We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cockroach Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Altamonte Hotel and Suites
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Altamonte Springs
Thousand Oaks, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cockroach Hotel”
Reviewed January 25, 2012

I arrived at the hotel in the evening. After noticing my first room had filthy carpet, a stained bedspread,a dirty coffee pot carafe, beat up furniture and marred walls I decided to exit and requested a refund. FYI read the fine print when you book your hotel through the airline reservation, make sure you can get a refund if need be. Upon hearing I'd have to wait for the management in the morning to get money back, I Hesitantly, I agreed to a change rooms. The second room appeared cleaner but the furniture that housed the coffee maker and microwave was unstable and only standing as it leaned against the television. I went to bed and within moments of turning the lights out, I felt something crawling on my arm. Jumping out of bed I stepped on a another critter and while making a phone call a third cockroach scampered across my bed.

Room Tip: Don't choose this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sara2dmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJPOrlando, General Manager at Altamonte Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
I am truly mortified that you had such an experience at our hotel. When you brought this to our attention, we had Orkin come out and immediately spray that room and the ones around it. According to the technician, he couldn't find evidence of the problem, however we have since had the company double up their visits to be certain that we don't have a problem anywhere on our property. Please accept my deepest apologies as your night was an extremely rare occurance. If you would be so gracious as to give us another chance, I will comp your night and you will not be disappointed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    105
    133
    130
    184
See reviews for
243
112
54
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

We had two rooms at this hotel during one of the busiest weeks (we were told) of the year for Orlando tourism (after Christmas). We were looking for hotels at the last minute and there weren't many online deals for 2 rooms. I admit that I didn't really want to pick a HoJo, but we took what we could get. Boy, was I surprised to find a much nicer hotel than I expected! It has been recently remodeled and the rooms are very nice. One of our rooms was in the business section, which had more amenities (loved the Keurig coffee maker!) than our other room by the pool. The business room was a suite with a seating area and the doors were inside a separate hallway. The rest of the hotel had outside doors. The beds were very comfortable and we all slept well - although there was some noisy people talking around the pool. My only complaint would be the towels, which were very skimpy. Breakfast ended at 9:00, so we didn't make it to that. The landscaping and grounds were very nice. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank ComperT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrells Inlet, SC
Level 6 Contributor
297 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We planned to visit Universal Studios, Epcot, and Kennedy Space Center. We wanted a hotel that was sort of in between all these and chose this one. The hotel is not new, and is a bit dated, but it is clean and our room was quiet and comfortable. We were in a building that is not connected to the main building, but is only a one minute walk to get to the pool, morning breakfast, lounge, restaurant, etc. We had two adjoining rooms, one business queen suite and the other was a business king suite. Both were roomy, and we were satisfied with these rooms. The free breakfast was one of the best complimentary breakfasts that I have had. They had a good selection of both hot and cold items, juices, cakes, fruit, etc. The pastries were delicious; fresh, not the typical frozen Sara Lee type. I would stay here again, and would recommend it to others.

Room Tip: I would try to get a room in the building not connected to the hotel. I think if you were in the ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TrishaMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Hotel was very nice, beds comfortable but pool is not heated. It is very nice decoration.
By the time of reservation ( in December) we where told there is no hot tub but we can use the pool. Good luck with that. If you travel during winter months don't expect your children to use the pool the water is FREEZING! We where told the pool is not equipped with a heater.
Watch out the coffee in the lobby is not free.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mom_on_the_go123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJPOrlando, Manager at Altamonte Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Thank you for your review. During your stay, we had a coffee machine which brewed each cup of coffee individually. This was a test program we had with our coffee vendor who charged just 25 cents for what was actually a phenominal brew each cup. Since then, we have listened to our customers and have ended the program. Once again we offer free coffee in our lobby in the standard airpots seen at most hotels. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you as it was not our intention. Our intention here at the Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel is to provide excellent service without resting on our laurels; we always try new things where possible to improve on some very old ideas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Stayed for 4 nights in the Executive King behind the waterfall. The rooms were clean. First day there were not any bath towels. Told them about it and they said it would take 1-2 hours(as they were busy), but ended up taking 4+ to get them. The king bed was pretty comfortable for a hotel like this. The sofa bed was not very good. I have seen better sofa beds from similar quality hotels. The a/c would not stay on long enough(only a few minutes), but it was Dec so it was not necessary. If this was summer I would be very displeased about this. The high speed internet was a little slow and not protected. The hot breakfast was not bad, but go before 8 as it was very busy after 8. They had eggs, pancakes, bacon, sausage, potatoes, cereal, coffee, donuts(and the like), juice. The one thing I did not like about this hotel was the shower. Horrible pressure, this was one of the worst I have seen from similar quality hotels. They have old tvs. The surrounding area was not bad. You have access to plenty of things(mall, restaurants, stores, highway) within 1 mile, but traffic was bad at the time we stayed. I did not think there would be this much traffic since we stayed outside of Orlando. Fitness area is a joke, a very small room with like 3 machines. I did not use at all. Pool looks ok, but did not use it. About 10-15min from Orland and 30-40min from Disney.

Overall not bad for the money(but would not pay more than 80), pretty good beds, decent breakfast, solid surrounding area, ok service, but bad shower and a/c.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FrugalB_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJPOrlando, Manager at Altamonte Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Thank you for your review. Since your stay, we have replaced the few bad A/C units that were not working properly. Our high speed internet is however very secure, we replaced the aging wireless router system we had with a brand new state-of-the-art Meraki Wireless system. Of course, the wireless is only as good as the line it is connected to, so we have also had a direct Fiber Optic connection put in from our service provider. Paired together, 99% of our guests have raved about the system, including the Gamer Tournament we had here just a few weeks ago which needed some serious bandwidth for all their computers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmetto, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

We stayed for one night while attending a hockey tournament. The rooms were very clean, no odors like cigarette smoke, pool was not heated but the pool area was very relaxing. The complimentary full breakfeast was impressive as was the breakfeast eating area.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank talonsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJPOrlando, Owner at Altamonte Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Thank you for your review, many of the comments have pointed out to the pools lack of heating. We are currently in the process of looking for the most effect and environmentally friendly way of heating such a large pool. Rest assured that your comments are valued, and we are working on making the necessary changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2011

Visited for a comedy show and found the hotel to be very nice. Room was large, clean and comfortable. Beds were extremely comfortable. Pool looked wonderful, wish we had more time to spend there. The staff was friendly and welcoming. Very nice stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AKdreaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJPOrlando, General Manager at Altamonte Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. Our rooms, both standard and executive, are larger than average for most hotels as you've seen. Our new plush pillowtop mattresses are just one of the many popular features here at the Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel. We look forward to serving you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Altamonte Springs hotels
0.3 mi away
Extended Stay America - Orlando - Altamonte Springs
Extended Stay America - Orlando ...
#6 of 14 in Altamonte Springs
284 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Orlando Altamonte Springs
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Orlan...
#2 of 14 in Altamonte Springs
879 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Orlando Altamonte Springs
Hilton Orlando Altamonte Springs
#4 of 14 in Altamonte Springs
1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites - Orlando-North/Altamonte Springs
Hampton Inn & Suites - Orlando-N...
#1 of 14 in Altamonte Springs
660 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Altamonte Springs
Ramada Altamonte Springs
#9 of 14 in Altamonte Springs
422 reviews
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Orlando - North
Embassy Suites by Hilton Orlando...
#3 of 14 in Altamonte Springs
1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altamonte Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altamonte Hotel and Suites

Property: Altamonte Hotel and Suites
Address: 230 W State Road 436, Altamonte Springs, FL 32714-4223 (Formerly Altamonte Springs Hotel and Suites)
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Altamonte Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Altamonte Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Altamonte Hotel and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Altamonte Hotel and Suites is located in the Altamonte Springs/North Orlando area, just one mile from the Uptowne Altamonte shopping and dining district. Conveniently located just off Interstate 4, guests will enjoy very easy access to Disney, Universal Studios, Sea World, the Orlando Convention Center, Daytona Beach, and Tampa. Our comfortable rooms include free wifi, color cable television, air conditioning, microwave and mini/fridge, with private bath, two doubles beds, or king with sleeper sofa, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, and Keurig coffee makers. Our rates also include complimentary continental breakfast daily. Property amenities include complimentary high-speed internet, 24-hr business center, exercise room, free parking for cars and buses, coin-operated guest laundry, and outdoor waterfall pool. We are just minutes away from Altamonte Mall, cinema, miniature golf, restaurants, and shopping venues. Whether your needs are for a banquet, meeting room, family reunion, or sporting event, our 6400 square feet of flexible meeting space make for an ideal location for your function. The Altamonte Hotel and Suites will assist you in planning the perfect event, with impeccable service, at a very competitive rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Altamonte Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Altamonte Springs
Clarion Altamonte Springs
Altamonte Springs Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing