We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as advertised”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Anna Maria
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anna Maria Guest Houses
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We rented this property through VRBO for our annual summer vacation, and frankly felt duped when we arrived. While the indoor spaces are exactly as described in the photos, the rental advertisement (and the title of the properties themselves) clearly promised a "house" while these rentals are anything but.

The Anna Maria Guest Houses are actually more like second-floor apartments situated over small businesses and stores. The photos on the VRBO site reinforced the "house" angle, having been taken before the signs and stores below the rentals were in place. From the pictures, we thought we were renting a two-story home -- so much so that we kept driving by the rental on our arrival, looking for the place we were promised in the ads.

Inside, the rentals are modern and well-kept, but the master bed mattress was so horrible that my husband slept on the couch for 5 out of the 7 days. And because we were now spending our vacation over two places of business, I felt the need to keep my kids quiet during the day so as not to disturb the commercial tenants below.

If you are a solo or couple traveler, the Anna Maria Guest Houses might be a good option for you -- just know that it's not really a house. But as a family, we won't be back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kepiad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PineAve, Owner at Anna Maria Guest Houses, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Dear kepiad,

Thanks for your feedback. I sincerely apologize that your expectations were not met. We will be reviewing our web listings with your comments in mind. I have personally inspected the Sealy Pillow Top mattress purchased new in 2010. Thanks for the heads up, it will be replaced immediately. The vast majority of our guests find that we are ideal for families who value the convenience and environmental benefits of staying in a Platinum rated Green Building with immediate walking access to shops, beaches and restaurants.

However, you deserve the vacation you have in mind. There are many great properties here on the island and I’m happy to recommend some that may fit your personal needs. Please contact me directly if I can help in any way.

Sincere regards,

Micheal Coleman

Managing Partner, Anna Maria Guest House Rentals

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (22)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 22 of 22 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2012

My family of 6 arrived on Anna Maria island after a 5 day drive from our home in Nova Scotia. As expected we were very tired and looking forward to some serious down time. Saturday check-ins on Anna Maria are at 4 pm and our unit was nearly ready
. Our unit was new though there were a few glitches here and there( door knobs breaking, floors not cleaned thoroughly) but after advising management these issues were handled promptly. I would suggest providing renters with a vacum or mop as the floors do get pretty sandy and dusty after a few days, but no biggie it's all about relaxing on vacation. The unit was nicely decorated throughout and the pool was perfect for our 3 small children and teenage niece. The best part of our vacation was the amazing location on Pine ave. We were 2 blocks from the ocean and every day would load our wagon with snacks, beach toys and kids and head down the street for a swim or for lunch at the Sandbar restaurant . Awesome. If you didn't feel like the beach there are ample places within walking distance if you feel like a nice lunch, coffee or shopping spree( Shiny Fish Emporium I miss you!) . When you arrive on the island a drive to the local Publix or Walmart will be necessary to stock up the unit( almost nothing is provided other than towels) . It's going to be a long winter (but they all are in this part of the world), thank heavens for Anna Maria ! See you next summer.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gill1267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed at this Anna Maria Guest House last spring break (April 2012). It was our first visit to this charming place. I cannot say enough about the property. Loved the decor. The house had everything you need. Very practical and quiet despite the fact that it is above "light" retail shops. It felt very private and noise was never a problem. I have 4 children (ages 11, 9, 8, 6). They loved this place. They loved chasing tiny lizards around the trees. The pool was perfect size for us and the walk to the beach was very easy for little guys. The island is so so charming and even when busy, it seemed so laid back. We hated to leave and my children asked if we could book for next year! We stayed put most of the week since the weather was so great. Went to the Mote Aquarium later in the week - well worth visit.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

The Anna Maria guesthouse are top notch, spacious, clean, with all the amenities one might need for a week at this beautiful destination. Centrally located in between both beaches, easy access to shopping, restaurants. I highly recommend these units and plan to stay again on my next vacation in Anna Maria.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tierrablake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed at one of the Guest Houses last early December. We stayed in the one over the Anna Maria Olive Oil Company. We can honestly say the accomodations were first class. If you needed anything, like in our case wine glasses, they would deliver them to you quickly. The location is walking distance to shopping/beach/pier/bay and wonderful Pine Street historical sites.
Thank you again AMGH for a wonderful stay !
The Lesters from Lakeland, Fl.

Room Tip: The address number dictates how close to beach or bay. i.e. 100-500 block. The 100 or 200 block a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank a l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PineAve, Owner at Anna Maria Guest Houses, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Thanks to the Lesters !

Many of our guests have favorite shops along Historic Pine Avenue ("Greenest Little Mainstreet in America"). Kelly Kary's "Olive Oil Outpost" is a foodie's magnet. Too many things to mention, all terrific. From the gourmet cheeses, bulk Himalayan salts and spices to the useful kitchen items, this store is a great example of the mix of unique shops, eclectic art and great food that Our Guest Houses have immediate access to while walking to or from the best beaches anywhere.

Thanks so much for visiting with us, we look forward to seeing you again. Remember to “Like” us on Facebook to stay connected with exclusive offerings and island events. Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you.

Sincere regards,

Micheal Coleman

Managing Partner

Anna Maria Guest House Rentals

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anna Maria
3.5 mi away
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
#2 of 16 in Holmes Beach
970 reviews
1.4 mi away
An Island Getaway at Palm Tree Villas
4.4 mi away
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
#3 of 11 in Bradenton Beach
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Anna Maria Island Dream Inn
Anna Maria Island Dream Inn
#11 of 11 in Bradenton Beach
167 reviews
0.5 mi away
Anna Maria Beach Cottages
Anna Maria Beach Cottages
#2 of 4 in Anna Maria
101 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunrise Garden Resort
Sunrise Garden Resort
#1 of 3 in Anna Maria
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anna Maria Guest Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anna Maria Guest Houses

Address: 315 Pine Avenue, Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island, FL 34216
Location: United States > Florida > Anna Maria Island > Anna Maria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Anna Maria
Price Range: $250 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Anna Maria Guest Houses are lovely and charming. Both the 2 bedroom vacation rental and 3 bedroom vacation rentals are spacious and newly constructed using the latest green technology. They have all the conveniences needed to make your Anna Maria Beach vacation complete. Each unit has a private pool and covered balconies and each boasts distinct touches like custom cabinets, stainless appliances and granite surfaces, washer/dryers, flat panel TVs, and river recovered old Florida wood floors throughout. From white washed “washboard” interiors for that cozy cottage feel to expansive covered porches for outdoor living, each unit has the same quality amenities but each property its own island charm and one of a kind unique decor. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Anna Maria Guest Houses Anna Maria Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing