We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Yellow Curry”
Review of Phat Thai Cafe - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Phat Thai Cafe
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Phat Thai is da bomb! I live in north Florida; however, I travel to Orlando regularly. When I am in Orlando I eat at Phat Thai. Give the menu a try; you will be satisfied!

1  Thank usbrowns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (26)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 26 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2012 via mobile

They have great Spring rolls but don't expect to feel authenticity.

That may be a good thing if you're skittish about trying a new cuisine...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank charliejr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Ordered take-out. Food was ready when they said it would be. Delicious Tom Yum soup, fresh rolls were good, but falling apart. Penang curry was very good and a large portion for the money. Leftovers tasted even better the next day.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank pacyabags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

OK for lunch or take out, store front with little atmosphere.

1  Thank Barb014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Summary: besides the low quality food, my other major concerns are the failure to honor the gift certificate I purchased from the establishment and the stomach ache I still currently posses. Recommendation: go somewhere else, anywhere else.

Bad Food
We started with egg rolls. The spring Egg rolls were peppery and crisp, but good and were one of the better items there. However, you only get two for $4. Also, the dipping sauce was watery, and had no flavor. The egg rolls are all about the dipping sauce and this was a big failure by Phat Thai. The thai tea was the only item that I had no complains about, although at $3 was a bit pricey.
My dining partner tried to tom yum soup, which was extremely watery and had little flavor. I tried it and it was the worst tom yum soup that I can recall trying.
I had the garlic sauce stir fry which was recommended by the waitstaff. It was a little bit like chinese food, but it was still edible. I think this has to do with the chefs, who do not come from the same ethnic background as the theme of the restaurant and who do not appear to know much about creating delectable thai flavors. The food wasn't disgusting, so I would have given this restaurant two stars, if it weren't for the other aspects of the experience.

Poor Customer Service
After my dining partner and I had ordered around $40, we attempted to use a gift certificate. The manager of the Phat Thai refused to honor the gift certificate because she states that she doesn't accept it on weekends. She refused to accept the certificate even though she never noted this fact on the gift certificate (even though she could have done so) and never posted signs notifying prospective customers to this fact. The manager literally grabbed the credit card from hand, and --no joke-- literally ripped it out from my hand forcibly. After firmly protesting such business practices, I was asked not to come back. Don't worry Phat Thai Cafe, you will not see my face around there anymore.

Stomach Ache
In addition, the bad taste in my mouth has morphed into a stomach ache. Normally thai restaurants dont put MSG in the food so I didn't ask. Now, I still have a stomach ache that appears to be from a reaction to MSG.

Consumer Complaints
It's no wonder as I looked up their BBB rating and it shows that, as of the time of this review, Phat Thai has an "F" rating, the lowest possible rating that a business can have.

Health Code Warnings
I also checked and they have NUMEROUS health codes violations, which makes me scared to eat there. According to Ledgar Data, a website that tracks restaurant code violations, during the January 2012 inspection there were 15 warnings for restaurant code violations, many of them critical. On 8/19/11, the restaurant had 8 warnings. On 1/3/11, the restaurant had a record high of 19 warnings for code violations, 15 warnings on 7/29/10 and 13 warnings on 3/24/10. It seems like this restaurant is having a hard time getting its act together!

You can read about the violations here: http://goo.gl/6I9SA Here are some of the violations from the recent January inspection:
Violation Observation
02-06-1 Critical. Observed combined ready-to-eat potentially hazardous food held more than 24 hours not date marked according to earliest date of opening/preparation. Cooked chicken in walk in cooler and sticky rice in frontline reach in cooler
03A-07-1 Critical. Observed potentially hazardous food cold held at greater than 41 degrees Fahrenheit.Sprouts 56F held outside of temperature control for a few minutes per operator placed into cooler for temperature control
03A-07-1 Critical. Observed potentially hazardous food cold held at greater than 41 degrees Fahrenheit. Fresh garlic in oil 77F for 90 minutes per operator. Iced bath for temperature recovery.
08A-26-1 Critical. Observed raw animal food stored over ready-to-eat food. Raw eggs over sauce in walk in cooler
10-07-1 Observed in-use utensil stored in standing water less than 135 degrees Fahrenheit. Thumbscoops for rice
27-04-1 Critical. Cold water not provided/shut off at employee handwash sink. Warewashing area
31-12-1 Critical. Observed handwash sink used for purposes other than handwashing.Servers area, used for dumping ice
32-16-1 Critical. Hand wash sink lacking proper hand drying provisions.Warewashing preparation area
41A-09-1 Critical. Observed toxic item stored in food preparation area.Unlabeled chemical spray bottle, on smoker ledge
41B-03-1 Critical. Observed unlabeled chemical spray bottle. By smoker
42-03-1 Wet mop not hung to dry.
42-11-1 Observed unnecessary items on the premise.Unused equipment mopsink area
42-11-1 Observed unnecessary items on the premise.Shoes, clothiing, shopping bags, warewashing /storage area
51-13-1 No Heimlich maneuver sign posted.
53B-08-1 Critical. No proof of required employee training provided. This violation must be corrected by : 3 23 12.
----------
1: Jan. 3, 2011
Warnings Issued 19
Violation Observation
08A-26-1 Critical. Observed raw animal food(beef)stored over ready-to-eat food (noodles) in walk in cooler..
09-01-1 Critical. Observed improper use of bowl used to dispense sugar rice & corn starch
09-04-1 Critical. Observed bare hand contact of ready-to-eat food by employees and establishment has no approved Alternative Operating Procedure in effect.Cook placing vegetables into wok with bare hands
09-04-1 Critical. Observed bare hand contact of ready-to-eat food by employees and establishment has no approved Alternative Operating Procedure in effect.Cook wrapping summer roll ingredients with bare hands Corrected On Site.
12A-16-1 Critical. Observed employee put on clean gloves without first washing hands
12B-07-1 Critical. Observed an open beverage container inside server's cooler.
17-08-1 Critical. Observed incorrect chemical test kit provided when using chemical sanitizer at three-compartment sink/warewashing machine.Need chlorine type
21-12-1 Wet wiping cloth not stored in sanitizing solution between uses on cookline
22-22-1 Critical. Observed encrusted material on can opener.
23-05-1 Observed residue build-up on top of dishmachine
23-05-1 Observed residue build-up on top of sugar barrel
23-06-1 Observed build-up of food debris on interior of single & double door cookline coolers
24-07-1 Cleaned and sanitized plates & bowls at counter area not properly stored protected from potential customer contamination.
31-11-1 Critical. Observed handwash aids at a non-handwash sink.Soap dispenser at dishmachine scrape sink.
32-16-1 Critical. Hand wash sink lacking proper hand drying provisions.Warewashing area Corrected On Site.
36-15-1 Observed food debris accumulated on walk in cooler floor.
40-01-1 No suitable facilities provided to store employee clothing and other possessions.Employee clothing stored on food storage shelving in warewashing area
51-18-1 No copy of latest inspection report.
53B-08-1 Critical. No proof of required employee training provided This violation must be corrected by : 3-3

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank KeatsHandwriting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phat Thai Cafe also viewed

Altamonte Springs, Central Florida
Altamonte Springs, Central Florida
 
Altamonte Springs, Central Florida
Altamonte Springs, Central Florida
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing