We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Been There, Done That”

Ginny's and Jane E's Cafe and Coastal Store
Ranked #1 of 23 Restaurants in Anna Maria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $12
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Takeout
Description: We are located in the Historic City of Anna Maria, a quaint "Old Florida" area on the north end of Anna Maria Island. Our store is a unique collection of local art and antiquities.We also provide beach supplies, like suntan lotion, sunglasses, flip flops and other items to help you have fun and stay comfortable while at the beach. At Ginny's & Jane E's you will hear the sound of people enjoying a meal together with their friends and neighbors. Our cafe offers you a great breakfast and lunch menu. We also have inhouse fresh baked desserts. Perhaps you want a break from the sun and cool down with a cold beer or a cold fruit smoothie. Our unique setting offers quiet corners or big family tables. Hope to see you soon.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

This is one we'll definitely file under the "been there, done that" category. Not that is was bad -- it was just ok. But I guess it's hard to make anything out of an omelet or waffle than just an omelet and waffle. The shop is very eclectic and a lot to browse through. And it is a "order at the counter and pick up & clear your own dishes so you can't say much about the service. We have been wanting to stop in & try this one -- now we have. On to other places next time.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sweetie1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul and Tammy F, Owner at Ginny's and Jane E's Cafe and Coastal Store, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Hi, thank you for taking the time to give us your thoughts on your last visit. We are pleased you found our store interesting to browse through. The artists and consignors are all local and we take huge pride in that. We also take huge pride and care and preparing our omelette's and waffle's. Our waffle's are made using our homemade recipe and our omelets are prepared in special pans using fresh eggs and fresh produce. I am happy at least you found things "ok". We do strive for better and maybe one day you will try us again. Thank you once again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,131)
There are newer reviews for Ginny's and Jane E's Cafe and Coastal Store
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

978 - 982 of 1,131 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2013

One of the most interesting restaurants I've been to....great homemade breakfast with a cinnamon bun to die for....don't miss this place on your visit!

1  Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

This corner bakery is very interesting inside. It is like a Cracker Barrel with a shop in the front. It is decorated very cool with all different tables to eat at. This is not a restaurant with a server, which I did not know. You order at the counter and then find your own seat. We ordered a cinnamon bun, biscuits and gravy and the regular egg breakfast. Can't go wrong with a scrambled egg, toast and bacon. No complaints on that. My husband had the biscuits and gravy and he said he has had better. The cinnamon bun was massive and pretty darn good. Nice little bfast spot on the island. We had a baby with us and they had plenty of high chairs and boosters which was nice. Not sure how clean they were though...a little grossed out by them. I will second that the restroom was gross.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Elaina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul and Tammy F, Owner at Ginny's and Jane E's Cafe and Coastal Store, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Thank you for the positive 4 star rating. I would like to let you know that the kids high chair with the baby entertainer, is put through the disinfectant wash every night. We know babes put everything in their mouth and we focus a great deal on cleanliness.
Our bathroom did look old, but they are always cleaned and hourly. We are very focused on cleanliness. Our bathroom has now been remodelled with new floor and vanity and new paint job. We did that Sat and Sun night. I assume you were here on Sat, as that is the day we serve our biscuits and gravy. I am sorry to hear that your husband has had better. We do pride ourselves on our homemade recipe and we have many great loyal customers because of them. We do appreciate that everyone has different taste buds and different opinions. We thank you for taking time out of your busy day and letting us know about your experience with us, and can't wait to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We have visited Ginny's and Jane e's many times, but this visit we were very disappointed in the restroom facilities. The bathroom was very dirty and unhygienic. Think it's time to get the paint brush and disinfectant out folks!!!! Food is still great by way. A good number of people come off the beach for a snack and to use the restroom. It would be good if the restroom was as good as the food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lmg40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul and Tammy F, Owner at Ginny's and Jane E's Cafe and Coastal Store, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Thank you for your comments about our restroom. We repainted the restroom and put in a new floor as well as fixtures on Sept 13 and 14. I can only assume you were in on the 12th. Stop by again and let us know what you think. Thank you for taking the time to let us know your thoughts on your visit to Ginny's.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

While on the island my husband and I ate breakfast here twice. The Creme Brûlée French Toast is AMAZING!!! The orange cinnamon roll is also highly recommended!!

Very interesting little shop with lots of goodies to look at!! We LOVE this place!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank scottky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ginny's and Jane E's Cafe and Coastal Store also viewed

Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island
 
Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
 
Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island
 

Been to Ginny's and Jane E's Cafe and Coastal Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing