We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“These donuts are the bomb!”

The Donut Experiment
Ranked #1 of 3 Dessert in Anna Maria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $12
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Welcome to The Donut Experiment, where every donut is your creation! We start with a delicious, fresh-made cake donut and then you pick from our huge selection of icings and toppings. Yours can be as simple as plain or glazed or as crazy as key lime, maple bacon or Sriracha. Stop by today and begin your own experiment. We also serve premium, local roasted coffee and espresso drinks.
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“These donuts are the bomb!”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Just dropped in this morning for some donuts and they were off the chain! I had caramel with sea salt and then vanilla with bacon. Everything was very fresh and good and they were possibly the best donuts I have ever had. I only have two complaints which can easily be fixed. One is it gets very busy especially when people are ordering large quantities of donuts and the line can get long since there are only two people working. Second complaint is there isn't enough seating adding a few more chairs and outdoors seating could easily fix it! Other then those two minor things everything was perfect!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ckitchens27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,078 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    755
    239
    60
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Scrumptious Donuts”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Best donut you will ever eat! Reasonably priced and fresh donuts in a variety of traditional and unique toppings including bacon!! it's a must visit place on the island! Stop sand enjoy.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lizsa48642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Yummy”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I have to admit, husband and I came here every afternoon for a donut! The cakey donut is super fresh, and you get to choose your frosting and topping. My two faves -- cinnamon sugar and white frosting with crushed Oreos. Owner is very nice, place has seating inside or out. Very pleasant, a great treat! Careful, this shop closes at 1 pm each day!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank vacati0nbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A great new addition..”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

to the Island!

Noticed on a recent visit back that this little gem had just opened, such a great idea, grab a freshly baked plain ring doughnut and add the glaze and topping of your choice.

Staff were super friendly and luckily we found this early on in our holiday that we got to go back a few times!

My favroutie combo's include maple glaze with coconut topping and caramel glaze and sea salt!

Cant wait to return :)

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicky-Gareth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutz, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Donuts in a different way on North End AMI”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Took my grandsons here on a Sunday morning for breakfast donuts and coffee for their Mom and myself. The grandsons loved the idea of creating their own donuts the way they wanted. Coffee was excellent also. Definitely a bit pricey but you pay for their individual technique more than just the dozen donuts. Overall a good experience for our first visit here. Would definitely come here again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FLAGRL75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Donut Experiment also viewed

 
Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
 
Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island
 

Been to The Donut Experiment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing