We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice service, but food & margarita needs work”

San Jose's Original Mexican Restaurant
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: This is the newest of 3 family owned and operated restaurants of which all locations are accessed via the URL above.Altamonte Springs location: 407-647-2010
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice service, but food & margarita needs work”
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

The service was excellent. Our waiter could not have been more attentive. He was a gem. As for the rest.... We ate on Saturday, but the place was not crowded. Ordered two margaritas to start. They took about 10 minutes to get to the table, which seemed slow, and they were watery. Tried tamales. On the dry side and lacked seasoning. Later had carnitas. Portions were fine, but really lacked seasoning. So net, great people, good location, reasonable prices, watery margarita and uninspired food. With some work in the kitchen - maybe a fresh grad from a local culinary school - they might do better. Drinks should be easy to fix.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank AmericanTraveler1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    17
    9
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montana-Florida
Level Contributor
97 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Worth another try”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Desperately searching for good Mexican, Tex-Mex or New Mex-Mex, we visited San Jose's. Perhaps it's better to go during the week or in the evening, and we will; weekend lunch was OK, but didn't measure up to expectations. Excellent service, clean premises, top notch margaritas made a good start. My chicken tamale was indeed homemade, but had been waiting too long to be savory and lacked the thick coat of chile verde represented in the menu. Generous shredded beef was good, rather simply seasoned, flavorful but chewy, and salsa thin. Hot to taste, but not zestful. Beans came soupy, accompanied by ordinary rice. Our meals were average, not complexly seasoned, but San Jose's deserves another go, simply because it is family owned, there's obvious effort there, and staff was nice as could be. Since Amigo's has gone way, way down, San Jose's might be a reasonable alternative; it is not, however, to be confused with anything in New Mexico, with multiple layers of seasoning, heat and flavor, sweetness and salt. Still, we will come back once more for a weekday visit.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MontyJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocoee, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Worth visiting”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Since San Jose's is getting ready to open up a location in Ocoee Florida my husband and I decided we would give this place a try. I will have to say it worth the visit. The Spanish rice was fluffy and not sticky. They start you out with chips and salsa (endless) I had the chimichanga (beef). The pico de gallo was fresh. I am looking forward to repeat visits to try several other dishes! The staff was very friendly and prompt.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Parrishfamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The people are nice but the food is so bland.”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I took my family there for the first time yesterday and was very disappointed. We shared a chicken fajita and it looked like they cut up a precooked chicken breast dunked it in sauce and put it under the broiler. The green peppers were still raw. I should have suspected something when the pan came out and the food wasn't sizzling as it should. My daughter ordered the supreme
nachos, but under the huge pile of iceberg lettuce, there wasn't much else. As I said in the title, the employees were all very nice but the food is very uninspiring.,

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bsquared1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“quality freshly prepared food, excellent service & outstanding value”
Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

This is the newest of three locations (also Clermont & Orlando) for this independent family owned and operated Mexican restaurant.  

With the first bite, it's apparent that fresh ingredients are used in the preparation of dishes coming out of the kitchen.

Complimentary tortillas chips and dipping sauce are served as you are seated. The house margaritas are great – especially at 2 for under $6. Entrees are prepared fresh and well worth waiting a little longer for the preparation.

I enjoyed the Jr California Burrito filled with beans, rice, lettuce, sour cream, cheese, guacamole and pico de gallo with white cheese sauce.  I ordered pork carnitas (you can select grilled chicken, ground beef, shredded beef or carne asada).

And, there are excellent vegetarian selections in addition to traditional entrees. The Veggie Mex, a 10-inch grilled flour tortilla with mashed potatoes and onions, served with beans, rice, salad, guacamole and pico de gallo was delicious – just one of many choices.

The value-priced weekday lunch menu can easily lure you away from fast food places.

The inviting ambience includes dining areas, bar area and a semi-enclosed outdoor dining area (with roof & partially enclosed walls) that makes you feel like you're definitely in the restaurant – rather than the sidewalk.

The location at the "calm" end of a retail center adds to the ambience. San Jose's is a dining experience combining quality freshly prepared food, excellent service and outstanding value.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheTripsTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Jose's Original Mexican Restaurant also viewed

Altamonte Springs, Central Florida
Altamonte Springs, Central Florida
 
Altamonte Springs, Central Florida
Altamonte Springs, Central Florida
 

Been to San Jose's Original Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing