We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible ripoff - read what you sign!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Altamonte Hotel & Suites
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Altamonte Springs
Reviewed March 25, 2013

When I made our reservations for two nights - the room price was $69 - upon check out one night was $69.00 second night $139.99 - The room was worth $69.00 (you get what you pay for)but at $139.00 a complete scam / rip off.! Unfortunately when we checked in I did not read the check in card line by line just initial where i was told . At check out -When I questioned the front desk clerk why i was charged a different price for the second night , she appeared bored. Just repeated the front desk manager was the only one who could help me. After several days of hunting the front desk manager down. She was rude and unhelpful kept insisting I made the reservation for one night and just stayed over on our own the second night . Which is ludicrous when my husband was attending a two day training seminar in the hotel. The reservation was for two nights! Still considering whether to refute the charges on the credit card. Read every thing you sign line by line slowly and carefully . I believe they are running a scam.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank djbn1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJPOrlando, Front Office Manager at Altamonte Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Hello djbn1006,

Thank you for your review. Unfortunately during special events in the Orlando area our rates increase. If your reservation was made before the rates increased then we would honor the rate you were given for the number of nights you reserved. If you decide to stay-over longer than you initial reservation was made for then you will be charged the best available rate. The Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Orlando North is in no way running a scam or ripping people off. Again, we do appreciate your honest review. We hope that the next time you are in the Orlando are you choose to stay with us.

Have a wonderful day,

Ashley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (641)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

451 - 457 of 641 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2013

I booked this hotel expecting it to be average from the reviews I read on Trip Advisor - I was pleasantly surprised!

We booked into the hotel around 6pm, when we went to the room we were allocated we found it wide open and in the midst of a good cleaning (mattresses upturned etc.) Not overly impressed but understanding these thing happen we went to the front desk to inform them, the very helpful lady that checked us in then upgraded us to an executive suite for our trouble. This was both unnecessary and kind, and we were so grateful!

The room we were then allocated was great - tastefully decorated, very clean and with spacious. We had a Keurig coffee maker, fridge and microwave - all of which worked well and were sparkling clean. When the plug in the bathroom stuck, we told the front desk and by our return that evening that was fixed.

The breakfast - is probably not a huge spread by American standards. We found it perfectly sufficient! In the hot option there was: eggs, sausages, hashbrowns, english muffins, gravy. There was also fruit and cereals with several juices and the normal hot drinks.

Overall, I really positive experience. Minor issues that if dealt with poorly by staff would have left a bitter taste were dealt with such speed, efficiency and grace that they became irrelevant.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gorbs87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJPOrlando, Front Office Manager at Altamonte Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Hello gorbs87,

Thank you for your honest review. I am so sorry that you were accidentally checked in to a room that we were still in the process of deep cleaning. We do this to ensure that the cleanliness of our rooms are upheld to the highest standards possible. I am glad the front desk personnel on duty was able to quickly move you and upgrade you due to the inconvenience. Even though you had a few minor issues, I am glad to hear that you still had a very pleasant stay and we hope to see you again soon.

Have a great day!

Ashley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Bryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HJPOrlando, Manager at Altamonte Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Holly H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HJPOrlando, Manager at Altamonte Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Happy C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Wanda A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We checked in around 11 pm on Friday night. We were given a room across the pool (Room 232 I believe). Until well after 2am we slept to the thump of the bass from the hotel bar and well as the wonderful pitter patter of feet running up and down the hallways. The mattress felt as though there was a hole in the middle of it. Not enough blankets in the room. Unfortunately i had work I needed to do before we left the hotel that morning and was unable to because the internet was down. Lesson learned.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Altamonte Springs hotels
0.3 mi away
Extended Stay America - Orlando - Altamonte Springs
Extended Stay America - Orlando ...
#7 of 14 in Altamonte Springs
302 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Altamonte Springs
Ramada Altamonte Springs
#9 of 14 in Altamonte Springs
466 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Orlando Altamonte Springs
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Orlan...
#2 of 14 in Altamonte Springs
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites - Orlando-North/Altamonte Springs
Hampton Inn & Suites - Orlando-N...
#1 of 14 in Altamonte Springs
737 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Orlando/Altamonte Springs
Hilton Orlando/Altamonte Springs
#4 of 14 in Altamonte Springs
1,176 reviews
0.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Orlando Altamonte Springs/Maitland
SpringHill Suites Orlando Altamo...
#5 of 14 in Altamonte Springs
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altamonte Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altamonte Hotel & Suites

Address: 230 W State Road 436, Altamonte Springs, FL 32714-4223 (Formerly Altamonte Springs Hotel and Suites)
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Altamonte Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Altamonte Springs
Price Range: $61 - $1,520 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Altamonte Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Altamonte Hotel & Suites, ideally located near Orlando and all the fun and excitement this amazing area has to offer, including Disney World, The Orlando Museum of Art and the Orlando Science Center. At Altamonte Hotel & Suites, our friendly and professional staff speak your language and are always happy to assist you. Our amenities include a gorgeous outdoor pool with a shimmering waterfall, and our on-site fitness center is open 24-hours so you’ll never miss a workout. Our spacious guest rooms are clean, comfortable and quiet, with free Wi-Fi so you’ll always be connected to home or the office, plush beds with plenty of fluffy pillows, and a microwave as well as a mini-fridge. For affordable accommodations that feel like home, contact us today and make your reservation at Altamonte Hotel & Suites, the hotel of choice in the Orlando area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Altamonte Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Altamonte Springs
Clarion Altamonte Springs
Altamonte Springs Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing