We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Community Theatre”

Island Players Community Theatre
Ranked #6 of 21 things to do in Anna Maria
Attraction details
Wales UK
Level Contributor
84 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Wonderful Community Theatre”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

I have seen several plays here while holidaying in Anna Maria, the sets and costumes are superb, the play's quality does depend on the Director although I have never been disappointed. It's a beautiful intimate space, the front of house staff are all lovely. It is community theatre and all run by volunteers, I have enjoyed many plays here, and look forward to returning.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LibWalesUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    13
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Delightful Local Theatre”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our evening! The play "Mama Don't Fly" was funny with lots of laughs. The theatre is very intimate with only 7 rows. The actors were all great, with good comedic timing and interaction, and easy to hear and understand. The lady at the box office was most helpful in guiding us to good seats, although I don't think any seat would be bad.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank S K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandwich, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Theater is small and quaint.”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Finally got tickets to this theatre, and We were sadly disappointed.
The stage and costumes were fine, but the acting was not. Very Very disappointed, I have been to better high school productions..

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank runthecape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRAND ISLAND
Level Contributor
1,016 reviews
384 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 517 helpful votes
“applause, applause”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

nothing wrong with non-professional so long as there's a professional attitude, and there certainly is here, enhanced by a small but not cramped theater from which every word and every motion is well conveyed to all but the most auditorially and visually challenged

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank DOUGANDPOLLY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chester
Level Contributor
128 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“First Night Was Great”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Just got in from the first night at the Island Players..Super evening the play was funny and poignant always a good combination..There is not a bad seat in the house the theatre is so small.. One of the best plays we have seen there

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank choosee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Island Players Community Theatre also viewed

Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
 
Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
 

Been to Island Players Community Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing