We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We went back three times in two weeks!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Slim's Place

Slim's Place
Ranked #12 of 23 Restaurants in Anna Maria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $19
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Slim's Place is a great spot where local islanders and all island visitors can hang out and enjoy some of the best food and drinks AMI has to offer. We have live music on weekends and stay open for the late night crowd looking To eat, drink or watch a game on one of our 12 TVs, or just enjoy some great times with friends. Slim's Place is operated (7-2-2013) by the Smargisso family who used to own The Banana Cabana Caribbean Restaurant in Bradenton Beach on AMI. We are very excited to have executive chef and partner PJ Smargisso heading up the culinary team at Slim's Place. PJ is one of the best young chefs on AMI. He will always think outside the box and create some awesome food that will leave you wanting to come back for more. We are from the Philadelphia area and will be doing some of the best Philly style bar foods we all know and love. Philly cheese steaks on Amoroso rolls & fresh baked philly pretzels, along with pizza & panzarotti, pasta and fresh seafood, chicken, chops & steaks . We promise to amaze your family with our food and fun!
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“We went back three times in two weeks!!”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Really great restaurant!! The waitresses and waiters are super friendly and welcoming, the place is cool and casual but best of all the food is incredible. The grouper and mahi mahi were so fresh and delicious, perfectly cooked. The ribs, pulled pork slider a and burgers were all superb. Basically, loved everything and was all for a good price.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 21andexploring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    124
    37
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
125 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Awesome food and service”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

If you are looking for a place where locals come to eat and hang out, this is the place. I tell anyone who asks that this is one of the bests on AMI. Ezio creates the most amazing dishes and will even make things not on the menu if he is able. The service is always great too. Try the stuffed pepper app and the chicken wings are delicious. Everything he makes is outstanding, though, so you will not go wrong!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jpp28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Owner at Slim's Place, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you, we do have a great mix of locals and visitors in our place so that makes it fun every day. Ezio goes out of his way to make this place special a must try on AMI.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
244 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We love this place for our family visit. The beer is cold and they serve Stella in the proper chalice! They could give a lesson to the sandbar restaurant....their wings are huge and they are under new management....they have a pool table and a great juke box...nice place to relax....

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Gene F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Owner at Slim's Place, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thanks for the kind words, we are all working very hard to make Slim's the best place on the north end of AMI.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
146 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good, Affordable food.”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stopped by here for lunch one day and sat at the bar. Service was friendly and the food came out quickly. Sandwich was very good as well as the pasta salad. One of the more affordable places on the Island. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dopeonarope82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Owner at Slim's Place, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thanks, we try to keep it reasonable along with great quality and portion size. Ezio is one of the best chefs on the island
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collinsville, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great hamburgers”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

The seating outside let you know that you were involved in island living. Great burgers. Must try the onion rings. Only accepts cash and have patience when crowded.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nikki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Owner at Slim's Place, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
appreciate the review, but I think this one is for Skinneys...We do have great burgers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Slim's Place also viewed

Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
 
Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
 

Been to Slim's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing