We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sandbar Restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandbar Restaurant

Sandbar Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 23 Restaurants in Anna Maria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $30
Cuisines: Bar, American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Sandbar Restaurant, located on the north end of Anna Maria Island, has for decades been a favorite for locals. Dine with your toes in the sand and a drink in your hand on our waterfront deck or enjoy our inside dining room. We offer gulf to table, farm to fork, and pasture to plate sustainable menu items. Our menus reflect our commitment to serving our guests the best in local and sustainable seafood, produce, and land fare. The Sandbar is the most popular place on Anna Maria Island for beach weddings and sunset receptions. The award winning venue is perfect for intimate gatherings to elaborate affairs, especially weddings.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Sandbar Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

I have been visiting the Sandbar Restaurant for 20 years and it is like an adventure every time ,
as the ocean front changes, years ago the water came up all the way to the rocks , then they build up the beach , then a storm comes and changes everything again.We love to sit outside and enjoy good food , sometimes we have to wait , but no problem , we just listen to the music and enjoy the view and gladly wait , or I check out the little boutique , every year they add to it and there is always something that I take home from an elegant dress to beach wear or just a souvenir . Looking forward to my next visit.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bruni J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,438
    1,028
    542
    189
    105
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Springboro, Ohio
Level Contributor
55 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great place to eat on the beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

We love the convenience of this restaurant when spending a day at the beach. Anna Marie has one of our favorite beaches right by this restaurant, so we park ourselves there and when lunch time comes we walk right over! We love sitting outside right near the sand with no view obstructions! The food is good, a bit pricey, but worth the convenience and view! We enjoy the grouper tacos and salads. The kids love that ice cream comes with their kids meal. Also, try the spinach and artichoke dip appetizer...WOW! It comes in a bread bowl that is out of this world good!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nicole N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, Connecticut
Level Contributor
165 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Come for the View, enjoy the food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Watching the pelicans fish in the bay just a few yards from our huge window almost distracted us from the very good food that this restaurant presented.

We sat indoors on a cool, windy day. We'll try for a warm day for an outside meal.

My grouper tacos were excellent, if not overstuffed, and my wife's tasty wasabi-coated salmon-topped salad was large enough that I had to help her finish off her crispy and delicious greens.

For a resort restaurant with very good food, the prices were more than reasonable and the service was cheery and prompt.

But it's the view, the view, the view.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank todbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Newly remodeled, great outdoor view!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Return visit, first since complete remodeling project finished. Nicely done updates. Parking is somewhat tight for amount of business. We used valet parking that was available.

Four people in our group, each of us had a seperate dish and each gave a "thumbs up" for the food served. Nice to set outdoors in late December; excellent view of the gulf beach.

Food was excellent, will go again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Larry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boone, North Carolina
Level Contributor
183 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Excellent food, drink, & view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

This is a must try place - the food is always good (I had the grouper sandwich, which is my usual fare there). Good drinks - the rum runner was exquisite! And the view of the beac is unmatched! They have just redone the indoor dining room, and it expands the view. The best place to see a Florida west coast sunset!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank N. J. M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sandbar Restaurant also viewed

Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
 
Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
 

Been to Sandbar Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing