We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great donuts and great fun”

The Donut Experiment
Ranked #1 of 3 Dessert in Anna Maria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $12
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Welcome to The Donut Experiment, where every donut is your creation! We start with a delicious, fresh-made cake donut and then you pick from our huge selection of icings and toppings. Yours can be as simple as plain or glazed or as crazy as key lime, maple bacon or Sriracha. Stop by today and begin your own experiment. We also serve premium, local roasted coffee and espresso drinks.
Eagles Mere, Pennsylvania
1 review
“great donuts and great fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Eating at Anna Maria Donuts is just a wionderful experience, especially if you're going with kids. Their eyes light up as they see right in front of them the choices of icings and toppings, then see thier donuts made to order as they watch. The donuts are fesh and very tasty.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bob s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,002 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    703
    220
    56
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Yummy warm donuts!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

Stopped by while ridding our bikes. These donuts were warm and delicious. What is great is that you select the icings and toppings. Very clean and well organized. Kids will love this place.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oceanview25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Garden, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Yummy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

My husband and I stopped in to Anna Maria Donuts this morning and we're very pleased. The donuts were a perfect consistency and tasted wonderful. I would definitley recommend this place as a nice morning treat. It is very yummy and you wont be dissapointed!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank honeybee8184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsburg, Indiana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice Place to Try Once or Twice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

Decent donuts and friendly staff. Definitely worthy of a stop as you walk around the island on a given early morning.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mortyg12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
75 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Wonderful Donuts, Gracious Hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

This cute little shop exceeded our expectations -- delicious donuts, nice and light so you can try several, with all the different toppings they offer. Our early-morning departure from AMI prevented us from visiting again the very next morning -- we loved them so much. The hosts are very gracious, and have tasty recommendations for toppings. We can't wait to visit again during our next trip to AMI!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IDunnoWhoYouThinkIAm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Donut Experiment also viewed

 
Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
 

Been to The Donut Experiment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing