receptions. The award winning venue is perfect for intimate gatherings to elaborate affairs, especially weddings.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Nice place”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

A friend of mine has told me to go to sand bar and I really enjoy everything about this out door beach front location it was just right. Food was very good and the drinks was good as well.seeing the sun going down was the best of the best. I really like it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carylannlopez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,441 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,507
    1,069
    559
    195
    111
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winscombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“There are 8 restaurants better than this on Anna Maria?”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

My wife and would disagree over the low ratings some reviewers have given this restaurant.
1. Location is one of the better ones in the WORLD. Someone once said "If you don't like this place you won't like heaven!"
2. The seafood is very good value for money. Crab-crumb coated scallops are exquisite and very filling.
3. The portions are generous.
4. Yes, a couple of the staff seemed a bit far up their **** but they'll know the seats will be full again tomorrow even if YOU never come back - so humour them, don't knock 'em!
We may never come back (too far and too many other places we've never been to) but we'll always remember this visit, thanks to Sandbar

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Busmantoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A bit disappointing”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Had this place recommended to us by a local prior to coming to Florida, read reviews and was excited to visit. However unfortunately it did not live up to our expectations. The evening we visited was dull and chilly, so no magnificent views or sunset as seen on photos. I realise the management dont have control over the weather but without these I felt the restaurant was very average. Drinks were served in plastic beakers and food was only ok. There was a wedding on and two lots of music playing which clashed terribly. The staff were friendly enough but seemed to be more attentive of 'regulars'. May have enjoyed more if had better weather but don't think I'd go back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank wildbull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“You are paying for the view...but what a view!”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

This is a perfect spot to watch the sunset while having a drink and a bite to eat. We actually had a table on the sand which was just heaven. The wine selection is just ok but at least it wasn't served in a plastic cup like the mixed drinks. The food was just okay. Not bad, not great but again, you are here for the view. I would suggest a drink and an appetizer to watch the sunset but not my choice for dinner.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dar241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell, Michigan
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“We liked it so much, we went twice!”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

I've been to the Sandbar a few times, but this time around I was traveling with 12 girlfriends who were all looking to me for restaurant suggestions. We went for lunch and drinks on our first day on the island. Every one of us had a great meal, great drinks and great service. I have to admit, some of these girls are normally hard to please, but nobody in the group had any complaints.

We could have gone anywhere for our "last-night-hoorah" dinner, but we all agreed to visit the Sandbar one last time. Our service could have been better (seemed the server was new/inexperienced) but he did okay. The food was great and the view was stunning.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank UnlimitedSmileage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sandbar Restaurant also viewed

Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
 
Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island
 
Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
 

Been to Sandbar Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing