We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, ok atmosphere”
Review of Slim's Place

Slim's Place
Ranked #13 of 23 Restaurants in Anna Maria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $19
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Slim's Place is a great spot where local islanders and all island visitors can hang out and enjoy some of the best food and drinks AMI has to offer. We have live music on weekends and stay open for the late night crowd looking To eat, drink or watch a game on one of our 12 TVs, or just enjoy some great times with friends. Slim's Place is operated (7-2-2013) by the Smargisso family who used to own The Banana Cabana Caribbean Restaurant in Bradenton Beach on AMI. We are very excited to have executive chef and partner PJ Smargisso heading up the culinary team at Slim's Place. PJ is one of the best young chefs on AMI. He will always think outside the box and create some awesome food that will leave you wanting to come back for more. We are from the Philadelphia area and will be doing some of the best Philly style bar foods we all know and love. Philly cheese steaks on Amoroso rolls & fresh baked philly pretzels, along with pizza & panzarotti, pasta and fresh seafood, chicken, chops & steaks . We promise to amaze your family with our food and fun!
Germantown, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
98 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good food, ok atmosphere”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We ate here for lunch. The food was very good. Atmosphere is typical for a sports bar. A decent place for a bite.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    126
    39
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great bar food”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Slims is a great find in Anna Maria. We had the wings (not hot and spicy but wonderfully flavorful) and lobster mac and cheese. This was filled with chunks of lobster with smoked gouda cheese sauce - highly recommend it. Friendly service, looks like a local joint. People were there with kids, even had a pool table. We'll be back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mammamea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“very disappointing”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Dropped in for lunch at 1pm on a Friday. Not busy. A few locals.
Both burgers lukewarm. Chips underdone.
Price ridiculous. Two glasses of red wine at $9 each! Burgers at $12 each.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank efcgx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Drinks and apps”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Four of us had drinks and apps at Slims on a Thursday at 5pm. Beer selection was limited. The apps were huge and pretty good - nachos and a hummus platter. Atmosphere leaves something to be desired - no music, a couple watching Food Network at the bar, etc.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank ZackO13_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fresh, delicious food - great burgers and seafood!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We ate here twice during our most recent trip to AMI. The food here is very, very good - mahi tacos, crabcakes, burgers were all top notch! Atmosphere is more "nice bar" than restaurant but we brought a large group with lots of kids and felt totally comfortable.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Travelbuff_47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Slim's Place also viewed

Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
 
Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
 
Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island
Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
 

Been to Slim's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing