We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it is what it is”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Altamonte Hotel and Suites
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Altamonte Springs
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We mostly enjoyed our stay, The staff were friendly, the room was ground floor and pool side, the sound of the waterfall was soothing to sleep by. The beds were comfortable.The air in the room didn't work, after 2 days of complaining they offered to move us, but then the weather cooled so we stayed put.The other problem with the room was slow drains in the sink, and the toilet backed up, I called the front desk and the maintenance guy came to the room, handed me a plunger and left. The pool area was not cleaned the entire week we were there, I dipped some leaves out (After plunging the toilet wth) so my grandson could play in the shallow end. Breakfast was okay, not really hot, they kept running out of food, and the same eggs, sausage and pancakes day after day was boring.. When I asked about pricing I was told it was $74 but the charge averaged out to $105 per night, not sure what the extra charges were.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (637)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

443 - 449 of 637 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2013

when arriving at this hotel it looks ok, to check in it took about 30 min standing in line. Leading up to the room all looks nice, but my room was outdated bad..the headboard wasn't even attached. If you move on the bed the headboard would bang the wall. Just didn't deserve the money, this is about a one star hotel. You could hear people in the other rooms as well, which was not very good for a family. Won't be staying there again...Good Luck!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CabinGIRL26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

The breakfast offered a great variety and was outstanding. It was as if one was eating at a very nice restaurant. The best breakfast I have ever had at a hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank 879MATT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJPOrlando, Front Office Manager at Altamonte Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

Hello 879MATT,

Thank you for your honest review. I am so glad that you enjoyed our breakfast during your stay. I do hope that you come back and see us the next time you are in the Orlando area.

Have a wonderful day!

Ashley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Plaszicht
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HJPOrlando, Front Office Manager at Altamonte Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Bruno R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

When I made our reservations for two nights - the room price was $69 - upon check out one night was $69.00 second night $139.99 - The room was worth $69.00 (you get what you pay for)but at $139.00 a complete scam / rip off.! Unfortunately when we checked in I did not read the check in card line by line just initial where i was told . At check out -When I questioned the front desk clerk why i was charged a different price for the second night , she appeared bored. Just repeated the front desk manager was the only one who could help me. After several days of hunting the front desk manager down. She was rude and unhelpful kept insisting I made the reservation for one night and just stayed over on our own the second night . Which is ludicrous when my husband was attending a two day training seminar in the hotel. The reservation was for two nights! Still considering whether to refute the charges on the credit card. Read every thing you sign line by line slowly and carefully . I believe they are running a scam.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank djbn1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJPOrlando, Front Office Manager at Altamonte Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Hello djbn1006,

Thank you for your review. Unfortunately during special events in the Orlando area our rates increase. If your reservation was made before the rates increased then we would honor the rate you were given for the number of nights you reserved. If you decide to stay-over longer than you initial reservation was made for then you will be charged the best available rate. The Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Orlando North is in no way running a scam or ripping people off. Again, we do appreciate your honest review. We hope that the next time you are in the Orlando are you choose to stay with us.

Have a wonderful day,

Ashley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I booked this hotel expecting it to be average from the reviews I read on Trip Advisor - I was pleasantly surprised!

We booked into the hotel around 6pm, when we went to the room we were allocated we found it wide open and in the midst of a good cleaning (mattresses upturned etc.) Not overly impressed but understanding these thing happen we went to the front desk to inform them, the very helpful lady that checked us in then upgraded us to an executive suite for our trouble. This was both unnecessary and kind, and we were so grateful!

The room we were then allocated was great - tastefully decorated, very clean and with spacious. We had a Keurig coffee maker, fridge and microwave - all of which worked well and were sparkling clean. When the plug in the bathroom stuck, we told the front desk and by our return that evening that was fixed.

The breakfast - is probably not a huge spread by American standards. We found it perfectly sufficient! In the hot option there was: eggs, sausages, hashbrowns, english muffins, gravy. There was also fruit and cereals with several juices and the normal hot drinks.

Overall, I really positive experience. Minor issues that if dealt with poorly by staff would have left a bitter taste were dealt with such speed, efficiency and grace that they became irrelevant.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gorbs87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJPOrlando, Front Office Manager at Altamonte Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Hello gorbs87,

Thank you for your honest review. I am so sorry that you were accidentally checked in to a room that we were still in the process of deep cleaning. We do this to ensure that the cleanliness of our rooms are upheld to the highest standards possible. I am glad the front desk personnel on duty was able to quickly move you and upgrade you due to the inconvenience. Even though you had a few minor issues, I am glad to hear that you still had a very pleasant stay and we hope to see you again soon.

Have a great day!

Ashley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Altamonte Springs hotels
0.9 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Orlando Altamonte Springs
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Orlan...
#2 of 14 in Altamonte Springs
907 reviews
0.3 mi away
Extended Stay America - Orlando - Altamonte Springs
Extended Stay America - Orlando ...
#6 of 14 in Altamonte Springs
290 reviews
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Orlando - North
Embassy Suites by Hilton Orlando...
#3 of 14 in Altamonte Springs
1,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Orlando Altamonte Springs
Hilton Orlando Altamonte Springs
#4 of 14 in Altamonte Springs
1,125 reviews
0.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Orlando Altamonte Springs/Maitland
SpringHill Suites Orlando Altamo...
#5 of 14 in Altamonte Springs
239 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Altamonte Springs
Ramada Altamonte Springs
#8 of 14 in Altamonte Springs
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altamonte Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altamonte Hotel and Suites

Address: 230 W State Road 436, Altamonte Springs, FL 32714-4223 (Formerly Altamonte Springs Hotel and Suites)
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Altamonte Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Altamonte Springs
Price Range: $44 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Altamonte Hotel and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Altamonte Hotel and Suites is located in the Altamonte Springs/North Orlando area, just one mile from the Uptowne Altamonte shopping and dining district. Conveniently located just off Interstate 4, guests will enjoy very easy access to Disney, Universal Studios, Sea World, the Orlando Convention Center, Daytona Beach, and Tampa. Our comfortable rooms include free wifi, color cable television, air conditioning, microwave and mini/fridge, with private bath, two doubles beds, or king with sleeper sofa, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, and Keurig coffee makers. Our rates also include complimentary continental breakfast daily. Property amenities include complimentary high-speed internet, 24-hr business center, exercise room, free parking for cars and buses, coin-operated guest laundry, and outdoor waterfall pool. We are just minutes away from Altamonte Mall, cinema, miniature golf, restaurants, and shopping venues. Whether your needs are for a banquet, meeting room, family reunion, or sporting event, our 6400 square feet of flexible meeting space make for an ideal location for your function. The Altamonte Hotel and Suites will assist you in planning the perfect event, with impeccable service, at a very competitive rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Altamonte Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Altamonte Springs
Clarion Altamonte Springs
Altamonte Springs Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing