We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Jimmy Buffett stops here....”
Review of Sandbar Restaurant

Sandbar Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 23 Restaurants in Anna Maria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $30
Cuisines: Bar, American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Sandbar Restaurant, located on the north end of Anna Maria Island, has for decades been a favorite for locals. Dine with your toes in the sand and a drink in your hand on our waterfront deck or enjoy our inside dining room. We offer gulf to table, farm to fork, and pasture to plate sustainable menu items. Our menus reflect our commitment to serving our guests the best in local and sustainable seafood, produce, and land fare. The Sandbar is the most popular place on Anna Maria Island for beach weddings and sunset receptions. The award winning venue is perfect for intimate gatherings to elaborate affairs, especially weddings.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
86 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Jimmy Buffett stops here....”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Great place on the beach, wear your sandals and enjoy the Jimmy Buffett life. Food and drinks were great!!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank ffwinger63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,442 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,507
    1,070
    559
    195
    111
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Anna Maria Island, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Sand and Food”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

The view is better than the food. Food is basic. We ate on the deck. The inside restaurant smelled like wet carpet and was very dated....not rustic....dated. The reason this restaurant appears popular is the view and being able to sit outside in the wonderful breeze. If you want more than fried calamari or a hamburger, try another location. Their salads were sloppily put together. My spinach salad looked like they dumped a bag of spinach in the pool and threw some strawberries on top. Not impressive or appetizing. I'm sure the owner of this establishment does so much business due to the location and view, that food quality is not as important to keep clients.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank islandkarma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Wonderful location, but currently under construction”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We have been going to this restaurant for 6 years, driving all the way from Tampa each time. It is beautifully located on the beach at the north western end of Anna Maria Island, with a wonderful view of the Gulf. The food is reasonably good, and there are lots of good options for lunch and dinner including many seafood selections. Whenever we have guests visit us at our winter digs, we take them to the Sandbar so they can put their feet in the sand and enjoy one of the best restaurant views in Florida. However, we went down today with 5 visitors only to find the entire site is under construction, with makeshift bar and facilities outside, and lots of construction noise (but no discounts for the irritation). As a result, I recommend you skip visiting the Sandbar until the construction is over and they can return to offering a better experience.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank commodoredavem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Pete Beach, Fl
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Title says it all. Perfect location on the beach, watching the water right in front of you. At the moment they are in construction to improve the restaurant. I have been visiting this place twice a year for the last three years and am not tired of it yet. Food portions are large and always tasty.
It is always crowded, which is part of the fun, beach casual atmosphere. Lovely place for families and friends to lunch.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Firebird8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
83 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Beachfront but Plastic chairs and high prices”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Ate at this restaurant and was alittle disappointed. Yes I like eating directly beachfront and we were right on the sand. Took my shoes off and felt the sand thru my toes. But I don't particularly like to sit on plastic chairs and tables were so close together. My food(one of the specials for the night) was a phyllo crusted mahi. It came out cold and had to be sent back. Although when hot it was very good. If you are not a seafood lover and we had 2 in our group then your only choice would be chicken. For the price of the dinners I would like to be sitting at nicer tables and chairs and have more elbow room. Since we arrived after sunset there was not much to see. The indoor restaurant was closed for renovation at this time. The waitstaff all seemed preoccupied and were not very attentive. Maybe it was just an off night. Will give it another try!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joananne2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sandbar Restaurant also viewed

Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
 
Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island
 

Been to Sandbar Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing